We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing & Chill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Lajas Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Las Lajas Beach Resort to your Saves list
Las Lajas Beach Resort
Playa Las Lajas | Chiriqui, Panama, Playa Las Lajas, Las Lajas 123456, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Relaxing & Chill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

We stayed at Las Lajas for one night and it was very laid back and relaxing. There is not much action going on at the resort, very quiet at night.
The rooms are very spacious, comfy beds, and great view of the ocean. Each room has a hammock, so if you are into chilling in hammock -you'll enjoy it.
The guy at the front desk is helpful, however the morning shift girl had a personality of a brick wall.
The food is very average, don't expect gourmet food.
The beach, view and the ocean are gorgeous.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    56
    16
    4
    11
See reviews for
42
87
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holland
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

Last february my wife and me stayed for two nights in the Las Lajas Beach Resort. We had hired a car in Panama City and were exploring Panama. We discovered this place and we loved it. It's beautiful. Everything is good, the bar, the service, the food, the pool and so on.
While we were there we booked a tour (in the resort) to an Indian family. This was also very interesting. It was absolutely not a touristic show. This was very pure and we liked it a lot. Lize and Gama came with us because they know this family. Besides this we enjoyed our stay very much.
After two nights we went on to Bouqete. We had a perfect stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

Where to start. We found this place by a huge sign on the main road from David. When we pulled up we were anxious to see what the place was like,as it is off a dirt road. WOW!!! Hammocks everywhere, lush green grass, beautifuly painted walls in the rooms and right on the ocean. The feeling of happiness hits when you walk down the hall. A refreshing, beautiful pool with a waterfall and lit up with different colors at night. A bar right next to the pool, and you can get served as you are relaxing in the cool water. The food was absolutely wonderful, I mean everything we ate was fantastic and full of flavor. I can't say enough about the staff, what wonderful, gracious and fun it was to be around all the staff and get to know them. The owner and manager were also very gracious, pleasant and caring. I could go on and on as this was the best experience by far we have had and will definitely go back. You will truly enjoy your stay here, with the beach just steps away, the pool at your side, great drinks and delicious food at your fingertips, and a great room to sleep. The staff will take well care of you and you will want to go back for more!!!!!!! Don' t miss out by staying somewhere else. I promise you will be very pleased with your stay!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

Las Lajas is more of a hotel with a pool, restaurant and beautiful beach . The owner and staff very accomodating warm and friendly. The rooms are huge, very clean and have ac, hot water safes etc ( not common on the beaches). We wish we could have stayed here longer. The food was really good- the chef cooks a wide range of dishes. The resort was full when we were there but not noisy yet fun friendly people. Everyone seemed to be comfortable and enjoying themselves. Nice place would recommend. There is no cable tv but movies that the front desk lets you borrow. (if someone needs tv)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanke
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

My partner and I discovered this resort by chance. It was a great surprise! The staff was very welcoming and the service was great. We would visit this resort again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

This is the second trip to this hotel.
We stayed last year when it first opened.
It was great then & better now.
The hotel is spotless.
The hotel is run by an American that knows what he is doing.
The staff is well trained & very repsonsive to your needs.
The food is good, but limited choices.
The beach is about 5 miles long & very easy to swim.
There are 2 queen size beds w/ geat matteress.
The rooms are decorated w/ hand painted murals.
This is a wonderful find on a great beach.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

Ate lunch here with husband and 11 year old son-spent $40 for a small lunch which was very average. Biggest rip off around the area. We were looking to stay at the "resort" (more like a glorified hostel) with friends and family that visit. After lunch we walked out to the ocean to take a brief walk before heading back out. The owner stated we could not access the beach because if he let us in, he would have to let in the Panamanians! Needless to say, we won't be sending any of our business the Las Lajas Resort way! We plan on heading back to Bocas to Bahia Del Sol, a much better experience!

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lajena, Manager at Las Lajas Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2010
Our bar & restaurant are open for public, but our resort is not a public access to the beach. We only have 12 beach front rooms and a limited parking area. In the low season we offer a day pass of $10 per person that includes use of the pool, chairs, umbrellas, wireless internet and a beach towel. Our lunch menu offers dishes between $6 and $7 with soft drinks, beers and juices from $0.75 to $1.50
When your husband was taking beach chairs, toys, towels, etc out of his car we explained our politics and also mentioned that there are Panamanian businesses close by that offer parking in front of the beach including use of public bath rooms and showers.
We are very proud and happy that we have a lot of Panamanian guests!
We feel sorry that we could not make ourselves clear enough and that you had a bad experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Lajas Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Lajas Beach Resort

Address: Playa Las Lajas | Chiriqui, Panama, Playa Las Lajas, Las Lajas 123456, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Las Lajas > Playa Las Lajas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Las Lajas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 14 room hotel offers a beachfront restaurant/bar and beautiful pool. All rooms have 2 queen, and 1 single sized bed with hot water showers, ceiling fan, safe box, satellite TV on 42 inch screens and A/C. Our restaurant offers a wide variety of cuisine from American to Mexican, Thai, Italian, Panamian, local fresh fish, and everything in between. From a large selection of beers to blended drinks, our bar has it all. Our grass covered grounds include a large swimming pool, outside showers, and large shaded areas around the pool as well as the beach front. Hammocks can be found in front of your room. Playa Las Lasjas is a wide, long, and safe swimming beach that can be lively on weekends but deserted during the week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Las Lajas Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Lajas Beach Hotel Playa Las Lajas
Las Lajas Beach Resort Panama/Playa Las Lajas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Lajas Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.