We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exactly the sort of spoiling we needed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rising Sun Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rising Sun Residence to your Saves list
Rising Sun Residence
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   48/13 Moo 6, Soi Sai-Namyen, Chao Fa West Road, Chalong, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Chalong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“exactly the sort of spoiling we needed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

Well after 8 weeks on the road, doing a grassroots adventure with gecko through Egypt and Thailand with basic accommodation, we were ready for a treat and that is exactly what we got.

Within 2 hours of arriving both the owners were down to our villa to introduce themselves, they are lovely people who are well traveled and speak fluent English- a luxury in itself. As for the rest of the staff they were perfectly helpful and polite.

Our villa was huge, twice the size of a standard hotel room, like a home away from home. For part of the visit we had the pool all to ourselves. It was great having a driver and car included everyday. Most towns on Phuket are just a short drive away, and Chalong town is 5mins down the road, but not the sort of place where you can walk everywhere. I did a Thai cooking class one day, we went into town to the local markets and spent the morning cooking popular Thai dishes.

We had a wonderful time and would love to come back again sometime.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
50
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

We went there with a family of 4 adults and 2 kids (1.5 / 4 yo) and booked two of the one bedroom villas. Just amazing. Bedroom is separated from the living room, so there is no need for whispering when the kids are asleep. Breakfast is freshly prepared in your own villa and contains everthing we need, from croissants and toast to yoghurt, cereals and fresh fruits. Tea, coffee and juices are available as well. The swimming pool is clean and it was a challenge to get our kids out of there. Our private driver was friendly and has shown us a lot of beautifuly places around the islands. Wipa an Methee are lovely hosts and they have done everything to made our stay comfortable. Probably the best ressort on the island.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

Spent 11 days here. The place is perfectly positioned overlooking Chalong Bay. Area is very peaceful and beautiful. Accomodation was perfect we stayed in a one bed villa.
Each morning had the pleasure of our housemaid coing to the /Villa to cook breakfast, Choice of food available was excellent., Food also in the restaurant very good selection all freshly prepared.
Included in the package was use of driver and car for 9hrs per day. Mr Sukan was very helpful took us wherever we wanted, he is very a very professional driver.
Khun Wipa and Khun Methee were the best ever hosts, we were invited to dinner one evening, and also invitied to a cocktail party on New Years Eve, they also visited us at the villa each morning to help with any plans that we need to make for the day.
We were made to feel very welcome but all at the Rising Sun, we will miss everyone and would like to thank them all for making our stay exceptional. We are already making plans to return with the rest of our family. Thank you all so much . More than highly recommend Rising Sun to anyone looking for an exceptional place to stay in Phuket.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

I'm writing this review as we pack up to leave after the best week's holiday I have ever had. We arrived late on New Years Eve. In our room was a bottle of champagne on ice and the most divine canapes prepared by Wipa including a plate of food and a present for our daughter. We were very impressed.

We stayed in a one bedroom villa with our three year old daughter. Quite simply, it was a home away from home. Khun Methee and Khun Wipa are amazing hosts. They recommended places for us to eat every night - even ringing ahead to book the table and order for us. EVERY place was fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble to organise. One afternoon we said we wanted to do an elephant trek. It was all organised and we just turned up at reception at 9.30 the following morning and the safari guide was waiting.
We had a driver every day. He was fantastic. He took us to the beach, for dinner, on shopping trips, to the markets, to the Zoo, to Old Phuket town, to the factory outlets, to the monkey bridge to feed the monkeys. Anywhere we wanted to go. Sometimes he came to pick us up and we weren't ready so he waited until we were.
Breakfast was divine. Served in our villa at whatever time we wanted and the best part about staying here is we could walk ten steps from our villa to the most fabulous pool while our daughter was sleeping or watching tv.
Don't stay anywhere else. If you are planning to stay for a week.. stay two. You won't regret it. Don't think this place is out of the way. It isn't. It's more central to things than Patong. It's ideal for families with children and couples. We couldn't get our daughter out of the pool.
This is our second trip to Phuket . We stayed at Le Meridien last time but it's not a patch on this place. I'm already thinking about returning to the Rising Sun Residence.
Thank you Methee and Wipa for your wonderful and generous hospitality. We'll never forget it and we'll be spreading the word when we get home.
Pip xxxxx
New Zealand
PS: if you have time, do Wipa's cooking class...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

It's our 1st time visiting Phuket. As a group of 10 people, making a choice among hundreds of hotels is very difficult. Should we stay near the beach or the town? Drive ourself or hire a taxi? We asked friends and one recommended Rising Sun Residence and it begins our fantastic travel experience.
Although the viilla is up on the hill, it is easy to go anywhere by using the car provided by RSR. We stayed in a 3 bed room villa with a great view of rising sun. It was so relax and comfortable that we planned to back again before we left. Not only the peaceful environment, the jacuzzi pool which our children like most and the delicious breakfast which was served in the dining room of our villa, but also the hospitality of the hostess Khun Wipa, host Khun Methee, our driver 'So mit' and the other staff made our stay perfect. The dining recommendation and the arrangement of activities were professional. It was also a great experience to chat with Khun Wipa and Khun Methee.

Dining recommendation:
Kang Eng 2 seafood restaurant @ Chalong--- grilled fish, local lobster
Tunk ka Cafe @ Phuket Town---Thai food and stunning view with reasonable price
Lock Tien foodcourt @ Phuket Town---chinese-thai food experience
Kouy Jub---don't know the location but it is also a must try
Activity:
Island hopping---snorkelling, swim with fishes, watersports etc.
Visit local market---buy local seafood for poolside BBQ or dine in your own villa
Shopping---Jungceylon and Central Festival
Relax on the beaches or your own villa

We highly recommend RSR to everybody and hope you can experience a perfect vacation like us.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

Rising Sun Residences in Phuket is one of the best places to stay in Phuket. A very elegant collection of one and 3 bedroom villas run by one of the nicest people you could meet, Khun Wipa and Khun Methee makes our every visit so memorable. We have made it our annual pilgrimage since 2004. This is our 6th visit!

Coming back to the beautiful 3 bedroom Villa Chandra is like coming home every time we return. A slice of paradise in lush surroundings with private pool and the most attentive and gracious hosts. At Rising Sun they always remember what we like. Recommending the best places to eat and helping with reservations and arrange our daily activities. All villas come with car/ van and driver. Going anywhere is such a breeze.

We love the daily breakfast which is served at the villa, which starts the day beautifully.

Located on a hill in Chalong Bay provides a stunning view of the bay, Rising Sun is away from the hustle bustle of Patong Beach. It is in a good location near; Central Festival Phuket is the consummate one-stop shopping, non-stop entertainment complex; Premium Factory Outlet and a large selection of Spas like Sukko Spa and Island Herbal Spa a 10-15 minute drive away. We have started exploring these spas one by one!

A highlight of our stay is the Welcome dinner hosted by Khun Wipa and Khun Methee, they never fail to stun us with the wonderful spread and the wonderful company. We always look forward to the dinner as its like old times with good friends with good food and good wine.

Khun Wipa is so attentive that we makes sure we try the best of her recipes which never fails to delight us. Cooking classes are also available and which includes a trip to the morning market which is a must see.

We love staying here very much and would recommend it to anyone who wants a relaxing holiday away from the hustle and bustle of city life. A great place to relax and recharge. We would definitely recommend Rising Sun Residence !

We always find it so hard to leave each time and wished we could stay longer, we hope we can come back 2 times a year! We will be working hard to make this a reality!

Thank you so much Khun Wipa and Khun Methee, we will miss you and we can't wait to see you again! We will bring you a nice bottle or Brumello next time!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

Our initial plan was to stay at the Rising Sun for 3 nights, but we enjoyed our stay so much that we ended up staying for 2 more nights, and we wish we could have extend our stay even further...

We stayed in a 3 bedroom villa, we had our own private pool with our own housekeeper, chef and driver. All the staff were incredibly welcoming and warm, the whole vibe of the place is incredibly cosy, we felt like we were home (albeit a luxurious version)

If you are after some proper R & R away from the hassle and the buzz of Phuket Patong town, this is the place for you. Don't let the price tag scare you, with the quality of service you get, Rising Sun Residence is worth every single penny.

We hope to be back the end of the year for another truly relaxing break.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rising Sun Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Sun Residence

Address: 48/13 Moo 6, Soi Sai-Namyen, Chao Fa West Road, Chalong, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Chalong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Chalong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rising Sun Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rising Sun Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Sun Residence Hotel Chalong
Rising Sun Residence Phuket/Chalong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rising Sun Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.