We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a nice stay and my room was amazing. Thank you” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa De Mama

Villa De Mama
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villa De Mama to your Saves list
Villa De Mama
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   54/63 Moo 1 Soi Ta-iad, Chalong, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 34 Chalong B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It was a nice stay and my room was amazing. Thank you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

Everything was new and clean an Kim is a good lady and she were always helping me. I will come soon and stay there again. Love it and everything was great :) hope you have a room for me .......................................................................

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Such a wonderful place to stay, the lady who runs it is so lovely and can't do enough to make sure your stay is perfect. The outside bath was bliss after a day of training. Close enough to the training camps but far enough away that it's so quiet at night. Aircon, modern bathroom, comfy beds and fresh towels every day. Very affordable, I'd definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone coming to Chalong.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krabi Town, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Jem' & Charlie' own this peaceful, quiet Villa nestled behind a semi busy fitness road; Soi Ta-iad. They have occupied the land for 3 generations and have excellent english and hospitality. They are a lovely couple, hands on with their Villa and happy to help you with anything you may need from bug spray, tourist advice to a night light for reading. Villa de Mama is close to facilities such as restaurants (I recommend Tony's, in front of the Villa), Taxi's, Laundry, Massage, Markets(1-2km) and a super market (2-3km). Villa de Mama is such a steal for the services and facilities they offer at the price they give. You will not have to worry about the safety of your items either, i have left money, credit cards, passports around whilst the cleaners have been. You won't regret choosing this as your accommodation.

Room Tip: Swimming pool under construction. TBC July 2014
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed there for 3 nights with my boyfriend. We wanted to stay away from the centre and party beaches while we rested from the journey from Australia and prepared for our adventures in Thailand.

Chalong is a good neighborhood. The place is full of kickboxing gyms so expect to see a lot of pumped up people around. It is a little far from the beaches and public transport is VERY difficult so the best option is to rent a car os scooter.

The bedrooms are lovely, airy, white and the place overall is good value for money. There is some staff around (cleaning) during the day but the manager was never there. Luckily we didn't have major issues but we had to organise transport with her and that was a little difficult.

There is a restaurant next door which serves delicious and cheap food. Definitely recommended.

Overall a good experience but I am not sure if I would stay there again though because of the distance to the beaches.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

This was my sixth stay in chalong. I go to train and usually stay at one of the more expensive places. I thought I'd try and save some cash on my last visit so I stayed here. All I can say is that it was the best and most relaxing stay I've had, maybe it's the atmphosphere in the rooms or the villa area but its defiantly the warm and friendly attitude of the couple that run it. They are lovely, I was even massively late for my departure flight and only caught it in time because of them frantically driving me to the airport, carrying my luggage and phoning ahead to the airport. The rooms are perfect.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This place is great to stay at. The owners are great people who will help you with any problem or need you have. The rooms are really nice too, big and roomy with a tv, fridge and good sized closet. Really recommend this place, especially if you are staying for a longer time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I think it is very good place, people are very friendly, and I liked the room, if you want a nice and comfortable place, I think is the best place, and if you are allergic to mosquitoes, I suggest you bring repellent. good luck a good trip!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa De Mama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa De Mama

Address: 54/63 Moo 1 Soi Ta-iad, Chalong, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Chalong
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Chalong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa De Mama 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Villa De Mama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa De Mama Phuket/Chalong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa De Mama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.