We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take the good with the bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tiger Muay Thai - Day Classes

Tiger Muay Thai - Day Classes
7/6 Moo 5 Soi Ta-ied | Ao Chalong, Chalong, Phuket Town, Phuket 83100, Thailand
+66 (0)76 367 071
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 45 Activities in Chalong
4.0 of 5 stars 107 Reviews
Type: Sports Camps/ Clinics, Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tiger Muay Thai & MMA Training Camp started Muay Thai training camp in 2004 with a vision of bringing quality Muay Thai training to everyone. Although we started with just one ring, we now have seven boxing rings, an MMA cage, 36 workout stations and have over 40 Muay Thai trainers. We also have three incredible personal trainers devoted to various fitness specialties. They are also professional athletes. In addition, we are affiliated with Brazilian Top Team which is one of the most renowned Jui Jitsu gyms in the world.We are especially proud to have guests that return every year, including world champion trainers and fighters from WMC, Lumpinee, Rajadamnern, WBC, Bangkok TV and professional fighters from all over the world like Royce Gracie, Jon Fitch, Murilo Bustamante and Brian Ebersole just to name a few.What’s also nice is the amazing return rate of guests like yourself that make coming back to our camp an on-going tradition.Guests come here from all over the world with different fitness goals. We have won the award for the Best Gym for Foreigners two years in a row for 2010 and 2011.We have fighters who come here to improve technique and to prepare for upcoming fights, martial arts schools, vacationers, fitness fans, adventure junkies, and military personnel. At our camp getting fit is a priority. But we also know that finding time to relax and rejuvenating oneself is also important. Here you have the opportunity to explore places like Phi Phi Island, be awed by the Big Buddha, relax on the shores of one of many beautiful beaches.We are more than just a facility - it’s a place to reinvent yourself...a place to take a step out of the hustle of everyday life and figure out what’s really important.
LuvsAnAdventure
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Take the good with the bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Long review, but after spending 1 month there, I'm sharing what I wish I had known before I got there.

Good:
- The staff is friendly and helpful
- The training is good. You have the opportunity to really achieve whatever goal you have
- Group activities are planned outside of the gym to have fun. Ie trips to the beach, trips to the club, local celebrations, etc
- Bar-b-que beatdowns are held each month and are fun and a great way to meet everyone

Not so good
- Overpriced - gyms down the street are FAR less expensive
- Crowded - its really popular, they do great marketing which makes it a really popular place to go. That's not *bad* per se, but the classes are crowded and there isn't much one-on-one attention without purchasing a private session.

Everything else will depend on your own tastes. Having spent a month there, I will give you some suggestions:

1) Don't purchase a month long membership. Why? Because there are so many people and at some point, you will get sick or a minor injury and not be able to workout. Its better to purchase the 10-day passes so that you can work out when you want to work out. This is better value

2) Don't purchase the meal plan. You can, the food is good and its nutritious, however, the street that its on is dedicated to fitness as there are 5 training facilities located here, all of the restaurants serve healthy menus for a fraction of the cost.

3) Don't stay on campus (unless you're a guy). The rooms aren't really too lady-friendly and the bathrooms are kinda grungy. And they're not only for people who live on-campus, anyone who comes on the property uses the restrooms.

4) Invest in private session. You'll advance much more quickly if you do since the classes are quite large.

I hope this helps!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JolenPicardo, Guest relations at Tiger Muay Thai - Day Classes, responded to this review, October 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a feedback after your visit at Tiger.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We deeply value your relationship with Tiger Muay Thai and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve the very best.

Upon thorough review of the situation, we narrowed the cause and came up with a whole new meal menu with variety of choices and fresh juices.We renovated all the campus rooms and expanded our fitness area.

Looking forward to your return soon back again to witness the whole new expansion.

Best Regards, TMT Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    29
    11
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good gym”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

this place was super busy with a very rigid schedule. The staff were great I think it is just a market to sell sell sel their products. I got a good work out in for the week and went to every class.

I think I would go to another school that is a bit cheaper with less people instead of having 50 people at once during training maybe it was busy because of the season.

It was fun and the trainers were great just like to have less people.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JolenPicardo, Guest relations at Tiger Muay Thai - Day Classes, responded to this review, October 5, 2014
Hi and thanks for the great review.
Always a pleasure to hear that people enjoy what we provide.
Dec-Jan is peak season for us and this could be the cause of witnessing big crowd.However,we have narrowed the cause and expanded out fitness area,renovated our gym with whole new weights equipment.We are all set as we are approaching the high season.

We look forward to your return and witness the changes.

Cheers,TMT Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Expensive if you want good training”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Tiger has its good points and bad points If you want decent training be prepared to pay for private lessons.

If you just want to get fit or are one of these people that just want to write all over facebook and tell anybody that will listen you trained muay thai at a gym in thailand this place could be great for you.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JolenPicardo, Guest relations at Tiger Muay Thai - Day Classes, responded to this review, October 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post review for us.
Prices are reasonable compared to the competent trainers on board.However,we appreciate your feedback.It is very important for us to provide a constant Service. Good to know that we succeeded.

Apologies if we din't meet your expectations.

Regards,TMT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to train”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Group lessons are great for cardio, but if you really want to learn proper technique, go for the private classes.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JolenPicardo, Guest relations at Tiger Muay Thai - Day Classes, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Thank you for writing us up and providing with feedback.

Yes,Private sessions are made available for those seeking extra attention and looking to improve skills.

Glad to know you enjoyed our classes.

We look to you return visit soon again.

Best reagrds.TMT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“No good at making contact”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I have not had the opportunity to go to any sessions at the camp despite wanting to, but it seemed relevant to still review the company.

Made contact to organise a beginners' session to be told that there were no group ones being held but there could be a private one the same day if we wanted. I replied within the same day saying I would be happy with this and wanted to confirm the booking. Had to chase one week later and still no reply. Chased another week later, which is less than 2 weeks before we were going to go, and still nothing.

If they were not interested in conducting any sessions then that should've been made clear upfront rather than making an alternative suggestion.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JolenPicardo, Guest relations at Tiger Muay Thai - Day Classes, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
With deep regret I read your review and I personally apologize for the inconvenience caused.

Please allow me to explain we do not conduct any classes on Sunday's.and this is made very clear on our website on the training schedule.However we do provide private session upon request.Perhaps,this is only bookable upon arrival in person.We do not accept bookings via telephone due to past clients never turned up and our trainers were left being waiting and not being able to accept another booking.

If you any plans in future to visit our camp,I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.

Best regards,

TMT Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiger Muay Thai - Day Classes also viewed

 
Chalong, Phuket Town
Chalong, Phuket Town
 

Been to Tiger Muay Thai - Day Classes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiger Muay Thai - Day Classes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.