We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your Breakfast is Too Cheap!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wine Connection

Wine Connection
Chao Fa Road East | Fisherman's Way Business Center, Chalong, Phuket Town, Phuket, Thailand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 54 Restaurants in Chalong
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: also contains retail wine store
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Your Breakfast is Too Cheap!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

You know what’s wrong with this place? They are so busy trying to make the breakfast cheap that they forgot to make it good. At 140B plus service charge, you think; hey not bad. For what you get it is not bad BUT they don't cook it well and they cut corners. The sausages were raw in the middle, the scrambled eggs (which came as scrambled egg, I do know how 2 eggs look) where dry, maybe pre-cooked and some of the potatoes were hard in the middle and lacked seasoning. The tomato was not cooked either. The orange juice was a glass full of ice with half a glass of something that had never seen an orange. The bread was fine. Please double your price and get the quality right, you don’t need to be the cheapest in town.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    48
    29
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great selection of food and drinks combined with good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Having eaten here at least once a week for the last couple of years with Thai friends, foreign family, guests and everyone in between, we can say we have never been let down by the consistent quality of the food and service.
As the name implies, they have one of the widest selections of wine in Thailand and at prices that make it taste even better. None of the normal restaurant-inflated prices here. Also imported beers and many other unusual drinks you won't find elsewhere.
The food ranges from Thai dishes to pasta, pizza, steak and fish. Everything is good - I've tried the lot!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't corkage me in your restaurant when I buy wine at your wine store !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Looked like a great place with a decent wine selection in their adjacent wine store. Menu looks great so I pop in to buy a btl of wine. They are very slippery about this !! BEWARE !! If you buy a btl of wine under $500/baht in the wine store and then choose to have dinner in their restaurant, they will charge you a $100/baht corkage fee !!
I was going to a steak and my fiancée done pasta to go with out $499/baht btl of wine. Our bill would have been well over $1000/baht after dinner, dessert and coffee. Yet they choose to nickel and dime me for a corkage fee after I bought wine in their wine store and then decide to eat in their restaurant. Very Poor Customer Experience !! If I bring wine from outside, my personal collection or from another store I have no problem paying a corkage fee but don't have the NERVE to charge me corkage after I buy a btl in your wine store and then drop another $1000/baht in your restaurant.

We will not return to wine connection until they reevaluate this corkage policy. None of our friends that visit will be made aware of this place.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnny565, Manager at Wine Connection, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Sir,

As we are a wine retailer, our policy in our restaurants is if you pick a bottle of wine in the shop at less than 500 THB (+/- 13 Euros), we will charge 500 THB.

If you order from the Wine Menu, there will be no confusion.

There are clear signs in the shop and at the cashier counter to explain this policy.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great palce to meet up for a morning coffee and get a bite to eat, the full breakfast is filling and great value for money and they also have newspapers and Wifi if you want to sit and relax

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amphoe Muang Phuket, Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wine Connection in Chalong - never disappointing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is the best restaurant in the WIne Connection chain in Phuket. Great food and inexpensive chilled champagne. One more lovely dinner with friends.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wine Connection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wine Connection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.