We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“classic gym” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suwit Muay Thai Training Camp & Gym

Suwit Muay Thai Training Camp & Gym
15 Moo 1, Chaofa Road, Chalong, Phuket Town, Phuket 83130, Thailand
007-637-4313
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 45 Activities in Chalong
4.0 of 5 stars 21 Reviews
Type: Sports Camps/ Clinics, Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Suwit muay thai camp are welcomed anyone to train muay thai with us. Suwit muay thai camp can train from professional or beginner.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“classic gym”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

great old fashion muay thai training. loved it. gym is old school so if you want a big pretty gym you better for train another. for real muaythai is great

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    4
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Go to Bangla stadium for the same price”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Its not a stadium its a muay thai gym they charge people the same money as the big stadiums to go see, theres loads and loads of mini vans outside it when its on and im guessing these are all pre paid tours people get trapped into, they used to only charge 600 baht per ticket but got shocking greedy, one of my mates theat lives and trains there even had a job to get in past the money desk one night without paying their that bad... wouldnt set foot near the place again... htey rely on tiger muay thai to promote the place and then tiger have their own referee in a match with a tiger fighter and a non tiger fighter.. wheres the sense in that

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Good value for money honest people work here and the trainers do make an effort to learn you muay thai

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul, Kabol, Afghanistan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“I expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Didn't train here but went to an event. I guess I thought it would be more bad---...I am used to MMA and UFC at home (USA). The younger kids had more talent it seemed than the older guys. I expected the main event to be a great fight, but the challenger was over wt, not in shape and pretty much got his [--] kicked the 1st round. I wish there would have been more to it. I paid for VIP, big mistake, the view ringside was not great, the bleachers would have been better. Now I know.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“loved this....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Within a very touristy county and resort, this felt like an evening of true Thailand culture - and a wonderful experience. We saw 9 bouts, from men fighting, down to young children aged 5 or 6 fighting.

We chose the normal seats - ring side and VIP are a lot more and really unnecessary - unless you want a comfy seat. We sat on the steps with the locals, fantastic view in a great gym, drinking Chang and Leo beers and watching a true piece of Thai culture.

I would recommend this over boxing events in bigger areas such as Patong - as this evening isn't a staged event for tourists. You are watching boxers fight for their living and for a passion. The fighters are well looked after and protected.

Highly recommended and would love to go back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suwit Muay Thai Training Camp & Gym also viewed

 
Chalong, Phuket Town
 

Been to Suwit Muay Thai Training Camp & Gym? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suwit Muay Thai Training Camp & Gym, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.