We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kan Eang@Pier Restaurant

Kan Eang@Pier Restaurant
44/1 Moo 5, Wiset Road, Chalong, Phuket Town, Phuket, Thailand
076381212
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 61 Restaurants in Chalong
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

A HUGE restaurant with a lot of outdoor seating. Beautiful setting right next to the water with a nice bar & great cocktails. The food is good value for money, especially the local specialties. The seafood will be a bit more expensive but it is soooo fresh and delicious! The area isn't that great but if you feel like a 'local' drink afterwards, there are a few small bars in the same street. Some nicer than others. Be sure you have someone to pick you up afterwards as taxis can be a bit of a challenge from here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    112
    41
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood,service & location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This was one of my favorites whilst in Phuket. The food is amazing. Sure it is pricey - but when you order lobster, crab & prawns you expect that. All the food was cooked beautifully. On arrival we had asked to sit outside but it had started to rain, so we sat inside - then when the rain stopped we were moved outside meals & all which was no hassle. The ambience is lovely for a fine dining experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chumphon Province, Thailand
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT FOOD IN A PEACEFUL SETTING”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This restaurant is so easy to miss as you head to Chalong Pier. It is situated on the right as you enter the parking area and is a peaceful venue with excellent food.

Although the service can be a bit patchy in high season, the food is a superb selection of Thai cuisine offering a wide choice of dishes that you won't find in the average tourist restaurant. The setting is beautiful, overlooking Chalong Bay and the islands beyond. We have mostly visited for lunch and it might get very busy in the evening as they appear to cater for large parties but on a quiet mid-week visit it is a wonderful place for a peaceful, delicious lunch.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had fresh lobster from the tank in Garlic Butter which was cooked to perfection. Giant Tiger prawns from the tank in caramelised garlic was delicious. Highlight was the vegetables with egg and garlic. Appetizer of deep fried seaweed and prawns is not to be missed either!
A great location combined with terrific service from our waiter made for a fantastic evening! Would definitely go back !

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Beautiful setting but this is Thailand and to be expected,food pricey and the Thai food very westernized,portions on the small side .have been a few times but last visit was the last.Had a argument with the waiter and then the manager about being charged for cold wet wipes which we were supplied with on arrival and during the meal...although not a lot ,it was the principle,when most bottom end restaurants give them out for free.The final straw was on leaving we witnessed one of the chefs clubbing to death one of the live fishes from the tank with much vigor....ok we know the fishes are going to end up dead but we don't have to witness the brutality of it....and then one of our guests ended up with food poisoning after eating a duck curry

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kan Eang@Pier Restaurant also viewed

Chalong, Phuket Town
Chalong, Phuket Town
 

Been to Kan Eang@Pier Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kan Eang@Pier Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.