We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as in Patong” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandwich Shoppe Chalong

Sandwich Shoppe Chalong
1 km north of Chalong Circle | Chao Fah East Road, Chalong, Phuket Town, Phuket 83150, Thailand
076 290 468
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 61 Restaurants in Chalong
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Bakeries, Bagels
Description: Cozy, friendly American coffee and sandwich place, with leather chairs, good music, great coffee, and legendary Thai-style hospitality. World-renowned expat hangout, run by American "For Dummies" author Woody Leonhard (Google!). Gourmet sandwiches, made your way. American breakfast, all day. Fast, FREE WiFi 24 x 7. Real lemonade. Fresh fruit smoothies. Egg MAX Muffins. Fabulous cakes, cookies, brownies, bagels, quiches, granola and extraordinary American style goodies from Khun Woody's Bakery - Phuket's Best Boutique Bakery.
Restaurant details
Description: Cozy, friendly American coffee and sandwich place, with leather chairs, good music, great coffee, and legendary Thai-style hospitality. World-renowned expat hangout, run by American "For Dummies" author Woody Leonhard (Google!). Gourmet sandwiches, made your way. American breakfast, all day. Fast, FREE WiFi 24 x 7. Real lemonade. Fresh fruit smoothies. Egg MAX Muffins. Fabulous cakes, cookies, brownies, bagels, quiches, granola and extraordinary American style goodies from Khun Woody's Bakery - Phuket's Best Boutique Bakery.
Phuket, Thailand
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Not as good as in Patong”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Has an odd atmosphere that doesn't feel very welcoming. The sandwiches and drinks are just as good as they serve in Patong, but the staff and surroundings don't quite cut it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhunWoody, Namesake at Sandwich Shoppe Chalong, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Come back! Come back!

Once the staff gets to know you, I bet you'll find the shop is as welcoming as any place in Thailand.

We had some specific problems/challenges with the new Chalong shop. It cost a fortune to get rid of the echo, but I think we've managed to do it. (You may not like the fabric pattern, though - I'd certainly understand that!) We built a meeting room that's rarely used, so we're trying to make it more inviting. It would've been nice to extend the wood floor to the whole shop, but it's prohibitively expensive.

Any other suggestions are always most welcome! woody (at) khun woody dot com ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    9
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“WI Fi and Coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

If you need a quick bite to eat and check emails then here is a good place to stop, offering custom built sandwiches as well as fresh shakes and good cofffee. You can relax and fill up while checking emails or just sit and read a book!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Omelette”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

All day breakfast available. Omelette and Ham, yum, good price, good Aircon, Good free WiFi, ample parking and very friendly staff.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Expensive and thank you”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

God am I sick of mayo splashed on instead of butter. Had the beef, not great. Gave the rest of my sandwich away. Way overpriced for the product. First and last visit, sooner have a meal instead!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhunWoody, Namesake at Sandwich Shoppe Chalong, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Sorry you didn't like your sandwich! I've never had a beef sandwich with butter and no mayo - but you can easily order butter and no mayo on the order sheet. If the staff got your order wrong, let me know and I'll make sure it's set right.

I'm surprised you feel that $3 for a roast beef sandwich with all the fixin's is too much. I just spent a month in the US, and it was rare to find a good RB sandwich for less than $7 or $8.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Subway Killer! Gourmet sandwiches for 5 bucks.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We came here with a craving for a sandwich and were delighted with what we found. A foolproof ordering system, super clean environment, and gourmet ingredients made Woody's a diamond in the rough.

I had a footlong tuna and bacon sandwich and it was phenomenal. The bacon was super thick and perfectly crispy.

The WiFi was fast and they have two computers to use if you didn't bring your own. We sat on plush comfy leather couches and sipped on fresh squeezed lemonade. PERFECTION!

We LOVE Woody's!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandwich Shoppe Chalong also viewed

 
Chalong, Phuket Town
 

Been to Sandwich Shoppe Chalong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandwich Shoppe Chalong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.