We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep going back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kan Eang 2

Kan Eang 2
9/3 Moo 9 Chofa Tawan Aok Road | Chalong Bay, Chalong, Phuket Town, Phuket 83130, Thailand
6676381323
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 41 restaurants in Chalong
Price range: $5 - $500
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: This is a restaurant frequented mostly by locals, a real find. There are a few restaurants with same or similar name, all part of the same group. The one we went to was called Kan Eang 2.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“We keep going back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

After many years of living in, and visiting, Phuket - Kan Eang 2 remains one of our family favourites.

Great seafood and great prices in a relaxed setting by the sea.

Some waitresses speak very little English - so if you don't speak Thai you may have some fun :-)

Whenever we go we impress upon them that they should cook "Thai style' and not for foreigners - this is important!

You really can't go wrong with any of the food here - but if you haven't tried it before, take a "Hor Mok Phuket" - I don't know how to describe it apart from a 'spicy fish mousse'. Well worth it - cheap enough to leave if you don't like it, but I'm sure you'll order more!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    50
    42
    12
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good and not too expwnsive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Local people also go there for friends and family dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“If the Locals love it -must be good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Right on the beach and short walk along the beach at low tide from our hotel AhChalong Villa Resort and Spa. The three times we visited , lunch and 2 x dinner, the patrons were all locals! Really nice setting, attentive staff, reasonably priced, yummy cocktails. Must try the Haw Lok a type of light curry flavour fish/seafood moose baked in banana leaves..real authentic Thai flavours -tip eat slowly to savour the texutre and divine flavours mmmm..Also the minced pork with fried seaweed and tamarind dipping sauce. don't forget to get photos of the food ...before you eat it :) Would definitely recommend.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best Value Seafood with great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

After 14 years visiting and living in Chalong Kan Eng 2 is way ahead for value. Kan Eng 1 is trendier and if you wish to impress the girl friend it may be better to spend the exttra 20% ther. Kan Eng 2 has top quality reasonably priced local seafood.
Our favouites are th local Oysters, Soft Shell Craps, BBQ King Prawns (expensive)
Chinese style fish and egg plant and seafood saleads. Great location right on the beach, better than Kan Eng 1 . Good service from local staff ...English reasonable.
After Chaiyo neart Panwa this is our second favourite seafood restauiarant

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Peaceful serene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed dinner by the water, had the Pineapple rice, duck and stir fry vege, got good service from Mann, but were never offered dessert or more drinks after the main was served

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kan Eang 2 also viewed

Chalong, Phuket Town
 
Chalong, Phuket Town
Phuket Town, Phuket
 

Been to Kan Eang 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kan Eang 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.