We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent tour with fabulous food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Rovers - Day Tours

River Rovers - Day Tours
1/16 Moo 9, Chaofa Rd, Chalong, Phuket Town, Phuket 83130, Thailand
+66 89 875 8691
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Nature & Parks in Chalong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Phuket, the pearl of the Andaman, is famous for its white beaches and tropical nature; offering so many off the beaten tracks to explore and experience. If you’re a nature lover, planet lover, or simply just want a holiday to love and always remember then you've come to the right place...River Rovers Eco Cruises!We are an independent Eco-Tour Company, taking small tours to all of the out of the way places, to see the natural beauty and Ecosystems that surround Phuket. We take no more than 6 guests on our Live-a-Board tours and a maximum of 10 guests for our Day tours, taking you away from the crowds of tourists, to show you the real Thailand with all of its treasures on offer.With our shallow draft of only 8 inches, we can pull up just about anywhere, without climbing on dinghies and clambering up the side of boats, perfect for all ages and abilities and wheel chairs are welcome too.You will experience a wonderland of wildlife, unspoiled by tourism.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
Hong Kong
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent tour with fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Thank you to Gordon & Luk. Thank you for giving us such a memorable tour.

We have joined the tour on 30 May. I booked it via email after I arrived Phuket and the whole process is very smooth. Gordon did get back very quick and even help us to arrange transportation from hotel to pier (transportation fee at our charge).

Gordon brought us to several islands and we did not see any other tourists around. We swim, walk around and paddle in an environment that with only us. We really enjoy the peaceful environment and it looks like we have chartered those islands/beaches. Gordon knows how to get away from crowded. He gave us sufficient time, food & unlimited beers to enjoy for the whole journey.

To me, feeding monkeys is the worst part as I am afraid of them however my two friends enjoy a lot. Luckily we are then offered a chance to order lobsters directly from the nearby fishermen at a very attractive price (nearly half price compare to restaurants in Patong). Lobsters are steamed and delivered to our boat directly. They are so fresh and the taste is very good. It is worth to pay for and really helps me to forget about those monkeys.

Food are fabulous!!! Luk is a very good chef even better than some of the restaurants. The drumstick, chicken & coconut soup, stir fried pork with ginger, stir fired prawns with beans and fried rice are to die for. (Except the french fries which is a bit hard, I guess they are over-cooked.)

Gordon said as he is already 70 and he wants to enjoy life so he will only run 7 to 8 tours a month. We are so lucky that we can join this tour. I would recommend this tour to everyone who wants to enjoy Sun, Sea & Sand. This tour is not using speedboat so it suits for all people (family even with elderly or children).

If I visit Phuket in future, I will definitely want to join Gordon & Luk again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    14
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of the main highlights of our Thailand holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have just returned to NZ after 10 awesome days in Thailand as a family.
The best excursion that I would recommend is to spend a day with Gordon and enjoy a River Rovers experience. We had a blast.
Nothing was any bother from where we wished to head to enjoying another ice cold beer/soft drink - the lunch that was freshly cooked on the boat was devine. Having a chance to feed the monkeys was a great experience.
If you are looking for a relaxing day where you are cruising, swimming where and when you want, investigating the many islands and going where you want to go (not where the boat is taking you and hundreds of other tourists) then we would recommend a day with River Rovers. It truely was one of the highlights of our holiday.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unforgettable day with river rovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

If you are looking for an interesting unique informative way to see a part of the "real " Thailand with fantastic hosts, one of which is an amazing cook do not look past Gordon and Luk of river rovers.
We spent the day cruising chalong bay with Gordon and Luk...
We were blessed with beautiful weather, though very warm and it was a fantastic day to spend on the water.
Gordon took us to see the monkeys first, he provided food for us to give them, we all jumped it to Gordon's kayaks and paddled over to the monkeys. The kids loved it though the youngest was a bit weary at first but the monkeys were actually quite well mannered and most waited patiently to receive a bit of food.... We then decided to kayak a bit further up the water, Gordon followed behind in his boat and after passing some friendly locals(no tourists in sight) and a few homes we hopped back on to the boat.....we then had 2 fresh lobster delivered to the boat by a local fisherman for a very reasonable price to have with our lunch.
Gordon then took us to many quiet hidden beaches for plenty of swimming and snorkeling...on the way my daughter and a couple of other guests sat on the kayaks behind the boat, my daughter thought it was great and even stood up on the kayak, Gordon then stopped the boat so we could jump from the roof in to the water...well the guys had an awesome time impressing us with their somersault jumps...a good laugh....
The beaches as I said were the highlight as we did not see another soul in sight...only us, the water temp was beautiful and we were able to take our time exploring the beaches and swimming....there was never any rush from Gordon at all.
I have to mention the food and drinks too...there was an endless supply of both plus Luk cooked up the most amazing lunch even though she was suffering from a very sore injured hand, the food and drinks just kept coming all day....
To sum it up if you are considering river rovers you honestly can't go wrong, Gordon has a wealth of knowledge of the area, he will take you to amazing spots away from the crowds, you will eat and drink like a king and you will have many great memories of a fantastic day with the best hosts

Thank you Gordon & Luk

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotsoxyPhuket, Owner at River Rovers - Day Tours, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hi Fiona,
Thanks for the wonderful review, yes, the weather was great and you had a great trip, the monkeys have always been well behaved, I have been going to see them for at least seven years and they have never been a problem, well behaved and lovely, even two and three year olds have seen them.
We rarely see any tourists on our trips because the trip is not on the tourist route, so you are more or less guaranteed to have the trip to yourselves, except you will see many locals going about their dally business and the beaches on the islands are all tourist free.
The trip is ideal for kids and anybody who has a bad back or pregnant or any form of injury as we are only in the river and bay were the water is nearly always calm.
The trip to Phang Gna was great as-well, where we hired a long tail boat and took you around the islands, stopping for swimming etc and cooling off, and at the end we took you to the floating restaurants on Coconut Island for a seafood supper, got home a bit late but not bad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fantastic!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Gordon and Lock, fantastic day that I would highly recommend to all. If you are family, couple or individual these guys will provide you with a day that is absolutely unforgettable. Feeding monkeys, swimming, beaches, great food, great people. You can't go wrong. Thanks so much!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotsoxyPhuket, Owner at River Rovers - Day Tours, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hi Paul, Thank you for your kind words, glad you enjoyed the day with us, the monkeys were great, as they always are, it was nice to have the lobster delivered to you by the fisherman on his boat.
Luck sends her regards and she says 'next time you want good food you know where to go'.
Best wishes
Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Liveaboard with Gordon and Luck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Spent two nights with the fabulous Gordon and Luck. My goodness.... where do I start? Gordon and Luck picked us up from the beach and off we set on our travels. We went to some fabulous deserted beaches and saw the hongs in Phang Nga. We felt very welcome and very at safe. Gordon knows the area like the back of his hand takes you place he thinks you want to see. Boating round James Bond Island and mooring at the Sea Gypsies Village. Luck is an absolute diamond... her cooking skills are up there with the michelin star chefs. I cannot really describe the experience we had with River Rovers. Absolutely fabulous! If you are thinking of a day trip or a liveaboard. do it, you wont be disappointed. If you are lucky, Gordon may share his whisky !!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotsoxyPhuket, Owner at River Rovers - Day Tours, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hi Sheona,
Thanks for your great review, glad you enjoyed your stay, we had a load of fun, you and Howard were great company and look forward to you coming again, we did a one day trip to Phang Nga Bay yesterday but on a long-tail boat, 8 people from Australia also good fun.
I try to get people away from tourism but it is almost impossible on a one day trip, but you guys stayed on the boat so it made it easier, go to the tourist spots early in the morning and evening,
It was wonderful to be tied up for the night on one of The Gypsy Village's jetty's, and watch the lightning brighten up the sky.
Best wishes
Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Rovers - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to River Rovers - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Rovers - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.