We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lost its appeal” 2 of 5 stars
Review of World Famous Fish and Chips

World Famous Fish and Chips
Main Road, Mangonui, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 9 Restaurants in Mangonui
Cuisines: Fish & Chips
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Russell, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“lost its appeal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

They are still cashing in on their reputation. However, the service is unfriendly, the portions small, not very tasty and overpriced. Furthermore, they provide plastic cutlery which is hard to eat with, plastic containers for everything. Everything is one way - throw away, not environmentally friendly. I thought I had a nice day out with lunch there but would eat elsewhere next time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    48
    61
    44
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Over priced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

The worlds best fish and chips was a massive let down. Was very overpriced, with little quantity served. I would recommend one of the other fish shops. The quality of the good was ok, chips were below par. The calamari was good, but not worth the money I paid.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice but expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We got 3 pieces of Snapper & one scoop of chips, which came to nearly $30.00 add sauce & drinks & you're getting up around the early $40 mark which is very expensive for a fish'n chip meal.

The fish was nice & fresh but could of done with being allowed to drain a little longer as it was still quite greasy. The fish portions were rather small & we left still felling a little hungry. Eating out on the deck over the sea was enjoyable though.

Had to tick it off the list, though it is too expensive for what you get.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Late lunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I wouldn't bother going here again the staff need to be more welcoming. The food is greasy and expensive. We took our 3 nephews as a treat but won't be returning there are 2 other fish and chip shops in Mangonui and that's where we will be going next. This place it's trading on a dated reputation try somewhere else

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Over Rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

The blue nose fish was lovely however that is where the positive comments start and finish. The batter although light was full of oil. The chips were overlooked and also full of fat. Our 8 year old told us that her hot dog was average. Their idea of a scoop of chips seems to be half the size of the rest of the country but costs $3:50. Would go only once to say I had been! My husband is now having cheese and crackers as he is still hungry.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed World Famous Fish and Chips also viewed

Mangonui, Northland Region
Mangonui, Northland Region
 
Mangonui, Northland Region
Mangonui, Northland Region
 

Been to World Famous Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage World Famous Fish and Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.