We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice fish but overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of World Famous Fish and Chips

World Famous Fish and Chips
Main Road, Mangonui, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 10 Restaurants in Mangonui
Cuisines: Fish & Chips
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice fish but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Fish (blue nose) was nice but small portion so seemed expensive. Great view from seating area. Worth visiting if you are passing but not to go out of your way; and not best in .NZ. Shame they did not provide proper cutlery when eating in

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    68
    82
    69
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jervis Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Give it a miss.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stopped for dinner and the only fish they had was Blue nose (grouper). The fish was well cooked but it was quite firm possibly because it was a fillet but there was no alternative.

Tourist special "fishermen's basket" 1/3 piece of Blue Nose fish and small chips with lemon, tomato sauce and tartare sauce for $15.50 OR "fish and chips" 1/3 piece of the Blue nose fish and large chips for $10! Really snarky server who was upset that I asked about the difference. Drinks were really expensive, lots of merchandising which is fine by me but really, really not worth stopping for. Go elsewhere for better fish, better chips, bigger serves and far better staff attitude anywhere else in NZ. Left still hungry! Would definitely not return under this management.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just not the same.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Mangonui Fish and Chip shop used to be one of the best in Northland! However, times have changed and now they are just simply not what they used to be. The squid rings tasted like rubber. They're also very overpriced! Not very happy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Institution Maybe - Overpriced Yes!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The Mangonui Fish and Chip shop has become an institution over the years but we had heard from overseas visitors how expensive it was. We have just returned from a trip up north and went to get our fish and chips. Enquiring earlier in the day about what was available and opening times staff could hardly be bothered to help and just stood around despite it being obvious we wanted some help. However, not to be detered we duly went back in the evening and there was only one type of fish available - Hapuka which really delicious as it was at $7.90 for a tiny piece was way over the top and a whole scoop of chips at $3.90 was barely enough to feed one person. Worst of all was a small plastic bowl of salad (shredded cabbage and lettuce with a couple of bits of capsicum) was a whopping $7.90 and the final insult a tiny pot of vinegar (no more than a tablespoon) was $1.50. Soft drinks x 3 another $15.00 for a small coke and two juices. We felt thoroughly ripped off and will be warning anyone heading up through Mangonui.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“World famous? Had to try!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Our tired family of 7 stumbled into the shop at what was obviously their busiest time.
We were blown away by the fish (blue nose I think) and the chips were nice.
We did think however that for a small piece of fish and a hand full of chips that over $10 per head was pretty overpriced.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed World Famous Fish and Chips also viewed

Mangonui, Northland Region
Mangonui, Northland Region
 
Mangonui, Northland Region
Mangonui, Northland Region
 

Been to World Famous Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage World Famous Fish and Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.