We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MacNean Restaurant

MacNean Restaurant
Main St, Blacklion, Ireland
071-9853022
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Blacklion
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $141
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Athlone, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Superb!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Excellent from start to finish. We really enjoyed our Sunday lunch, Excellent food and atmosphere. We will be back for definite!! Highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    21
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Words cannot describe the MacNean experience. I went with friends and everything about the evening was simply amazing. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Just book it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Great service, great food, lovely vibe - you can't but enjoy your evening.
Opt for the 6pm sitting, you're in there for nearly 3 hours!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
483 helpful votes 483 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations......and then some”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Booked the restaurant in March for a table in July, which involved spending much of the day holding in the phone queue That's kinda how they do it there at MacNeans. All the frustration of booking a table however was well compensated when the dining date eventually arrived.

We drove to Blacklion (5.5 hours) including a short side-of-the-road break overlooking gorgeous Lough Ree and checked into the guesthouse attached to MacNeans restaurant (separate review about this written)
Followed by pre dinner cocktails in the comfortable bar overlooking "downtown" Blacklion, dinner for us was at 6pm in the beautifully appointed dining room.
What followed was three hours and 9 courses of superb food and service. You don't have to opt for the 9 course tasting menu, but as it was a special occasion, we did. There is also an 'a la carte' option. We also went for the wine pairing. This was a wonderful idea as it allowed us to enjoy 5 different wines with our meal which were served at the appropriate time and had been chosen by the sommelier at MacNeans who knew her stuff and had chosen well. There is no point going into detail on the menu as it is freely available on the website, suffice to say that every morsel is delectable, and though 9 courses may seem like an awful lot of food, I did not feel 'stuffed' at the end of the meal, just well fed.

Staff in the restaurant are really good. Professional, down to earth, and friendly without ever seeming 'in your face'. At no point during the meal did we feel rushed (even though there is a second sitting on weekend nights there). Coffee and petit fours are served in the bar. Staff ensure there is a table for you in the bar before you move from the dining room.

If Head Chef and proprietor of MacNeans Neven Maguire is 'in the house' he will come out to the bar and mingle with the diners. In our case he was there and cooking on the night and we chatted to him. Such a gentleman, with time for everybody - a perfectionist, and it shows.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A truly amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I can't say enough how amazing MacNean house is, from the staff to the food it really is an amazing experience. We couldn't get accommodation in the hotel that night so I will be going again next year to experience that. A real treat.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MacNean Restaurant also viewed

Blacklion, County Cavan
Enniskillen, County Fermanagh
 
Belcoo, County Fermanagh
Ballyconnell, County Cavan
 

Been to MacNean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MacNean Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.