We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Hotel & Golf Course” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club to your Saves list
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cranaghan, Ballyconnell, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballyconnell
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ireland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Super Hotel & Golf Course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Just back from a wonderfull break in Slieve Russell. The rooms were beautifull with fantastic views over their magnificient golf course. Food and service was excellent. We must say this is a Gem in north west corner of Ireland. We will be back

Room Tip: Bring your walking shoes for a nice walk around the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Slieve Russell in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    229
    82
    30
    19
See reviews for
220
419
6
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed from Sunday until Tuesday in a superior room. Fantastic view from the bay window over the golf course, lough and tennis court. Initial impression of the room was WOW, but unfortunately could do with a bit of TLC and modernisation. Meals were in the Setanta restaurant and were OK. Not sure if there is any entertainment at the weekends but it could do with some during the week as not much to do in the evenings. Would definitely stay again.... soon!!

Room Tip: 642 was excellent, overlooked the golf course, lough in the distance, tennis courts and lawns with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am delighted to read your kind comments regarding your room view. I am pleased to note you intend to return and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DERRY
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Just back from a wonderful stay in this hotel. It is rated 4 star but it totally surpasses other assigned 4 star hotels I have stayed in. Check in was efficient but friendly and warm. We were given a superior room and it was spacious ,comfortable. airy and light.We had a lovely view over the grounds.The little touches were there - water,glasses, coffee,tea biscuits,bathrobes slippers, iron, hairdryer etc. The bathroom was large with separate shower, full face and bath towels and heated rails.We had a meal in the hotel and in the golf club restaurant. The latter in particular was excellent - very good food so much we had to leave some and at a very reasonable price. However this restaurant closes around 5-5.30 dependant on golfers. Again the spa and pool area was relaxing and very clean/well maintained. The interior of the hotel was very expansive and exuded a soft and warm ambience with plenty of quiet relaxing sitting areas. The grounds are beautiful with a championship golf course, walkways and a glorious secret garden. All staff were really courteous and friendly. It was the perfect place for our break. Very highly recommended. On leaving we were planning our return.

Room Tip: If eating early try the Summit restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your detailed review and I am delighted to read your positive comments and that you appreciate our attention to detail. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Slieve Russell in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed in the Slieve Russell for the first time last weekend. Got an excellent deal for a 2 night stay. Superior room was massive and had a beautiful picture window overlooking the golf course as well as a balcony. Gorgeous bathroom with a separate shower and a jacuzzi bath. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to deal with any requests. The grounds are beautiful and has a great 2.5km walk which is just what you need after the amazing meal we had in the Conall Cearnach Restaurant. Fabulous 3 course menu for 38 euro pp. We were also presented with a lovely plate of chocolates and fruit as an anniversary surprise. Was very sorry when our weekend was over. Would definitely recommend a stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your wonderful review and I am delighted to read your kind comments regarding your room, food and grounds. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Every time I have stayed at this hotel, I have loved it! One of my favourites! Something very special about it. Bit pricey but definitely a treat if you're looking for a nice break away. Absolutely in love with the walkway around the greens, and, if you're a golfer, you will adore this place! Swimming pool is amazing!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am delighted to read your lovely comments regarding the hotel, walkway, pool and golf. I do hope I have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Slieve Russell in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Slieve Russell is a lovely hotel in a very nice rural setting. The wedding reception meal was fabulous and the Cranaghan suite was very classy. Our room on level 4 was also very nice and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed the hearty Irish breakfast which was serviced in a restaurant with a view of the surrounding gardens etc. This hotel was not a disappointment

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am delighted to read your kind comments regarding the wedding reception, bedroom and breakfast. I do hope I have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co.tyrone
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Went here for my friend's birthday. We had room in older part of hotel. Still great beds and plenty of space. Food was fantastic and the atmosphere was excellent. Had a back massage in Ciuín spa-bliss! so relaxing and affordable. We ate in the Conall Cearnach Restaurant. Super service and first rate food. Breakfast was great too. Gardens are fabulous to walk around as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am delighted to read your positive comments regarding your room, food, spa and gardens. I do hope I have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Slieve Russell in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club

Address: Cranaghan, Ballyconnell, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Ballyconnell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballyconnell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Slieve Russell Hotel Golf & Country Club is a top quality four-star hotel. Set in 300 acres, including 50 acres of lakes, the resort offers a unique experience in relaxation and leisure. Facilities include 222 stylish bedrooms, a world-class spa, excellent conference and banqueting facilities, along with a magnificent leisure centre. Enhancing the facilities is a superb 18-hole championship golf course, in a survey of Irish Parkland Courses, was ranked at number twelve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slieve Russell Hotel And Country

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.