We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious stay in a top class hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club to your Saves list
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cranaghan, Ballyconnell, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballyconnell
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Luxurious stay in a top class hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed in the slieve russell hotel in jan for 2 nights b&b with afternoon tea included.. we upgraded to a fab superior room overlooking the golf course for just 40 euro.. well worth it. Pool area was very nice as was d food

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am delighted to read your positive comments regarding your room, pool and food. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Slieve Russell in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    203
    72
    29
    18
See reviews for
199
368
6
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Was in Slieve Russell before Christmas and had a terrific stay. No complaints whatsoever, facilities, food and staff excellent. The buffet breakfast was the best i ever had.Despite the fact that there was 2 weddings taking place, they didn't interfere at all with our enjoyment . Particularly loved the setting and walks in the grounds and even the weather was nice! I cant wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am delighted to read your kind comments regarding food, facilities and staff. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Busy hotel, well maintained and great food. When we arrived on the Friday there appeared to be two weddings taking place, the reception area was extremely busy and the restaurant and bar that evening very busy. Book a table for restaurant when booking hotel - that's what we did.

Played golf next morning, again book slot on 18 hole course beforehand - you can do this online. Men played 18 hole, said it was in excellent condition, we played Par 3 which was included in deal. Beautiful morning and Par 3 was quiet, so we had a lovely round. Pool and Spa area was very busy all weekend, there seemed to be lots of families, which put us off going to the pool, but we had a great weekend and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your wonderful review and I am delighted to read your positive comments regarding the grounds, staff, bar and food. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Slieve Russell in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlaoise, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Absolutely fantastic hotel and everyone of the staff were exceptional. The atmosephere in the hotel was so welcoming, warm & relaxed, we were there for 2 nights B&B & Dinner and we would easily have stayed for another 5 nights!!
Have since booked my parents into the Slieve Russel for 3 nights B&B & 2D's they absolutely loved it....This place is a classic!!
The hotel grounds are beautiful and the attention to detail is superb. All the staff appear to really enjoy their job and are so friendly without being in your face. Reception & bar areas have so many huge comfy sofa's in front of fireplaces that are just calling you to sit down and chill out.
The food in both restaurants & the bar is fantastic, with a great variety. Definately one of my top 3 hotels in Ireland if not the best!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your wonderful review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. I thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff, grounds, food and atmosphere. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor Co Down
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed the weekend in the Slieve Russell in a superior room. Check in was friendly,fast and efficient. Room was lovely and spacious , beautiful views over the golf course and grounds. The bottled water and chocolates were a nice touch. Bathroom was good with separate shower and Elemis toiletries. Kells bar and the two restaurants had great food and service. This is a nice hotel for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: Superior room is worth it for the views and outdoor terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am delighted to read your kind comments regarding check in, your bedroom, food and service. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights midweek with my wife. It was a fantastic hotel from start to finish. The room was great and the food either in Setanta restaurant or in the bar was delicious. Try the caesar or duck salad from the bar menu. Every member of staff was excellent. We were there for a birthday trip and they even had a birthday card waiting in the room on arrival. The small touches make it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am delighted to read that you and your wife enjoyed your time with us. I thank you for your kind comments regarding the food in the Setanta Restaurant and the bar. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were two of almost 30 family members who stayed at the hotel for a 50th anniversery celebration and we had the best time immaginable. The hotel is lovely, the grounds are beautiful and the course looked great (it was too wet to play on these mid-February days). From the sauna and pool to the exercise room to the dining facilities, the experience was magical. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am delighted your family chose the Slieve Russell to host their special 50th anniversary celebration. I am pleased to read your kind comments regarding the grounds, golf course, leisure facilities and food. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club

Address: Cranaghan, Ballyconnell, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Ballyconnell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballyconnell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Slieve Russell Hotel Golf & Country Club is a top quality four-star hotel. Set in 300 acres, including 50 acres of lakes, the resort offers a unique experience in relaxation and leisure. Facilities include 222 stylish bedrooms, a world-class spa, excellent conference and banqueting facilities, along with a magnificent leisure centre. Enhancing the facilities is a superb 18-hole championship golf course, in a survey of Irish Parkland Courses, was ranked at number twelve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slieve Russell Hotel And Country

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.