We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Bar

Harbour Bar
Lower Main Street, Rush, Ireland
8438937
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Rush
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Friendly neighborhood pub with excellent food. Traditional Irish dishes as well as seafood and steak.
Skerries, Ireland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My sister took me here for a birthday lunch. It was a lovely experience, we sat near a beautiful real fire and ordered great fresh cod and chips with salad, and a little treat of gorgeous bread and butter pudding for afters. Mmmmh, delicious. Staff serving were very attentive. Very enjoyable

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    25
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“Go there hungry and on the night of a music session !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The name of the Harbour Bar may not conjure up an image of exactly what it is.Here it is greater than the sum of its parts. It comprises of what might be referred to as 'the public bar', another bar that could possibly be referred to as a 'lounge bar' and yet another that could be referred to a 'the restaurant' but of course it fits none of these descriptions. It is much more.

The staff, which is mostly family, are chatty and friendly with reasonably priced drink given their proximity to their over-priced neighbours in Dublin.

It is their kitchen that I must refer to. If you can handle an 8oz steak then you can have a great meal for little over 15 euro's but if you are brave try their Irish T Bone steal , all 18 ounces of it, for 25 euro's it is a feast. I need say no more than this restaurant specialises in excellent steak and fish meals, though not exclusively these, at very respectable prices.

The drone of uileann pipes arrested my attention as I finished my meal as the music session began in the 'public bar'. Up to ten musicians battered out traditional music with the occasional song until the landlord brought down the lights. My advice is go there hungry and make it a thursday night for the music session !

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“we'll be back........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Good menu,especially great chicken wings, caeser salad was excellent, house specials, fresh fish, good food, good service with a smile, we'll be back....

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“" A dining experience to enjoy and remember!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Outstanding dining experience! The service was local and just amazing. The food was very fresh, very tasty and very well presented. Try it, you will love it!!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very good place !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Fish and seafood are very excellent. There is a large choice of fish, seafood, pastas, meats and other things. Desserts are excellent and plentiful.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour Bar also viewed

 

Been to Harbour Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.