We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Clos de la Barre

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Basly
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Clos de la Barre
Save
You added Le Clos de la Barre to your Saves list
10, Place de L'Eglise, 14610 Basly, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Basly B&B and Inns
Endwell, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Superb Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

First, I should say that we arrived weary and with some laundry from our previous touring. Alain and his wife took our laundry, insisted that seeing Normandy does not involve laundry, and shooed us on our first amazing tour as he washed our clothes! Enough said but that was just the tip of our amazing stay. The breakfasts are scrumptious, think hot coffee, homemade jam, and flaky croissants, need I say more? As you eat Alain will plan your day for you catered exactly to what you would like to see in Normandy. Not sure? Just let him plan a day for you and you will experience more than you ever thought possible. The rooms are immaculately clean and the bathrooms are wonderfully updated. The small town of Basly is charming and Alain, of course, can give you an excellent recommendation for dinner each night. Highly recommend for a great place to stay and an amazing tour guide that is extremely knowledgeable and passionate about Normandy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed in the Loft for a week and could have stayed a month. Alain and Francoise are very gracious hosts, and gave us lots of good tips about things to see and do and places to eat.Basly is central to the D-Day beaches, Caen and Bayeux. The Clos will be our first choice the next time we go to Normandy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay at this excellent B & B. Our family used the three rooms on the first floor and liked the continental breakfast. Our hosts were welcoming and helpful, to include being very accommodating of our late first night arrival. We found the location very convenient for touring the area and think that the proximity to Caen is a plus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The b&b is located in a very nice square with a beautiful old church.
The house is nice and the rooms are really wonderful. Alain is really helpful and he gave to us a bigger room at the same price (it was a lovely room but also the small one was nice). The rooms and the bathrooms had all confort that you need.
The breakfast was good with made home jams and cakes. During the breakfast Alain gave to us a lot of suggestion to visit the beaches and he was also really prepared to give information for the visit we will plan for the following days. he gave to us discount tickets for tourist visits.
Really good place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Only stayed 1 night on our way back to the ferry after travelling a week around Normandy. Was amazed by the size of 'The Loft' - the 30 steps to the top is worthwhile for the accommodation that if on offer! King size bed, a twin room and huge living area including kitchen and dining room, 2 toilets and a fantastic shower room. Really comfortable night's sleep and wonderful breakfast next morning. Only 20 minutes from the ferry and really good location for people wishing to visit the war graves. Host has excellent English and helpful with a good sense of humour.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Stayed here in July of '11 for three nights with my older son while we toured Normandy. Alain and his wife were most gracious. The accomodations were excellent. We stayed in the Rose room, which was very spacious, with a very large bathroom/shower/tub. Alain was very helpful with suggestions for our touring of the Normandy beaches and landing sites, and gave us maps to complement our GPS. He also made dinner reservations for us in a nearby coastal town after our long journey to the B&B, which was most appreciated. We loved our stay, and I plan to return in the Summer of '12 with my wife and both sons to tour the sites again, then continue on to London for the Olympics. Highly recommend staying here for a great value, friendly ownership, clean and comfortable accomodations, and beautiful surroundings. And if you speak English only, Alain and his wife speak perfect english, so you have nothing to worry about :-)

Room Tip: The Rose room is perfect for a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed here with my partner, and another couple in July 2011 and it was just the perfect venue for a weekend getaway, with the added bonus of being affordable. Stayed in the Orchid room which is beautifully decorated and spacious. Our friends stayed in a smaller room (Poppy) which overlooks the flowery garden. Breakfast, although very continental was served in the dining room, with Alain as a great host. He is very knowledgeable on the area's local history and WWII sites. It is a must visit B&B that will not disappoint!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Clos de la Barre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos de la Barre

Address: 10, Place de L'Eglise, 14610 Basly, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Basly
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Basly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a small village, 5km from the sea, north of Caen, in the middle of all touristic sites and D-Day beaches.Newly renovated farm with five bedrooms en suites and a 70sqm² appartement of two bedrooms. Complete confort: Bathrobe, hairdryer,very good mattresses, separate entrance and large living room for our guests with television, library and music. Breakfast is included in all prices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Clos De La Barre France/Basly

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Clos de la Barre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.