We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be scared by the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort La Latte

Fort La Latte
22240 Plevenon, France
+33 (0) 296 41 57 11
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Plevenon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Don't be scared by the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We made it there, it's in a very nice location, but balked at the 15 euro or so that was the cost. But if you join one of the guided tours (no additional cost - but in French only) that go on hourly or so, you get all the historical aspects of the visit. In the end, we were glad to have paid and gone. If you like historical sites, you'll get something out of it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    97
    17
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forest of Dean, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great castle with coastal views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Very quiet & relaxed cafe near the car park, fab ice creams but we didn't enjoy the ecological loos! Lovely walk to the castle & I especially enjoyed the way that the view opened up bit by bit. Bit of a wait to pay & go in as there was a staff change over - but this was explained to us. I so wish that I had done a bit of homework as I have watched that Kirk Douglas/Tony Curtis Vikings film so many times. The castle gardens were delightful & we all enjoyed exploring. The walk (almost) to the very top was well worth it. I would advise keeping a close eye on young children as the castle has not been ruined by barriers & warnings. We went to a fabulous sandy beach nearby - great day.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Best fort that we have ever been to - great beaches nearby also. Very atmospheric but not for those with vertigo!!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fun Day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Fort La Latte was a great day out. We took our two toddlers there and it was lovely to walk around the old castle and see the wonderful view out to sea. I would recommend a visit.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not to be Missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We visited Cap Frehel, which even in deep fog was worth it. But, a short distance away is Fort la Latte, built on a small peninsula with stunning views in virtually every direction. Touring the Fort is a fun and education adventure. We had several good surprises on our two and a half week trip in northern France, but this turned out to be one of the best. We strongly recommend it.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort La Latte also viewed

Saint-Brieuc, Cotes-d'Armor
Dinan, Cotes-d'Armor
 
Cancale, Ille-et-Vilaine
Plevenon, Cotes-d'Armor
 

Been to Fort La Latte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort La Latte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.