We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque and Peaceful, a lovely day out.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glendalough Monastic Settlement

Glendalough Monastic Settlement
Visitor Centre, Ireland
0404/45325
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Type: Historic Sites, Religious Sites, Architectural Buildings
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This historic site, whose Gaelic name translates to “valley of the two lakes,” consists of the 6th-century monastery founded by St. Kevin and the famous round tower, standing 112 feet high with a base measuring 52 feet in circumference. Visitors: There is a car park at the Visitor Centre. It is recommended to see the informational video at the Visitor Centre before starting your explorations.
Galway
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Picturesque and Peaceful, a lovely day out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The sun was shining and the birds were singing happily as we strolled along the wonderful walkways in Glendalough. The place was packed with tourists enjoying the good weather. Everywhere you look there is magnificent scenery; hard to describe you will have to visit it yourself. Don't forget to check out the visitors centre first. A wonderful day so don't forget to drop in if you are in the area.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    94
    13
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

went hear a year ago, only 50 min drive and wow, stunning place, have been back several and never ceases to amaze me every time

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Will return, a very special place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've never been to Glendalough despite living only an hour from it. With the weather warm and some friends in the car off we went for a Sunday drive and lunch.

The scenery up to it ( from Kilkenny ) is all mountains and rather barren looking. As we came into Glendalough, we noticed it getting prettier. The green area at the entrance way to the loch and Monastic site is kept really clean. Lots of picnics taking place when we were there. As well as dogs and children chasing balls ! The landscape just becones you in. We went walking and loved it. The Monastic settlement is mystical looking. With it's ruins and ancient graves. Its a great place to visit for a day out. We would definitely return.

A comment - I appreciate it is a Monastic site. I witnessed quite a few elderly people struggling to get up and down the steps. I felt it desperately needs a hand rail.
The toilets were locked and it wasn't even six o'clock, it was really busy. With so many cars in the car park and children around, people had travelled to get there, i'm sure a few of them would need the toilet before they left on there journey home.
After enjoying our walk around and with a journey of over an hour to get home.
Six of us left with our legs crossed !

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunboyne, Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A must see attraction, and keep going back for more....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I live in Ireland and haven't visit Glendalough for along time. It's a special place to visit. We skipped the visitor centre as our urge to walk through the landscape took over. Fantastic walking paths, our kids loved it and already we are planning to go back. Extraordinary landscape views and the history of the monastery. We only planned for a few hours, but we could have spent the day there easily. I am sure there are guided walks and visitor centre has all the info, but the landscape and lake walks just pulled us outside to enjoy the sunshine and nature. Only comment would be that the parking arrangements could be better. Visitor centre doesn't provide any teas or coffees, and there is none inside the park, so I suggest they might consider something to make money to keep the park in the great condition it is in. There is a hotel nearby and is very busy. A must see visit if you are in Ireland for the first time, and also go back if you haven't been for a while.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful, well maintained, and drenched in history.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Monastic Settlement is beautiful, a remnant of a bygone era of simpler times and a different way of life. The mountains are a beautiful setting for the settlement, and it is easy to see why people would have chosen to live here.

The buildings are relatively well maintained (for ruins) and are easy to navigate. Get there early because the place becomes a madhouse before noon.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glendalough Monastic Settlement also viewed

Glendalough Village, Vale of Glendalough
Enniskerry, County Wicklow
 

Been to Glendalough Monastic Settlement? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glendalough Monastic Settlement, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Glendalough Monastic Settlement to your Saves list