We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New York style in the Caribbean ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tonys Pizza

Tonys Pizza
Carr 129 Km 34.3 Cuchi, Arecibo 00612, Puerto Rico
787 880 1117
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 28 Restaurants in Arecibo
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Oxnard, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“New York style in the Caribbean ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Great pizza, very authentic! No specials though for newcomers to try. Easy ordering over the phone, only 20 min wait for carry out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    5
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Day dreaming of this pizza! Planning to return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I was visiting some places in PR with a local resident who took me to this place, saying I won't regret having Tony's Pizza. He was right. Tony's can compete with the best of New York's Pizza and come out on top. Their pizza is made to perfection. The crust, flavorful toppings of your choice and the choices are many. I'm still in PR at the time of this writing and I plan to go back and bring others with me. Gotta share -

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This place is a local institution, more than 30 years in business and still serving the best pizza in the area. This is the closest you can get to NY style pizza outside the tri-state area. I would make the hour long trip any day of the week just for a slice. They serve big, thin slices of happiness. The place itself isn't fancy but cozy with an insane view of the ocean. It's a family friendly place with lots of space.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Me encanta!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Me fascina la pizza de aqui! Definitivamente rica. Buena masa, rica salsa. Todo sabe brutal. Y los precios son buenos...

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arecibo, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“This is the best pizza in the whole area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Ok - you have heard it before, it sounds a cliche, but this is really the best pizza in the region!. There is no ther pizza like this in Arecibo (there is another Tony Pizza World in road no. 2 in Arecibo use to be owned by the family; is very good but I like better the original place). This is a thin pizza and is available in dozens of combinations, even before Domino had their steak pizza this place had it about 30 years ago. The place is clean, comfortable, the crew is very nice and work fast. They have a bar inside but now they built an addendum with pool tables, music, and bar that is used by people who hangs out for a drink. My favorite is chorizo and onions but anything tastes great. I don't do carry-out because the only way to have this pizza is immediately out of the oven. It's crunchy, melted cheese, not to much salsa. They also have homemade tembleque (coconut desert) that is very good. Beers are always cold. I enjoy bringing people and no one had ever disagree with me that this pizza is awesome. They also have lasagna, spagetthis, and filet mignon that is also outstanding. The pizza is so good that is difficult to come an order meat! Actually this is the place I come with my wife every February 14.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tonys Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Tonys Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tonys Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.