We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Arecibo Lighthouse & Historical Park

Arecibo Lighthouse & Historical Park
Carr 655 Bo. | Islote Sector el Muelle, Arecibo, Puerto Rico
787-880-7540
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 10 things to do in Arecibo
Attraction details
Clifton Park, New York
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

I paid $30 for my son, grandson and I to enter. There us a small knee deep pool with fountains and a couple of slides. The deep half of the pool is reserved for little boats you can ride in. This is the main attraction as the other things in the park (replicas of the Nina and Pinta) are basically boring structures you can look at. Like a 5 year old can appreciate that. There us an old village replica...again so? There are platforms with stairs and slides which was very fun for our 3 yr old. The animal section is so lame it should be eliminated. It us NOT a petting zoo. We didn't get up the hill to see the lighthouse because again a 3 yr old can't be enticed away from the water. Bottom line us if you don't want to go to the beach but you want to play in water, thus might be ok. Oh, as for good, I saw a drinks vending machine but nothing else. And if you park in the parking lot its another $5.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    29
    37
    19
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Georgia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Arecibo Lighthouse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a very good place to go if you have kids traveling with you. They have an aquarium, small zoo, and playground with bumper boats. The top of the lighthouse offers beautiful views of the northern part of the island.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
private
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful breath taking views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Peaceful, Super Clean, Friendly Staff, and Reasonable price for entrance. Kids had a blast at the splash area, and playground. Aquarium is little but adorable, the cave is scary but fun.....Had a great day!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Overpriced and lame, even with kids”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

What a waste of money! We'd hoped this park would break up the monotony of a long drive and allow our 4-year-old to have some time outside. It did, but at the price we paid it left a bad taste in our mouths. Two hefty adult admissions, child ticket, plus a parking fee.

The playground contains swings and other standard items. The ship replicas hold a kid's interest for about 30 seconds, and provide little to no historical information. The zoo was as sad as they come, with a few chickens, a rabbit and a grumpy donkey. The water play area was nice but small and nothing special.

The view is great and the lighthouse attractive, but at this price, keep driving.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Go for the light - the rest is manufactured history”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

The saviours of the light which had been severely vandalized have added a hodge podge of dubious items of historic interest. Playground style Nina,pints, and Santa Maria provide climbing and picture ops. The aquarium contains good specimens but first you must pass through a haunted house style pirates cave with motion sensor triggered "spooky" utterances.
December is not their high season and the zoo comprised of a parrot, donkey, and a couple of chickens does not satisfy. Ther is ample parking. The gentleman in the pirate gift shop was helpful even though his wares were not worth a second look.
The clime to the light is on a medium grade asphalt trail. At the light a recurring loop of descriptors in English and Spanish plays constantly.
There is a sash park for kids but there were no kids or attendants when I visited

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arecibo Lighthouse & Historical Park also viewed

Arecibo, Puerto Rico
 
Arecibo, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Arecibo Lighthouse & Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arecibo Lighthouse & Historical Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.