We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just bautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bougainvillea

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bougainvillea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bougainvillea
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 m Oeste de la Escuela Publica de Santo Tomas, Santo Domingo de Heredia 11-3100, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Eschen, Liechtenstein
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just bautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

a beautiful place with the nicest garden I ever saw. The rooms are beautiful and the food is excellent. Staff is very friendly and competent. The location is quiet and the center of San José can be reached within 10 minutes by car.

Room Tip: on the road side you see the volcano and on the other the garden, which is really nice and more quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    282
    108
    16
    5
    0
See reviews for
102
133
12
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Hotel Bougainvillea is a very special place. They are located in the Santo Domingo de Heredia foothills. We had a fantastic stay here. The entire staff was very friendly and courteous. They went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable and well cared for.

All the amenities including; Restaurant, Gym, Pool, Rooms, Wi-Fi, Gift Shop, all A++ as far as I’m concerned.

The hotel restaurant has excellent menu selection, service and presentation. Many locals eat here on weekends and the hotel is always hosting special events.

The beautiful gardens that surround and extend out to the back of the hotel are a MUST see for an experience you won’t forget. Maliciously maintained by a full time staff of eight gardeners. Nature that typifies the term “Pura Vida”

All I can tell you is that we will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back towards gardens are my preference because I like to wake up to the sight and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Hotel Bougainvillea is more than a place to stay during your visit to Costa Rica---it is a destination!. The gardens, staff, dining and the rooms have you planning your next visit before you leave. The Conference Room always seems to have an interesting group. We have talked to "birders" including a couple from London, an interesting meeting of biologists, even the National Soccer Team of Mexico (Costa Rica won). A couple we had seen there previously asked "How long have you been coming here? My husband replied 15 years. "Got you beat by a couple of years" said the couple from Kansas". So if you are there in October say Hello. Hope our next trip there can be soon. Betty and Don from Texas

Room Tip: Garden Rooms have best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallkill, New York
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I wanted to end my 10 day trip in the Cloud Forest with a stay closer to the airport and chose the Bougainvillea because I love photographing flowers and that hotel's gardens made up my mind for me.

The room was beautiful and the terrace huge. I didn't care for the restaurant but I usually don't care for that type of dining and prefer smaller, local eateries. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Everything about the property was first class. One caveat however...

If you book a room, try to get one garden side. Standing on the terrace in the evening and early morning hearing traffic and cars pulling up to the hotel and people waiting for their vehicles and talking took away from the panoramic views of the mountains. The views were great but the noise detracted from the experience. I presume the garden side rooms would have been quieter and listening to the birds rather than the buses would have been my preference.

Great place and super experience my last couple of days in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Choose a garden side room rather than the mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was the first night of our 10 Day Costa Rica adventure. Stayed here on the recommendation of a travel agency. The hotel was nice. Staff was very friendly, but we arrived at 7:00PM (dark), ate in the restaurant, went to bed and were picked up at 6am the next morning to leave for our next destination. Never saw the pool, gardens, grounds, etc. The restaurant was fairly expensive. Food was good. Our flight landed at 4:30 and by the time we got through customs and started driving we were in "rush hour". I don't know if there are many routes, but most of our route was through a fairly industrial area. It took us over an hour to get to the hotel at this time of night through heavy traffic.

We had to keep our windows open in the room to cool things down and we did awake to motorcycle noise going by in the morning, as well as birds chirping. Luckily we were getting up early, but we were woken up about 5:30am by this noise. If I didn't have to be up, I would be frustrated by that.

Breakfast was included in our rate, but didn't open until 6:30. We had to leave at 6:30am so the woman helping us check in offered to make "to go" breakfast bags which was very helpful and very nice. She checked us in at about 7PM and was there again to hand us our bag at 6:30am. Hard worker! Bags were loaded with various items. Great customer service.

Room Tip: Our room was on the front, facing the parking lot. Heard traffic noise with our windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Amazing gardens, amazingly helpful staff, gorgeous food in the restautant, all near the airport but by no means a bog standard airport. It is the perfect place to rest weary bones and recover from jet lag if you've been travelling for hours.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed here for only one night with my girlfriend the night before leaving Costa Rica. Not only was the hotel beautifully decorated, clean, and friendly, but all the services were great. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious, the back garden was gorgeous. Even the gift shop had reasonably-priced items that are definitely worth a look. This hotel is a great deal and worth your money if you're looking to spend slightly more for comfort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bougainvillea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bougainvillea

Address: 100 m Oeste de la Escuela Publica de Santo Tomas, Santo Domingo de Heredia 11-3100, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Santo Domingo de Heredia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Santo Domingo de Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bougainvillea 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 20 min from the airport / A hotel inside a garden. 10 acres of the most beautiful gardens in Costa Rica. Experience Costa Rica: Come stroll in our beautiful tropical gardens; enjoy the fragrance of Costa Rica's refreshing air. Relax in our cozy rooms and facilities where our friendly staff will be happy to assist you! Enjoy our country, stay at Bougainvillea: A hotel inside a garden. Restaurant, bar/lounge. Indulge your appetite at our restaurant and bar, which offers a delicious fusion of international and local cuisine. The tasteful decoration of our restaurant compliments our personalized service. Enjoy a view of our gardens which sets the perfect backdrop for an enjoyable breakfast, lunch, dinner, or afternoon tea. Other amenities include complimentary wireless internet access and free parking. Balconies: Take a moment to notice all the beautiful details that the nature offers to you in our balconies with a mountain or garden view. Green mountains, colored tropical flowers and energetic hummingbirds will welcome you to Costa Rica! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Bougainvillea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Hotel
Hotel Bougainvillea Costa Rica/Province Of Heredia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bougainvillea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.