We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bougainvillea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bougainvillea to your Saves list
Hotel Bougainvillea
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 m Oeste de la Escuela Publica de Santo Tomas, Santo Domingo de Heredia 11-3100, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Simply fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed here for only one night with my girlfriend the night before leaving Costa Rica. Not only was the hotel beautifully decorated, clean, and friendly, but all the services were great. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious, the back garden was gorgeous. Even the gift shop had reasonably-priced items that are definitely worth a look. This hotel is a great deal and worth your money if you're looking to spend slightly more for comfort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    113
    16
    5
    0
See reviews for
111
146
14
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irmo, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel for one week for a business training seminar I was leading. The hotel service, clenliness and hospitality exceeded my expections. The real bonus were the gardens which I will bring my wife back in the fuure to experience. Overall a great experience

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were visiting Costa Rican friends who live in San Rafael, so we chose this hotel because it was closer to them than San Jose. We were very impressed by the gardens-- our friends told us that this hotel is known throughout Costa Rica for its gardens, and Ticos (Costa Ricans) will stop there to have coffee and take pictures. You can see all kinds of beautiful bromeliads and orchids, as well as humming birds and butterflies. Inside, there is also an interesting collection of rocks that have been gathered from different parts of the country. The decorative tile and wood interior gives an elegant presentation.

Regarding the location, Sto. Domingo is a suburb of San Jose. San Jose has A LOT of traffic during rush hour, so keep that in mind if you need to get to the airport and be sure to allow extra time. Personally, we're not big fans of the city, so we enjoyed being "off the main drag" a bit. Also, the hotel is in a gated area in the town (not in the country), but it's a large area so we did not hear any traffic or other noises. Our room faced the gardens, and we had a very nice view.

The room was spacious and clean. The breakfast buffet was plentiful, and the gift shop was reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Be sure to check their website to see if there are any promotions-- if you don't ask, they won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was the biggest hotel we stayed in Costa Rice with ~80 rooms but set in several acres of garden with a pool, sauna and 2 tennis courts. The room was spacious and well appointed, and the staff friendly and helpful. It was not too far from San Jose centre so the taxi journey was not too expensive, but it is also well placed for the airports and yet in a quiet, safe suburb.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed at the hotel in June 2013 during a photo tour to Costa Rica. The hotel is located in a nice and quiet residential neighborhood about 15-20 minutes from downtown San Jose. Taking a cab to the city is simple and fast, and prices are reasonable (make sure you pay in colones not usd).
I stayed at the hotel twice (at the beginning and the end of the trip) so had two different rooms. Both were very spacious and clean with comfortable beds, good shower and a nice balcony overlooking the garden. The only thing I would change in the room is the carpet. It was not old or dirty or anything, but I generally prefer wooden floors or tiles, especially in tropical countries.
The garden is truly amazing and very well maintained, make sure you have some time to explore it. There are numerous tropical flowers and plants, butterflies, birds and frogs that can be found. The frogs are somewhat hard to find during the day, but if you go to one of the ponds around dusk you should get lucky and find some rare species such as the blue-sided leaf frog.
I also had breakfast and dinner at the restaurant a few times and found that the quality of the food was very good. Fruits and salad were fresh and there were lots of healthy options including fish. The service was simply excellent - one of the waiters even remembered my name when I came back two weeks after my first stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigaste
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Beautiful grounds, lobby, restaurant and rooms. Very helpful staff.

Not really convenient to downtown San Jose.

Fantastic trips arranged from the hotel:-

- The Volcano and Hot springs is a must!
- The Rain Forest cable car is over an hour hanging in the trees!

$25 Taxi ride to hotel (2013)

The rooms were well presented, spacious. The gardens are extensive, full of birds and butterflies, varied, and wonderfully maintained with viewing platforms. The garden was the most relaxing stimulating beautiful place to get any work done as there was WiFi and plenty of places to sit.

Bird feeders in front of the restaurant at breakfast provided constant entertainment.

An excellent way to be introduced to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are slightly quieter as there is a slight incline on the road outside and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
553 helpful votes 553 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

However I stayed few years back in this property for two weeks due to work at Nacional University Heredia but wanted to share my experience.

Location :

Excellent, bit away from city hence the surrounding is peaceful and beautiful.

Rooms:

Very spacious, clean and tidy.

Service:

Excellent, staff is very polite and speaks English and Spanish.

Food:

I enjoyed there breakfast buffet which was healthier, tastier and got variety. I enjoyed there cheese omelette.

Garden:

I believe there garden is very beautiful, I was amazed to see the variety of flowers and plants at their garden. Simply mind boggling.

Swimming pool:

clean and well maintained

Overall the hotel is one of the finest places to stay whether with family or solo.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms with garden view is the best choice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bougainvillea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bougainvillea

Address: 100 m Oeste de la Escuela Publica de Santo Tomas, Santo Domingo de Heredia 11-3100, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Santo Domingo de Heredia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santo Domingo de Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bougainvillea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 20 min from the airport / A hotel inside a garden. 10 acres of the most beautiful gardens in Costa Rica. Experience Costa Rica: Come stroll in our beautiful tropical gardens; enjoy the fragrance of Costa Rica's refreshing air. Relax in our cozy rooms and facilities where our friendly staff will be happy to assist you! Enjoy our country, stay at Bougainvillea: A hotel inside a garden. Restaurant, bar/lounge. Indulge your appetite at our restaurant and bar, which offers a delicious fusion of international and local cuisine. The tasteful decoration of our restaurant compliments our personalized service. Enjoy a view of our gardens which sets the perfect backdrop for an enjoyable breakfast, lunch, dinner, or afternoon tea. Other amenities include complimentary wireless internet access and free parking. Balconies: Take a moment to notice all the beautiful details that the nature offers to you in our balconies with a mountain or garden view. Green mountains, colored tropical flowers and energetic hummingbirds will welcome you to Costa Rica! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bougainvillea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Hotel
Hotel Bougainvillea Costa Rica/Province Of Heredia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bougainvillea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.