We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The gardens are beautiful, but that's it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bougainvillea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bougainvillea to your Saves list
Hotel Bougainvillea
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 m Oeste de la Escuela Publica de Santo Tomas, Santo Domingo de Heredia 11-3100, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Heredia, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The gardens are beautiful, but that's it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

If you want a hotel with beautiful gardens, this is a great one for you. Otherwise the rooms are old, the a/c 20 yrs old, carpets in my room had holes and overall was not very clean. The service is poor, the food lousy, and on top of that pricey. The pool was nice because I was the only one there, but I can't imagine a weekend there with more than 3 others. I'm amazed to see the reviews, because even when people point out all the bad things, they still say they liked it. I guess if I would have camped out in the gardens, then the gardens would have said it made u for all the other bad things, but this is a hotel, not a park! Costa Rica has MANY good hotels for the same price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBougainvillea45, Director General at Hotel Bougainvillea, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We are quite surprised to read your review and would like to know more about your visit with us. Our restaurant is well known for excellent food, professional service, and reasonable prices – and is enjoyed not only by our hotel guests but also hundreds of our neighbors from Heredia such as yourself. Our maintenance and cleaning staff are outstanding, and – on the rare occasions that problems are brought to our attention – address whatever concerns arise rapidly and effectively. Many of our employees have worked with us for 20 or 30 years, having demonstrated a solid commitment to giving every Bougainvillea hotel and restaurant guest an outstanding experience. They are proud of the hotel’s reputation, and we are immensely proud of them.
If you are amenable, could you please share with us more information about your visit? We have no record of any complaints similar to yours. We have no air conditioners (old or new), and we are unaware of carpets with holes in them. Living as close to us as you do, your overnight stay here may have been for a special event – and we would like to find out why it was not as special as it should have been. If you would like, please let us know via private e mail your room number and the date of your stay so we can look into the issues you raise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    115
    16
    5
    0
See reviews for
113
149
14
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hutto, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were on a large family (14) vacation, and this was our first stop in Costa Rica.
I loved walking the garden areas with my wife and taking pictures and observing the variety of foliage. The room was wonderful, and the patio balcony that looked out over the garden made for a great early morning view. Coming from Texas, I'm not used to no A/C...but the ceiling fan and cool air coming through the patio door was perfect.
The gift store is very nice with some unique treasures (and I'm not normally a fan of hotel gift stores).
Breakfast was memorable. I will say it was the best pineapple juice I've ever had, and the watermelon juice was also wonderful.
The teens enjoyed the pool and the workout facility.
Just a lovely and friendly place!

Room Tip: Don't know what the "other side" looks like, but the garden view rooms are incredible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My first impression of Costa Rica was this beautiful hotel! The garden area is absolutely stunning. The rooms were roomy. The lack of air conditioning was not even an issue in the summer time because the cool breeze coming through the window and the ceiling fans adequately cooled the rooms to a comfortable level.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at the hotel on the recommendation of our tour guide, but it was the least favorite hotel for the whole trip. The Hotel grounds are quite nice with 10 acres of gardens to walk through, but that wasn't enough to offset a lousy restaurant. The prices were high even for hotel standards and the food quality poor. Several of the items on the menu were out for the night, even though it wasn't late. The server didn't know the menu, but had a bit of attitude. The food quality was poor. Breakfast the next morning wasn't any better. Unfortunately the hotel is in a residential area, so not a lot of other choices. The 'mountain view' room had a nice tree outside the third floor balcony, but no view otherwise. The road noise was quite loud all night long. Compared to the other places we stayed it didn't have the personal service, just a generic hotel.

Room Tip: mountain view rooms save $10 or so, but you'll hear traffic all night long
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBougainvillea45, Director General at Hotel Bougainvillea, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing Bougainvillea for your recent stay. We certainly try to provide the best service to all our guests and we are sorry to hear we were not able to deliver this during your stay. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced, we would have been glad to hear from you while you were staying in the hotel so we could make amends at that time.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and are actively working on the different issues you named.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I've stayed here twice, and both times it was the perfect place to be. Comfortable, quiet, great food, lovely grounds. The pool is a little cold, but that is probably true for any outdoor pool in the areas surrounding San Jose. I loved getting food delivered poolside, though. Best place to stay for a relaxing (yet fun) environment. This may be a better fit for someone with a car or taking taxis, and not as convenient for someone on foot.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was clean and rooms relatively spacious. Beautiful gardens to walk through or sit and relax. Guest shop had some nice goods win reasonable prices. Meals in restaurant were so-so - not worth the price.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I spent our last night in Costa Rica here before flying out the next morning. It's the perfect spot if you don't want to go into downtown San Jose and prefer something a little off the beaten path. The grounds are beautiful. Our room (a standard double) was spacious and had a great little balcony with a nice view of the valley. We enjoyed it and would go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bougainvillea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bougainvillea

Address: 100 m Oeste de la Escuela Publica de Santo Tomas, Santo Domingo de Heredia 11-3100, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Santo Domingo de Heredia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santo Domingo de Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bougainvillea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 20 min from the airport / A hotel inside a garden. 10 acres of the most beautiful gardens in Costa Rica. Experience Costa Rica: Come stroll in our beautiful tropical gardens; enjoy the fragrance of Costa Rica's refreshing air. Relax in our cozy rooms and facilities where our friendly staff will be happy to assist you! Enjoy our country, stay at Bougainvillea: A hotel inside a garden. Restaurant, bar/lounge. Indulge your appetite at our restaurant and bar, which offers a delicious fusion of international and local cuisine. The tasteful decoration of our restaurant compliments our personalized service. Enjoy a view of our gardens which sets the perfect backdrop for an enjoyable breakfast, lunch, dinner, or afternoon tea. Other amenities include complimentary wireless internet access and free parking. Balconies: Take a moment to notice all the beautiful details that the nature offers to you in our balconies with a mountain or garden view. Green mountains, colored tropical flowers and energetic hummingbirds will welcome you to Costa Rica! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bougainvillea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Hotel
Hotel Bougainvillea Costa Rica/Province Of Heredia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bougainvillea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.