We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a return to place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bougainvillea

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bougainvillea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Bougainvillea
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 m Oeste de la Escuela Publica de Santo Tomas, Santo Domingo de Heredia 11-3100, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Crete, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Definitely a return to place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The accommodations were excellent. The garden is exquisite, breath-taking, and very relaxing. One could probably stroll for hours just taking in the beautiful scenery. There was a balcony attached to the room which overlooked the garden and you can go out and sit and have a morning cup of coffee. I was there as part of a photography workshop and took so many beautiful pictures.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    259
    101
    16
    5
    0
See reviews for
95
122
9
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

What a lovely hotel hidden away in a beautiful garden just 20 min. from the San Jose airport in Costa Rica. The staff were great, the resturant excellent. No aircondioning, but the ceiling fan was all we needed in the mountains. Each room has a balcony with a pretty view of the mountains. Their gift shop was excellent with many treasures less expensive than many of the shops for tourists. They also sold postage stamps a bonus for this grandma :] A very enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

I always stay here when I visit Costa Rica. The pool area is nice. The gardens are fabulous and extremely well kept. The rooms are comfy. No air con needed. The nice cool weather in Heredia suffices at night. The restaurant is good but not for foodies. Also if you're used to 4-5 star accommodations and are particular about things then this may not be the place for you. Don't get me wrong. The staff and cleaning ladies are great, but after staying at 4-5 star places and witnessing how some behave and complain, I would rather steer that crowd elsewhere. No need to venture past the security gate at the entrance on foot. There's nothing around the area. However, I recommend EnBioparque just 10 mins away by car. It's like going to the rainforest without actually having to rough it. Seniors and babies can handle it. The hotel is also great if you are venturing out into the country with quicker access to volcanoes, beaches and rainforests than San Jose. My advice is stay away from San Jose (city area) unless you are going to Hotel Grano de Oro to stay or eat.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My wife and I reserved this hotel for my parents. My parents are older and have strict dietary restrictions. This was the perfect place for them! First, the gardens and the hotel ifself are beautiful. Tranquil, beautiful and comfortable. Also, the service is perfect. The staff treated my parents wonderfully and made many exceptions and changes to meet their needs. And, factoring in the accesible price, this is by far one of the best hotels in the greater San Jose area. Highly recomended!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This hotel was quite nice. The gardens were beautiful and the rooms were comfortable. The beds were quite comfortable. The staff were excellent.

Why I say this place is great for older people is that it was quite quiet and is decorated in a way to appeal to the older generation. The food was less well prepared than most places we ate at as well. I found it to be quite bland and plain. However, I would return with my mother.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was a unique place to stay. The corridors and rooms reminded me of a Holiday Inn type of hotel. It was clean and comfortable. We tried the breakfast buffet, skipped lunch and ate early dinners in the bar around 4pm. The sandwiches, fries and soup were great. We did not get sick at all from the tap water or food in the hotel. The front desk, restaurant and gift shop staff were very nice. The gardens were so pretty. I recommend taking a walk at dusk - the sunset was nice and the lighting allowed for great photos. We also had the tennis courts and pool to ourselves for some of the time. A huge iguana visited us on the tennis courts...LOL. With no air conditioning, we had to keep the windows open at night. There were dogs barking for much of the night and then very early in the morning the school kids (neighboring school) were outside shouting. I had a white noise app on my phone that helped. There was also some sort of loud seminar or corporate event outside during the day. It was a little bit disappointing to go to such a tranquil garden and hear such noises. Overall though, I am glad I saw the gardens and will remember them forever.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the school if you don't want to hear kids at recess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, CA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel is on the outskirts of a nice suburb of San José. It is a 5,000 colones (US $10) taxi ride to downtown San José, and is much more pleasant than staying downtown. It's a beautiful hotel with artwork and huge, lush gardens in the back, big enough to jog in. Or you could swim in the pool or exercise in the gym. It has its own well and the water is safe to drink. The location also makes it easier to travel either east or west (or to the airport) than a downtown San José hotel. If you are tired of the hotel's restaurant, you can walk (20 mins) or take a taxi (US $2) to Santo Domingo where there are plenty of local restaurants. (A good local restaurant we found was La Cazuela on Avenida 2.) Free Internet access. Someone told me this was the best hotel in all of Costa Rica, which I can believe.

Room Tip: Pay an extra US $10 to get a room facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bougainvillea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bougainvillea

Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Hotel
Hotel Bougainvillea Costa Rica/Province Of Heredia
Address: 100 m Oeste de la Escuela Publica de Santo Tomas, Santo Domingo de Heredia 11-3100, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Santo Domingo de Heredia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Santo Domingo de Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bougainvillea 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 20 min from the airport / A hotel inside a garden. 10 acres of the most beautiful gardens in Costa Rica. Experience Costa Rica: Come stroll in our beautiful tropical gardens; enjoy the fragrance of Costa Rica's refreshing air. Relax in our cozy rooms and facilities where our friendly staff will be happy to assist you! Enjoy our country, stay at Bougainvillea: A hotel inside a garden. Restaurant, bar/lounge. Indulge your appetite at our restaurant and bar, which offers a delicious fusion of international and local cuisine. The tasteful decoration of our restaurant compliments our personalized service. Enjoy a view of our gardens which sets the perfect backdrop for an enjoyable breakfast, lunch, dinner, or afternoon tea. Other amenities include complimentary wireless internet access and free parking. Balconies: Take a moment to notice all the beautiful details that the nature offers to you in our balconies with a mountain or garden view. Green mountains, colored tropical flowers and energetic hummingbirds will welcome you to Costa Rica! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Bougainvillea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bougainvillea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.