We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shillingford Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Shillingford Bridge Hotel to your Saves list
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shillingford Hill, Shillingford, Wallingford OX10 8LZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shillingford
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
338 reviews 338 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
778 helpful votes 778 helpful votes
“Big Improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Shillingford Bridge is a place we have often stopped at on a nice sunny day as it is a very pleasant location for a drink by the River Thames and watch the boats go by. Quite frankly, the hotel was a bit of a dump and the service ropey, but the location was worth the effort.

We recently returned and noticed several improvements. The bar and reception areas have clearly been decorated and the two barmen were very helpful. Mrs FB2000 also peeped through a couple of windows of the rooms furthest away from the main building, and reported they looked quite nice.

The one downside was that no attempt was made to collect any of the dead glasses and finished plates from the outside tables by the riverside during the hour plus we were there.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    53
    49
    23
    26
See reviews for
28
90
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights whilst visiting family in the area, it's a really lovely location right on the river, the staff at reception were friendly and helpful, I couldn't really say the same for the staff at breakfast, each morning we waited a minimum of 10 minutes before any staff member appeared to ask if we wanted tea/coffee, most tables were not cleared the entire time we were in the restaurant and it seemed very disorganised. The hot breakfast was not very appetising. Our room was not in the main hotel it was outside near the car park, quite large and reasonably comfortable although not the cleanest and a bit smelly on arrival, the corridor leading to our room 'stunk' of fag smoke as there was a smoking area and bin right outside. The hotel needs some love and attention and general upgrading as it's pretty tired looking. I didn't pay too much for my 3 night stay as I got a deal on groupon, I would not have been happy to pay their full price.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

If you want snow white sheets and towels, a very comfortable bed and good food in a prime location then Shillingford Bridge Hotel is for you. However, steer well clear of room 4. It is at the back of the premises 30 feet from the sheer cliff of woodland. No possibility of sunshine getting anywhere near. We arrived at 3.30pm on a cold day. The room was very cold. No response at all to my request for the heating to be turned on (It came on, just, at 6pm) The water from the shower came out very slowly and alternated hot to cold. Pensioners dodging the extreme temperature changes on the slippery bath beware. We managed, just. I commented on the shower to the receptionist. Her reply was, "Yes, a lot of people have said that". Obviously not very high on the priority list.
Lovely views from the restaurant. The food was good, but service was slow.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front would excellent. Beware of rooms at the back. Dark and cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

2 night stay - friendly, helpful staff. Lovely views, good size room with 4 post bed. Clean and comfortable. However could do with some upgrading - shower not very good.
Excellent snacks and evening steak menu but breakfast could be a lot better.

Room Tip: cornerlarge room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Reception and check-in excellent. Room, spotlessly clean and bed great but decor like stepping back into the 1950/60s. The room is obviously usually a twin room as one of the headboards was still fixed to the wall in its single bed position. The hairdryer is a collectors item but at least it is there. Hot water takes ages to reach the shower and doesn't stay long. Restaurant, leaves much to be desired. The food is average but the service isn't. Staff are all very pleasant but not very efficient. The first night my husband was served with his cold starter and duly waited for my hot starter to arrive; after a while one of the 2 waiters came and asked if everything was ok and my husband said we were waiting for my starter, he went back to his colleague. Time passed, they continued to wait as did we, until another member of staff appeared and came to ask if everything was ok and we again explained that we were still waiting for my starter to arrive. At this point he went into the kitchen while the first waiter came to take my husbands cold starter away 'as it had been standing a while' in due course both starters did arrive, although my husbands appeared to be exactly the same one as had been removed. When the main courses arrived I had to ask for a knife and fork. We decided it couldn't be that bad the next night.......... We were booked for 8.30, got our starters 40 minutes after we sat down with an apology 'I really don't know what the kitchen are doing tonight'. We finished our meal of just 2 courses at 10.00 pm. As I said earlier, the place was spotlessly clean, however, having been out from 9.30 until around 3.00 pm we were disappointed to find that our room had not been serviced, reception explained that they were busy as the hotel was full but would soon get to us. Although staff were very nice, they were difficult to get hold of unless you went In person. On the plus side their wifi is free throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob C, General Manager at Shillingford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was pleased that you felt warmly welcomed on arrival by the reception team. We have investigated the issue you have mentioned in your review about the shower. We found this to be a faulty hose which has now been replaced so apologies for this. I was somewhat disappointed to read your comments surrounding dinner and the service you received. This is an area in which we usually perform very well, I have subsequently discussed with the Front of house and Kitchen team the issues surrounding service on the evenings you have mentioned whereby we have amended the booking schedule to reflect peak periods therefore improving efficiency. On the day you have mentioned that your room was not cleaned until after 3pm, this is simply because we had a nearly full checkout of the hotel followed by a nearly full check-in therefore the priority is to clean the rooms that are arriving that day followed by the cleaning of the current checked in guest bedrooms. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future,

Warm Regards
Rob Carr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A very picturesque setting. Naturally beautiful. Having read the reviews I was a little concerned about our stay. However I was pleasantly surprised. Our room was spacious and well maintained. The only issue we had once was that there was a maintenance issue with hot water, however on calling reception they were already aware of the issue and maintenance we're dealing with it. Breakfast was yummy if you prefer pastries for breakfast you may want to go a little earlier than us which was 9am. The staff were very helpful and friendly nothing was too much bother.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob C, General Manager at Shillingford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was glad to read how much you enjoyed your anniversary with us and how you felt well looked after by our welcoming staff. I was also pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast offering at the hotel, on which we have worked hard to improve the quality and indeed the varsity of selection. We all look forward to seeing you back at the hotel,

Warm Regards
Rob Carr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have just returned from a weekend break at this hotel. Although the hotel rooms are rather dated the hotel itself is really nice. We had room 41 which had a fantastic river view. It overlooked the car park but was extremely quiet. Beds were very comfortable. Tea coffee and biscuits a nice touch. Breakfast was plentiful with a huge choice. We had Sunday lunch and that was very nice and reasonably priced. The staff here are amazing so helpful and friendly. Lorna and Juliana on reception were very nice and helpful. Would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: As above room 41
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob C, General Manager at Shillingford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was glad to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon, I shall pass on your kind comments to both receptionists mentioned in your review. I was also pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast offering at the hotel,

Warm Regards
Rob Carr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shillingford Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shillingford Bridge Hotel

Address: Shillingford Hill, Shillingford, Wallingford OX10 8LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Wallingford > Shillingford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shillingford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shillingford Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Shillingford Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shillingford Bridge Wallingford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shillingford Bridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.