We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bad exspearance” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shillingford Bridge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Shillingford Bridge Hotel to your Saves list
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shillingford Hill, Shillingford, Wallingford OX10 8LZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shillingford
Wallingford, United Kingdom
1 review
“The bad exspearance”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The food was processed sliced turkey for Xmas dinner. Service was super slow. The bar was under staffed. The disco floor was to small. Christmas pudding was like a sponge with a small amount of fruit. Toilets was 1980s .


  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    29
    29
    18
    21
See reviews for
17
49
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A pleasant setting for the hotel and our expectations were high.
The reception advisd that the due to a private function, the level of service from the restaurant would be minimal. This wasnt a problem.

No mention was made of the fact that this function was going to turn the dining area directly below our family room into a full blown night club. Music blasting through into our room for hours on end.

First call to reception was met with an apology and we were advised that the party would finish at 11.00pm and they would turn the music down.
This didnt happen; the party lasted well past mid-night and subsequent calls to reception/ housekeeping/ night porters were unanwered.

All calls into the hotel have since been advised that the general manager is not available and will return our calls as soon as possible. This hasnt happended either.

I absolutely would not recomment this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: The family room (room 35) is above the restaraunt/ bar area. Avoid if you want a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a family room , our stay was such a bad experience our room was located above the entertainment area! At around 8.30 a party started and very loud music blasted for the next 3.5 hours. We rang reception to inform them that the music was to loud and causing a disruption and the children were unable to sleep! They informed us the music would be turned down and the party would stop at 11.30 which did not happen. The music continued to be very loud and the party continued past midnight!
We certainly did not envisage the above when we booked or were given no prior warning to the party taking place! It was sad that we had such an awful experience !

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goring, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we attended the hotel for our Christmas party and the bar had only 2 staff serving with approximately 200 guests all there for their companies xmas parties, which meant waiting for 30 minutes for each to get a drink from the bar.
The meal was even more disappointing. The soup was rank, the pate was not homemade, and the roll that was served with the starter was promptly removed so was not even able to have it to go with the main course. The turkey was dry, the veg of carrots, parsnips, sprouts, and swede were all vastly overcooked and there was too many people for the staff of 4, to cope with.
The puddings were just typical shop brought desserts the crackers were cheap too....overall a very disappointing meal and more staff needed to cope with demand.

Room Tip: beautiful surroundings on the river, but looking tired
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

my partner and I stayed at the hotel while we did some Christmas shopping in Swindon, Oxford and Bicester shopping village. The hotel is located beautifully and looks the business from the outside. Inside we were greeted warmly by staff and located to room 1 with a view of the canal. The room itself is a good size with ensuite and tea making facilities. The food was generally ok and the service was good, on the Saturday night the dining room was not available due to a Christmas party so we had our meal in the bar area. Their were 5 other couples there and we were all so cold that the ladies went up to their respective rooms to put on extra layers. The meal itself was good and the service was as well. In the end we decided to retire early to our room with a bottle of wine where it was a lot warmer. Despite this glitch I would recommend this hotel as it is in a great location.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Looks inch from the outside, but very disappointed by what was luckily a one night stay. Shower didn't work, room was stiflingly hot, and though a good size, just looked tired and outdated.

The menu choice for dinner was extremely poor - about 5 or 6 mains, and all very similar. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked this when working away with work to save myself a lengthy commute. Hadn't looked at reviews, then when I did I had a number of reservations from other reviews, re bad service, poor hygiene, noise etc.

I have to say, my stay at the hotel was fab and thoroughly enjoyable. Reception staff couldn't do enough, my room; although slightly dated in character, was immaculately clean with lovely linen; it was quiet and peaceful.

I happened to coincide my visit with a Christmas party for the local round table; however, this was not an issue, I continued working on my laptop in the bar interrupted only to be asked if I wanted further food or drinks. Very pleasing indeed!

All in all, thoroughly recommended and I had an absolutely lovely stay. Brekkie was absolutely superb.

Highly recommended, all in all!

Room Tip: I was in Room 3 - was fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shillingford Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shillingford Bridge Hotel

Address: Shillingford Hill, Shillingford, Wallingford OX10 8LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Wallingford > Shillingford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shillingford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shillingford Bridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Shillingford Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shillingford Bridge Wallingford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shillingford Bridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.