We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shillingford Bridge Hotel

Save Saved
You added Shillingford Bridge Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shillingford Hill, Shillingford, Wallingford OX10 8LZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Shillingford
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warning”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Please beware this is a great location, the staff are really nice and helpful, but it stops their. The hotel is really tired and in desperate need of tlc, on arrival we had a nice welcome from the receptionist who explained where our room was and welcomed us , we had upgraded to a river room view, and we're charged an extra £15.00 per night for this. We were booked into room 51, which is apparently the best room/bridal suit, and is in fact a bungalow!!, after walking up a unswept walkway and small patio area with weeds growing everywhere we entered the front porch and were greeted with a terrible damp smell, we walked through the next door to a bathroom with jaquzzi bath, but the sink was filthy, we then entered toilet area no 2 where the taps were dripping in the sink, and the walkin shower was cold only, (wife discovered this later). Next was the bed room which was really musty but worst of all the bed sheet did not fit the bed and was not fresh???
It was all creased and obviously had not been changed, the lounge was next and as other advisors have mentioned the furniture would not even be sold in second hand shops it was awful, plus the carpet was filthy and had not even been hoovered. We loaded suitcases back in car and went to reception and complained , the lady was very apolagetic and offered us a complimentary drink at the bar whilst she went and cleaned it?? On reinspection she had done the best she could even spraying fresh air spray to help the smell for an hour, the location is great but the people who run this hotel obviously no how bad the place is and still sell these rooms, if nothing is done soon this place won't survive which would be a shame.

Room Tip: Do not book room 49,50,51 if given these rooms check them out first, the only good thing about them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
9
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

£3.80 for a pint of lemonaid with a dash of lime cordial....need i say more. The hotel is so old fashioned and has basic wooden benches with tables by the river. Great location so they think they can charge excessive amounts but truth be told they pushing way above their weight. Much nicer places to go within Shillingford/Wallingford area. If its a nice rink along the river you want....then go elswhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I decided to treat ourselves for a meal at the hotel after it was advertised on the local radio. It sounded amazing and really looks amazing. The view from the hotel onto the Thames is fantastic especially with the boats travelling up and down the river.

From there it all turned... The hotel entrance is OK but could be so much better. The Bar and Restaurant area seems a bit dull and could have so much more life...

The main disappointment was the food. My wife ordered a medium steak and it was by far the worst steak I have tried in my life. It was completely overcooked, lacked flavor and completely overcooked. My dish was OK but again only OK.

For me the sad part about the place is it could be amazing with some small changes being made, but at present I would not go again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We cannot fault this hotel. It's in a lovely setting, the rooms are clean and tidy and the food is delicious. The staff go out of their way to be helpful and made your stay all the more enjoyable. The fish and chip offer is great value and anywhere you can sit and enjoy a drink whilst overlooking the river gets our vote! Would highly recommend to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dominican republic
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hi stayed here on the 29th and 30th June we had upgraded our room to a river view before we went .when we checked in the receptionist said oh your lucky your in 1 of the bungalows room number 49 DO NOT STAY IN HERE as we opened the door the smell hit you it smelt of vile bad damp musky smell and a cigarette smell although there was no smoking allowed there it was filthy there was a clump of spiders web with dead spiders and flies by the patio doors then I went to open the windows because of the vile smell the window ledges were rotten and black mould there were spiders and cobwebs everywhere and patches of damp the lining of the curtains were ripped on patio door we went to reception and said we were sorry but we could not stay in that room explained why they did not hesitate and gave us the bridal suite room 51 again this still smelt damp and musky but not quite as bad the room was big and had 2bathrooms the furniture looked as if it had came out of the charity shop all stained on the tables ect the settee was threadbare and stunk musky .there was a fridge in the room and there was wedding cake left in the fridge in a box the carpet was filthy and when we got in bed the quilt a and pillows stunk of sweat and musky we had to sleep without it over us the towels were threadbare it was disgusting we could not believe this was there best room the location is spectacular and staff really friendly we did not eat there as we thought if the rooms were filthy what was the kitchens like we have complained to the manager and was told to email him with the photos we took ?... He must know how disgusting these rooms are this was a present and what a disappointment if you want any more info get in touch I can email you photos !!!,!

Room Tip: Get a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cotswolds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just stayed at this hotel with my family and dog for the weekend. Had a lovely room overlooking the river. Yes needed updating but was clean and had everything we needed. We had the special fish and chip offer on the friday night. 2 for £15. We even had this as a takeaway and sat on the lawn overlooking the river, it was perfect, a couple of drinks, a sunny evening and excellent fish and chips. What a brilliant idea. They also do a steak night on a Thursday, so next time we go it will be for a Thursday and Friday night. The whole family enjoyed it and of course being able to eat outside made it so much better as the dog could join us.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visiting friends who live in Nearby Wallingford, we moored up outside the hotel Friday Afternoon and had a fantastic time. What a beautiful place, the staff were welcoming, the food was also brilliant, Fish & chips was second to none and our friends Who ate with us agreed that they were impressed with the variety on the menu and the quality of the food. We even came again for afternoon tea! We Enjoyed our time here and have already booked a weekend stay in August that we are very much looking forward to. Stunning location and overall excellent service The shillingford Bridge Hotel is well worth a Visit.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shillingford Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shillingford Bridge Hotel

Address: Shillingford Hill, Shillingford, Wallingford OX10 8LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Wallingford > Shillingford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Shillingford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shillingford Bridge Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Shillingford Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shillingford Bridge Wallingford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shillingford Bridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.