We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monkeys” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monkeyland Primate Sanctuary

Monkeyland Primate Sanctuary
Monkeyland Road, The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
+27 82 979 5683
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 10 things to do in The Crags
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Monkeyland Primate Sanctuary is part of the South African Animal Sanctuary Alliance (SAASA). SAASA are the current award winners of the top accolades bestowed on tourism establishments in the world -> • Lilizela Service Excellence Tourism Awards - best Visitors Experience • Skal International Sustainable Tourism Awards - best major Attraction • World Responsible Tourism Awards - Gold-best Animal Welfare Initiative • World Responsible Tourism Awards - Overall Winner Monkeyland first opened its gates to the public in 1998 amidst much skepticism, a sanctuary of this kind had never been attempted before; multiple primate species all running free and together in one big forest. But despite the fears it was a huge success and the world's first multi-species, free roaming primate sanctuary has set a standard that other sanctuaries now aspire to. 12 hectares of indigenous forest is home to over 500 primates of 11 different species; Squirrel, Capuchin, Howler, Vervet and Spider monkeys, Hanuman and Spectacled Langur, Saki, Gibbon, Ring-tailed and Black-and-white Ruffed Lemurs all enjoy the freedom to climb trees, forage amongst the undergrowth and live a life that is far removed from where they came. Ex-pets, laboratory animals and surpluses from zoos that used to live in cages now have the opportunity to behave in a way that is natural to them. Our experienced rangers will guide you on a one-hour tour of the forest, pointing out the different species whilst offering a wealth of information on their ecology and conservation. An added attraction is the 128m long suspension bridge that stretches across the forest canopy offering magnificent views of the surrounding forests.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Monkeys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Wonderful to see primates in a natural environment and to learn about the rehabilitation work that is being done

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    211
    33
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Interesting but not amazing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We had an interesting visit, but it didn't really meet our expectations. The guide gabbled her way through the tour and didn't really keep our attention. I'm not sure she noticed when part of the group left and went back to the starting point as they had a screaming baby in tow. The kids enjoyed it however and found it interesting.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Brunswick, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Monkeys Everwhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We really enjoyed Monkeyland which is conveniently located across the parking lot from Birds of Eden (which we also highly recommend). Our guide was very knowledgeable! We learned about the vervet and capuchen monkeys and the gibbon. Very enjoyable.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Monkey Haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Loved the guided tour, it was so informative and I found myself being just as captivated by the tour guides knowledge and interesting facts as well as the rare opportunity to be so close to such a large variety of monkeys in their natural surroundings going about their daily lives and not being bothered by our presence at all.

I applaud the sanctuary for educating people and rehabilitating the many species of monkeys, apart from the already native vervet monkeys that were in the area. Such a great job and such a wonderful experience.

And as someone else has pointed out in a previous review....This is not a Zoo, you will be walking through the forest. Dress accordinly and enjoy the roughness of the outdoors.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Visual Adventure in Monkeys' Reserve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Disclaimer: I am a primate nerd NUT! I'm obsessed with anything monkey, financially adopted an orangutan, and can waste a whole day watching primates on animal planet. My husband, less enthusiastic but still an animal guy, tolerates my obsession and planned this visit to Monkeyland. Eternal brownie points, hubs!

Our tour guided walk through the acres where 13 species of monkeys swing freely through the trees was my dream come true. We got amazing pictures and made awesome memories of the monkeys and even a giant turtle(!) we came across. Took us about 2 hours for the whole experience!

Bring: sunscreen, great walking shoes, a zoom lens for your still camera, and your video camera! Catching these guys feeding or climbing through the trees is priceless. Also, tip the guide to say thank you! Ours was a volunteer doing an internship at the sanctuary for part of her university degree.

Don't bring: baby strollers, loud friends/crying babies, high heels or sandals, sunglasses/jewelry. The path is not paved and comes upon roots/stones along the way. We had an unhappy couple who thought they would wheel their 2 year old in a stroller the whole trip. Nope. Mom ended up carrying him the whole way as Dad swore at the stroller off-roading over roots and rocks along the path.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monkeyland Primate Sanctuary also viewed

The Crags, Plettenberg Bay
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Monkeyland Primate Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monkeyland Primate Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.