We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birds of Eden

Birds of Eden
Monkeyland Road, The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6602, South Africa
+27 82 979 5683
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 10 Attractions in The Crags
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Birds of Eden is part of the South African Animal Sanctuary Alliance (SAASA). SAASA is the current Award Winners of 4 of the most prestiges awards in Tourism in the World: • Lilizela Service Excellence Tourism Awards - best Visitors Experience • Skal International Sustainable Tourism Awards - best major Attraction • World Responsible Tourism Awards - Gold-best Animal Welfare Initiative • World Responsible Tourism Awards - Overall Winner Birds of Eden is the largest single-dome free flight aviary in the world, spanning 2.3 hectares of natural forests, streams and dams. With over a kilometre of walkways, visitors can experience the thrill of spotting almost 3500 previously captive birds of over 200 different species flying free and living natural lives. The scenery alone warrants a visit with hundreds of different plant and tree species plus there are giant fruit bats, golden-handed tamarins and the smallest of the antelopes, Blue duikers. Visits to Birds of Eden are self-guided and you are free to wander for as long as you wish at your own pace. Guided tours for group bookings can also be arranged on request.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent a couple of hours here and were so impressed, in fact rates as one of the best activities we did in 5 weeks tour of Western Cape. They really do know how to put this type of experience together and would highly recommend to anyone. It is not just for children, we are both 60+ and were fascinated by the variety of birds we saw living in their own habitat.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    181
    33
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southern UK
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Well worth a Flying Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Easy to find. Very well stocked with a huge variety of avian life. Interesting walks through 'rain forest'.

Pity restaurant closed early.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Close Encounters of the Flighted”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a large aviary, well spaced out and a relaxed way of appreciating our feathered friends. Since the aviary was not crowded birds appeared to be comfortable in their natural environment and moved around casually. This helped us get a very, very close look at our friends.

There is a large variety of birds and the flamingo enclosure is really the pick. One needs to be patient and have a keen observation to view birds hidden behind trees, shrubs and foliage.

Since the aviary is more or less open, it is a wonderful way of interacting and viewing these beautiful birds.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invergordon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Twitchers Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

A fabulous enclosure, great variety of Birds, terrific photo opportunities, and just a great, great, afternoon out.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A wonderful attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We loved this place! The entrance fee was reasonable, and I highly recommend spending the R20 on the book which lists all of the different species found there. It was exciting to keep flipping through it trying to figure out the names of everything we were seeing. We spent at least a couple of hours here and would definately return. It is nicely laid out, both for the observer and for the free movement and privacy of the birds and animals. It was interesting how you seemed to move through different zones, favored by different species. The layout also allows for a lot of people to be in the park without constantly bumping into oneanother or crowding around any one bird or feeding area. It was a little chilly on the day we went, but we found it sheltered here and weren't bothered by the weather much.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birds of Eden also viewed

 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Birds of Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birds of Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.