We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best we have experienced anywhere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hog Hollow Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hog Hollow Country Lodge to your Saves list
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Askop Road | P.O. Box 503, The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
england
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“The best we have experienced anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This place was a superb way to finish our stay in South Africa. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel part of a very large family that cared for all its members. The lodges are so well hidden in the grounds that it is impossible to see anyone else's when you are in your own even when sitting on the veranda. Each is extremely spacious and very well appointed and the level of service from the housekeeping team has to be experienced to be believed!
Breakfast was either continental or cooked, however the choice on the continental was vast! Every morning brought new surprises from the chef.
Evening meals can be taken at a very large shared table with other guests, OR, at a table for 2 or 4 or 6 NOTHING is too much trouble for your hosts who go out of their way to ensure that everyone has a superb holiday experience. Their level of knowledge of the locality is brilliant and they will print of maps and information for you as well as assist with practical advice.
The swimming pool, on a deck below the main restaurant level, is actually long enough to have a good swim and facilities in the pool area are just as good as in the rest of the facility with full service available if required.
We will definitely be returning!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    62
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
63
291
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This was our second visit in two years and our 4 day stay was again memorable. The staff are excellent - friendly, helpful and professional. Breakfasts are wonderful even allowing for the visit of local monkeys! Evenings on the patio by the log fire are always a feature. Our rooms had magnificent views and only if we were being very "picky" would we say that bed linen needed renewing. Everything spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at this lodge for a few nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The Boma deck with the open pit fire was a lovely touch, so were the canapes before dinner. Accomodation was very comfortable and views were amazing. Food was to a very good standard and we were sorry to leave.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are probably good and al with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I was a little bit disappointed with Hog Hollow. I know it didn't help matters that my husband was not feeling very well, felt sick so not in the mood for a fantastic meal or polite conversation with strangers but we fall into the average range of opinion particularly on the service. I feel awful that I didn't think it was as amazing as others. We were greeted and put on the amazing lounge area outside with a coffee then someone gave us a menu and asked if we wanted dinner and just left us. We were very tired we had been up early that day on the safari drive and we had to go to the desk and say we wanted to go to our room. A man helped us to take the cases out of the car but just put them in the downstairs room so we had to carry them upstairs. He just showed us where the mini bar was and told us about the mobile phone. I think the electricity went off about 3 times in the first hour we were there. We didn't have a fire in our room and it overlooked the car park so you felt you had to close the blinds everytime you went into the bathroom. We had specifically contacted them about wifi accesses because we were there for Christmas day and it was really important to us that we could face time my grand daughter. We were assured that it was available in the lounge. In fact it was the worse connection we had any where. We had to practically stand at reception to get a really bad connection there was no way it was going to work in the lounge so we had to go to Plettenburg for lunch so that we could get wifi. We went to the lounge at about 10.20 pm on christmas eve intending to have a coffee by the fire and there was a big black cat sat on the seat. I am terrified of cats so that was the end of that. We just went to our room without having seen any staff anyway. The cat came into the breakfast room and on to the patio area outside and onto to our decking so it was a nightmare for me. The first morning we had breakfast inside and the tables were so close together we could not get out when the couple came to the table next to us. The view was amazing and the rooms very nice. They gave us a bottle of wine and a cake for our anniversary which was really nice of them but apart from the location we didn't think it was that special but as I said before we didn't take part in the Christmas celebrations although we could hear the choir from our room and they were amazing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beetle21, Owner at Hog Hollow Country Lodge, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Oh how awful that you didn’t have a lovely Christmas!
I have spoken to the staff about the check-in process. Most of our guests like to relax after their drive on the deck with tea or coffee or bubbly, but they must also remember to ask the right questions, so that if, as you both were, tired & needed to go to your room as soon as you’d filled in the check-in form, that it is so.
You are quite right, they should have asked you if you wanted your cases taken up to your bedroom or left in the lounge.
We were experiencing a lot of problems with wi-fi and internet access over that period – Plettenberg Bay goes from a population of about 40 000 to over 250 000 over the Xmas period and our local networks often don’t cope with the strain limiting availability – being more rural, we seem to lose access more regularly during peak season than in town.
And our gift from Eskom, our national power utility, was to turn the lights off on Christmas Eve! There was a 15 minute outage at 6pm and then a longer one over the dinner period from 7h25 – 9h30. It was very stressful for everyone.
We were not advised that you are ailurophobic – that must have been very traumatic for you. If the staff are alerted they do their best to make sure Allsorts is not around. Allsorts has been resident here for 14 years, however, she was accidently ridden over on Wednesday, and we buried her in her garden.
In spite of your disappoint, thank you very much for your lovely comment in the guests book on your departure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Myself and my new hubby stayed at Hog Hollow for 3 nights in December. What a fantastic place! Truly made our honeymoon so special!

We arrived around 4pm and were checked in immediately. A guy helped carry our bags to our rooms and I was amazed when he opened the door. Was so beautiful. The beds were so comfy. The bathroom was huge and had a shower and lovely bath with a floor to ceiling window so felt like I was showering outside at times! Lovely little stereo in the rooms so we put on the Xmas CD’s . The view out of the windows is incredible. We were luckily enough to have no other rooms infront of ours so we just had a view of forest! GORGEOUS! The hammock on the decking in your room was a lovely touch and we’d often sit outside and just chill out on that! Remember your insect repellent though haha. Every night we would come back and there would be chocolate on the pillow and a bed time story which was a cute little touch.

All the staff we met at Hog Hollow were amazing! Could not do enough for you and we really appreciated it. I fell in love with the cat that lives on-site called Allsorts.

We didn’t go off site to eat we just ate our evening meals at Hog Hollow and joined in with the Communal Dining which was fun as you really got to know different people of all ages and find out about their experiences of South Africa. The breakfasts were amazing aswell! So much choice!

While we were there we did some horse riding which was fantastic. I would say if you are a complete novice rider maybe give it a bit of a miss as some of the hills etc. you climb are steep so the horses have a tendency to try and run up or down them which could be quite scary if you’ve ever ridden before. We had a great time though!

Whilst at Hog Hollow we also drove to the Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre which was AMAZING! Only about a 5 minute drive away. Got to stand in an enclosure with 2 cheetahs a metre away from you. (Don’t turn your back). Had an amazing morning here and got to learn about several of South Africa’s more elusive Big Cats.

This hotel was pure luxury and we had the best time and would go back now if I could!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our one week stay at Hog Hollow which formed part of "three location" trip across S Africa. Hog Hollow was definitely a highlight. The hotel is very well appointed and most comfortable. Breakfast and dinner were gastronomic delights. All staff are very well trained and very attentive - nothing is too much trouble. However, a special thank you to Shane, the staff member who is a wealth of information regarding local wildlife AND kept both myself and a young child amused demonstrating illusions including card tricks. I don't know who was most mesmerised me or the child! Would definitely recommend a stay here. If the hotel is not full it may be possible to book for a meal - certainly worth doing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We arrived on Christmas Eve, after driving the garden route from Cape Town, staying 2 nights, had a fantastic stay, nothing was to much trouble, we were in for a suprise on Christmas Night, first canapes and champagne on terrace at 6pm, then we heard the sweet sound of the local choir came to sing to us, it was very emotional and truly spectacular. It certainly made our christmas in South Africa something to remember. Thankyou Hog Hollow all I can say is 2 days were not long enough.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hog Hollow Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hog Hollow Country Lodge

Address: Askop Road | P.O. Box 503, The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > The Crags
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in The Crags
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hog Hollow Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hog Hollow Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hog Hollow Country Hotel Plettenberg Bay
Hog Hollow Country Lodge South Africa/The Crags

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hog Hollow Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.