We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Daddy's Deals ever bought!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hog Hollow Country Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hog Hollow Country Lodge to your Saves list
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Askop Road | P.O. Box 503, The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Daddy's Deals ever bought!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Hog Hollow was more than what you expect from a Daddy's Deals!! This is a ideal location for all the activities around the Crags and Tsitsikamma!! The booking was so easy with Jo and the arrival was friendly with 2 glasses of bubbly on the "stoep" verandah overlooking the superb view! This one night booking soon turned into a 2 night booking! The room at a fire place, radio, big stoep (with naughty monkeys) a heater in the bathroom and in the room - very african style but cozy and warm!! Tea and coffee facilities and even pop corn in the room!! The restaurant is very flexible with dinner requests - you don't have to do the 3 course - you can only do 2 or even one!! We sat alone and it was very romantic. The second night we ordered a cheese platter and wine to our room which was very good value for money!! The horse riding is also a must do amongst the cows and rolling hills. The dress up for the horse riding is also so much fun!! The breakfast is buffet style plus a hot meal and even bubbly at breakfast - wow!! This is about 20min from Plettenberg Bay, but it really does not matter. Very close to explore natures valley - let them pack you a picnic and a bottle of campaign and see the sunset in Natures Valley - stunning!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    62
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
63
291
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in May and had a great time.

The rooms are well equipped and clean. Ours even had a living room and wood burning fire which was lovely when the evenings become a bit chilly.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and helped us plan what to see in the area.

The food exceeded expectations for a hotel, where due to location they could produce anything and you would have to eat it. Big Joe definitely runs a very good restaurant and his food is not only tasty but very well presented - matches up to any top rated Cape Town restuarant. It is a 3 course set menu but there are alternatives available if you ask.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here during our trip through South Africa.
The rooms were fabulous with your own balcony looking over the forest. There was a fire in the room also it you wished to lit one. As it was the start of their winter when we stayed (even thou its nicer than an Irish summer!) we decided light the fire the morning we were leaving, not because it was cold just because it was so nice & homely.
The food was really good & the chefs could not do enough for you. I require gluten free food and they were more than helpful to accommodate me.
We had a lovely turn-down surprise when we arrived back to our room – slippers, hot-water bottle and a bed time story book!

Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

What a fantastic place, the additional little touches are superb. If in the area it is a must - whether for a drink around the pool, an overnight stay and great food starting off around the bouna or horse riding in the local area.

The honeymoon present was a nice treat, drinking the wine on the decking overlooking the forest and watching the monkeys in the garden, so peaceful and relaxing.

Stayed for three nights in order to explore the local area in April and already looking to return - our favourite place in South Africa in part due to the superb staff who couldn't do enough for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Very nice place, pity we only stayed a night. The suites are huge with its own private balcony overlooking the hilly forest. A hammock on the balcony allows you to just swing and relax. The suite has a cozy country cabin-like atmosphere, with a working fireplace and stack of firewood. The central "clubhouse" and its restaurant have a terrace overlooking the forested valley below, and a huge fireplace stove for guests to sit outdoors on chilly nights. The local people have cool nicknames, with one of the resort staff who helped us with our luggage named "Elvis".

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

What a treat. Who would have thought such a gem could be buried in its own secret valley? We wallowed in the fine cuisine and unrelenting friendliness of all the staff. We really enjoyed the friendliness of the communual dining but some chose to dine on smaller tables. We stayed on the 3rd and 4th May 2013.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at the Hog Hollow in August 2012 and it was absolutely amazing. We felt so welcomed from the moment we stepped through the doors and we were treated to coffees and biscuits and a hot chocolate for my daughter on arrival while we were being checked in. The rooms are amazing with fantastic views. We ate at the hotel on the first night and food was delicious, its served at a communal table which is nice for a change. When we returned to our room after dinner each night there were hot water bottles in our beds, a flask of hot chocolate for my daughter and little short stories left on our pillows!!
There was a huge choice for breakfast with lots of options made to order. Breakfast is enjoyed sitting outdoors with cheeky monkeys trying to get down from the trees! The staff are possible the best feature of this hotel. My husband was sick while we there and the staff noticed at breakfast and bring him up some food and water. They were also fantastic with giving tips and recommendations of things to do - a must is walking to the Elephant Sanctuary through the forest at the back of the hotel. I did it with a 8 old and she thought it was such an adventure.
You will definitely not regret booking this hotel, its one of the nicest I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hog Hollow Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hog Hollow Country Lodge

Address: Askop Road | P.O. Box 503, The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > The Crags
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in The Crags
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hog Hollow Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hog Hollow Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hog Hollow Country Hotel Plettenberg Bay
Hog Hollow Country Lodge South Africa/The Crags

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hog Hollow Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.