We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hog Hollow Country Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hog Hollow Country Lodge to your Saves list
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Askop Road | P.O. Box 503, The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
“Superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2007

We had a lovely stay here. Staff enthusiastic and helpful and food superb. Agree with previous reviewer, it is expensive as a guest house. However the food was as good as anything I have ever had, even in Michelin starred restaurants. It was lovely to sit at the large dining room table and chat to others. The breakfast Eggs Benedict were the best I ever had in my life True, the rooms were not 5 star but comfortable. Think of it as a gourmet restaurant with rooms and it becomes a bargain

  • Liked — View from the room and food
  • Disliked — slightly cold and unseasonale rainy weather
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    62
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
63
291
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2007

What a fabulous experience staying at Hog Hollow was.
Wonderful welcome and outstanding staff. Dinner was a most enjoyable evening - don't bother to eat out! Rooms were so comfortable and lovely and cosy with the cheminea. Lots of delightful touches throughout. So glad we couldn't get in to the Plettenberg Hotel.
Everybody was so helpful and friendly it was a joy and quite the nicest place we stayed in South Africa, would love to go back.

  • Liked — Location and staff
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otterberg, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2007

We think everything mentioned in the other reviews is correct. This lodge is stylish, pure but also very romantic and cosy. Food is excellent as the service itself.

  • Liked — the view out of the bed and the great dinner
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2007

I discovered that Hog Hollow Country Lodge own a beach house in St Francis Bay. It is advertised on their website and like the Lodge, the photos make it look gorgeous. But, this is simply not the case. The house, called Sea Serpent, is a tired and very neglected family home with a serious damp problem. The plaster is lifting from the walls and the smell is foul. Crockery inside the cupboards even tastes of damp which wont wash off. Upstairs, the shower is mouldy and the outside area is messy and unfinished. We only stayed one of the two nights we booked, deciding to cut our losses and move on quickly. Very disappointing and not really fit to be rented out to paying customers.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2007

We stayed at Hog Hollow for 2 nights and wished we could stay longer....

Location: it is about 18-20 kms past Plettenberg Bay from Knysna and off a dirt road. There were lots of deer and impala in the properties along the way.

Lodge: the place has an amazing sense of warmth due to the colours and quirky decor. The breakfast area overlooks the mountains and the dining room where dinner is served at a long table is very atmospheric. There are hammocks toward the back of the lodge, by the steps leading to the lovely pool (wish it was heated!) and sauna area.

Service/Staff: this is not a b&b or guesthouse in the traditional sense - it does not have that many rooms but it is staffed more like a boutique hotel. We always had attentive and courteous service - almost a little too attentive since 5 different people came to interrupt our first breakfast! But, that's the only negative. The breakfasts at Hog Hollow were delicious!

Our room was incredible - sitting on the sofa or the hammock with a glass of wine just overlooking the view of the mountains; the cozy bed and little touches like the nighttime story was fun. There were sliced lemons in our minibar for the G&Ts, etc. There wasn't much to do but that was the point: drinking, reading, listening to the CD collection and minding the fire in the little pot belly stove...

Try to have dinner at the lodge at least once and opt to sit with the
other guests - it's fun to meet others and find out what they have seen and done.

The daily carwash was much appreciated given we had been driving around so much in the days preceding our stay.

Overall, we had a fantastic stay at Hog Hollow!

Tip: the pottery at the lodge is created at Porcupine Ceramics down the street and you can visit the workshop.

  • Liked — The serenity and warmth of the overall lodge
  • Disliked — The (occasional) over-attentive staff
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights on our way along the Garden Route. The location and our room was lovley - with a log fire in the room and a huge balcony overlooking the forrest.

Unfortunatley we stayed here when the weather turned for the worst which meant that we were unable to sit outside, use the pool or have meals outside. This was a real shame as essentially - you are paying for the surroundings as they make up the experince.

We were apprehensive about the dinner arrangements around a communual table and the first night we ate in Plettenberg - this meant that we were "outsiders" in the eveing after dinner as we did not eat with everyone. We had dinner the second night there and it was nice and the service was very good.

We left feeling that we had a nice rest in beautiful surrundings, but with a heavy price tag - maybe when the sun shines you are able to experience all it has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2007

Hog Hollow is a really neat place! The service was wonderful, and personalized. The staff were pleasant, had a good sense of humor and extremely helpful in helping us to decide what things to see in the area! Food was phenomenal as well! Breakfast was perfectly prepared, and during our stay in S. Africa, it was among the top 2 of the 5 places we stayed. Eggs were perfect...it's amazing how many hotels/lodges find eggs difficult to prepare. We stayed for dinner only one night.....the food was outstanding. A bit pricey when compared to other places in the area, but it's lovely atmosphere. Fireplaces were lit, the wine selection was very good...including their house pinotage. The only thing I did not like was that you were to eat at a very large table with all the other guests. If you are looking for privacy at dinner, please be sure to ask for a separate table. They will accomodate if there is room.

Our cottage was fantastic. It was very private, overlooking the breathtaking indigineous forest of the Crags. We even had a few visiting monkeys on our deck...(They were frequest visitors at breakfast where they tried to steal croissants and breads off the buffet tables, which brought aggravation to the staff but tons of laughs from my husband and myself.) In our room upon arrival, was a bottle of sparkling wine, card and small gift to celebrate our honeymoon. Each evening the beds were turned down with a little book of bedtime stories on your pillow. (a nice touch, but didn't really enjoy the story which was a bit deep for my taste.) Each night we lit a fire and lounged in our room and listened to CDs they provided for the stereo that was there.

Nearby is a fantastic seafood restaurant called Enrico's.! Casual atmosphere with the freshest seafood! And very inexpensive! It's right on the ocean's edge, and the views are breathtaking.

Activities in the 1/2 hour drive range include, plattenburg bay and lagoon, Robberg Nature Reserve (hiking and great photography opps!), Monkeyland and Birds of Eden.

We would love to go back! It was too cold to go swimming,but the pool and its views are also phenomenal. They also have a sauna on site!

You honestly can't go wrong with this place.

  • Liked — views and size of rooms
  • Disliked — it's very hilly to and from rooms/parking lots/eating area. Elderly who require assistance walking and wheelchair users beware
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hog Hollow Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hog Hollow Country Lodge

Address: Askop Road | P.O. Box 503, The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay > The Crags
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in The Crags
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hog Hollow Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hog Hollow Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hog Hollow Country Hotel Plettenberg Bay
Hog Hollow Country Lodge South Africa/The Crags

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hog Hollow Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.