We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leopard and meerkats were cool” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre

Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre
Forest Hall Road, The Crags, Plettenberg Bay 6602, South Africa
+27 44 534 8170
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in The Crags
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre offers your guests the opportunity for a close, safe, inter-active encounter with all of the lesser cats of South Africa, as well as Cheetah and Leopard. We guarantee sightings of African Wild Cat, Blackfooted Cat, Serval, Caracal, Cheetah and Leopard. The Tenikwa encounter is a great follow-on to a game reserve / safari experience; from viewing the cats at a distance to the opportunity to study these beautiful animals at close quarters. Tenikwa also has a Meerkat Meander where visitors can see Meerkats and Tortoises and there is also a variety of indigenous waterfowl, Blue Cranes and Marabou Storks to delight bird watchers. Tenikwa supports the upliftment of local communities through Eco tourism and is environmentally responsible. Entrance fees fund Tenikwa's NPO Wildlife Rehabilitation and Release Programme. Open 365 days a year. Amenities include a Tea Garden for light meals, Parking, Wheel-chair Friendly, Mothers Corner
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Leopard and meerkats were cool”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Tenikwa does some nice work in rehabilitating animals. Was cool to see the cats up close and personal. The meerkats were fun!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    452
    92
    27
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A lifetime experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I had a morning walk with two cheetahs and it was an experience I will always remember. The guides Jacob and Brian were great.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford England
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Probably best to go for an experience session”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We went for an hour standard trip which involves seeing just four different types of cat and going inside three of the four cat compounds. The best part was getting up close to two sunbathing cheetahs. Our guide was very knowledgable and helpful.

That said, this is just an average trip if you take the one hour tour, and so my advice would be, from what other reviewers say, that the real excitement probably comes from taking a longer tour where you can spend more time really up close to the cats.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fun afternoon with cats!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had a delightful couple of hours at Tenikwa, which is very well laid out, with large enclosures for most of the African wild cats, from the smallest up to leopards and cheetah. It was especially exciting to be able to go into some of the enclosures, particularly the cheetah, who are very tame and purr!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Awesome experience with Educational edge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Wow, we booked the walk with cheetahs experience and while the payment had rather randomly not got through, we arrived, paid and the staff re-booked us on a walk the following morning. With a 6am start from Knysna we arrived with time to spare and were served coffee and a hot muffin.

Staff are very friendly and well informed on all aspects of wildlife conservation. While the info videos are a little cheesy there is a serious message behind them. We walked with the cheetahs for nearly an hour and then visited the pens for Charcals, Servils and other African wild cats.

This is a once in a lifetime experience, so if you are close by book yourself in and enjoy being in the presence of a truly amazing animal.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre also viewed

Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
The Crags, Plettenberg Bay
 

Been to Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.