We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovley pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bell Pub

The Bell Pub
Castleknock Road | Dublin 15, Blanchardstown, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Irish
Description: Great Irish pub with huge portions of traditional Irish food, with a daily special. A half portion of a full roast beef dinner including two types of potatoes, stuffing, gravy, and a vegetable medley for under 7 Euro. Very tasty and great atmosphere in a local pub.
Restaurant details
Description: Great Irish pub with huge portions of traditional Irish food, with a daily special. A half portion of a full roast beef dinner including two types of potatoes, stuffing, gravy, and a vegetable medley for under 7 Euro. Very tasty and great atmosphere in a local pub.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“lovley pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

we called in for a drink and this pub was lovley but very quiet,might b worth a visit if music was on

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
england
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“been three times- will be back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

we chanced on the Bell when we went the wrong way off the roundabout on the Motorway out of Dublin, it was a lucky find. We were tired and wanted a quick meal and a drink before going back to the Travelodge. I had chicken goujons and chips, and a pint of Bulmers. The waitress was friendly, efficient and always smiling. The pub was almost empty. We sought it out on the way home again the next Saturday and it was PACKED!! a wedding I think, and football on the TV, but they found us a table and again the service was efficient and friendly. It is now our regular stop on the way back from Dingle to the ferry port in Dublin

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin ireland
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Good carvery but very noisy place!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Called into the Bell pub last Sunday for a quick bite to eat and both of us went for the carvery dinner. This is indeed good value and very tasty but the pub itself was like a creche! There seemed to be two celebrations going on which involved hundreds of children running around the place. We ate our carvery, had the ham and the roast beef, both very nice but couldnt wait to get out of the place. This is obviously a very popular pub for bringing children to so if your not into that, avoid the place like the plague!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

There was 6 of us meeting for a late lunch in the Bell Pub on Sateurday 22 September, all I can say is that it was nothing special and mediocre. It was 3pm and the pub was not busy. The staff were not very attentive and a couple of them were having their own meals at the bar. There was still enough serving but they did not seem very aware of their customers. Two of our party had the steak sandwichs one of which was very fatty and tough, she did not enjoy it and it was served with a couple of mushrooms that tasted greasy. We have had better elsewhere. Two had the Club Sandwich which again was nothing special and we were not asked if we wanted white or brown bread. Another of us had the stir fry which was acceptable but the sauce was very sweet. And another had simple sausage and chips which all apeared to be deep fried and was ok for the price. Doubt we would ever eat here again as for pub food there are far more exceptional places out there for the price.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“OK food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I was in the bell yesterday for some cavery lunch. I had the beef and my partner had the ham. The beef was ok a wee bit tough the diiner came with mash and roast potatoes when I say roast I should say potatoes the size of marbles and we were given 2 per dinner. The only plus to this meal that it was hot for a carvery.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bell Pub also viewed

Blanchardstown, County Dublin
Blanchardstown, County Dublin
 
Blanchardstown, County Dublin
Blanchardstown, County Dublin
 

Been to The Bell Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bell Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.