We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Point Bay Villas & Spa

Save Saved
You added Blue Point Bay Villas & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Point Bay Villas & Spa
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   Jalan Labuansait, Pecatu, Bali 80364, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT FOR HOT DEAL
Ranked #23 of 35 Specialty lodging in Pecatu
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Romantic Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were very lucky to have been upgraded from a Junior Suite to a Villa during our visit in May 2013. It was magnificent and we even had our own private swimming pool. We really enjoyed our stay and were impressed with the staff. They were so helpful and are such gentle, spiritual people. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast each morning and hired a scooter with a surfboard rack and travelled around each day. It is a good idea to hire your scooter for the duration of your stay as it is a fascinating place to explore. The surf at Uluwatu is hectic and quite difficult to paddle in and out. We found a beautiful beach at Pandang Pandang where the surf has left and right hand breaks. It was lovely to surf and sun bathe at this beach. There was also the added advantage of people who sell clothes, water and ice-cold bintangs! There are a variety of restaurants and bars at Uluwatu and these go right down to the cave where the surfers enter and exit the surf. The food and beer are reasonable but wine is terribly expensive. It is better to drink water or beer! It is also an amazing experience as when you arrive the local residents descend to sell all sorts of items and to offer head or leg massages! They seem to zone in on new tourists and one has to be quite firm as you will not be left alone. You strike up wonderful relationships with the local people so be honest. If you are going to buy something then buy it! Don't promise if you are not going to buy something. It was an amazing stay and we are going to return next year!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    124
    57
    35
    40
See reviews for
37
92
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

we visited blue point 2 years back for photo shooting and it was great experience. unfortunately, this round, it was very bad experience for us.. 1st we arrived earlier around 12pm and the room is not ready, we are fine with that and proceed to restaurant for a drink, an hour later, i went back to check out and our room was ready and no one inform us at all. When we reach our room, we found out the aircond was having very loud noise, walls paint were peel off, yellowish towels. We requested a change of room and the next room had the same condition except for the aircond. breakfast were disappointed as well . worse of all, we notice outsider can just come in for the pool with rupiah 100k ! there is no privacy at all for hotel guest. we call operator more than 5 times when we wanna check out the hotel room and no one pickup our call which end up we need to carry our own bags walk over to the reception which was 500m away. bad experience and will never go back there again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I actually read reviews in trip advisor about this hotel and despite some negative feedback, I had no regret booking this hotel. It was totally untrue about the reviews. We had a wonderful stay at this hotel, clean, comfortable, no mosquitoes and even provide netting. Big toilet and ample toiletries. All the staff were very friendly, helpful, patient and attentive regardless young, old, male and female ESPECIALLY PUJI the front line staff - she is very excellent and had positive attitude - a real plus for the hotel. Very awesome view of the ocean from the swimming pool and surrounding facilities were fantastic - plenty of good food at relatively cheap prices. Will come back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We arranged a driver to take us here for the day as a day trip from our hotel in Legian. We spent approx AUD $25 each for the use of the pool area and this included a meal and a drink. It was definitely worthwhile and we had a great day by the amazing pool. Watching the surfers on the beach below from the pool's infinity edge was a lot of fun. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We just stayed 6 nights there, in a junior suite which we got a upgrade to at no extra cost ,very happy with staff and service we got,rooms are reasonable,bathroom needs some work no proper shower just a bath with a extendable hose with spray head,which was very hard for my pregnant wife to get in and out.Food was ok breakfast needed more choice.Pool was fantastic and service around the pool was great.Would recommend this hotel to friends and stay there again.But little to far out from seminyak.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We've stayed in $25/night, very basic hotels that were worth what we payed for and $350/night hotels - also worth the money. But for what Blue Point offers, it should be a $75/night hotel, not $250.

Where to start? The permeating sewage smell perhaps? The consistent mould? The awful food? The service? I lived and worked in Afghanistan for three years and am no complainer. I've stayed in some pretty dire places with no working toilet, but hey, for $5 a night you can't complain. But I hate being ripped off and that's why I found Blue Point so utterly offensive.

We spent two weeks in Bali and Uluwatu was our last jaunt. We figured that for $250/night we'd get something as nice as the similarly priced Bvilla in Seminyak -- a private villa (clean, nice architecture) by the beach with a private pool and staff that came to you each morning and cooked whatever you wanted for breakfast.

We were so, so wrong. Instead, $250/night got us a cheesy looking deluxe room that was not very big and better suited to a 1980s porn. The sewage smell from the bathroom was awful. At first I thought we'd cope (again, not a complainer) but by day two I finally asked for another room. They had nothing in our price range and would upgrade us to a villa. I thought - ok, it will be a villa like the ones we stayed at in Seminyak and Ubud. Again, I was wrong.

I guess we were blessed because the sewage smell this time was outside the villa rather than in it. The villa had no private pool (and were double the price of villas we'd stayed in in Bali that were A-mazing) and it shared a very thin wall with another villa. So you can throw your privacy out the door - the whole rationale behind getting a villa! The plethora of ants that plagued the deluxe room were also a problem in the villa.

Mould was everywhere - and spider cobwebs in the shower. The problem with Blue Point is that it looks like it was nice in the 1990s but not today. Not an inch of renovation. It just didn't seem clean - again, coming from someone who lived in Afghanistan.

The food at the hotel was bad -- my chef salad had sad looking pieces of processed cheese on it and I kid you not, the dressing was a pickle relish better suited for a hotdog.

The spa also had a mould problem -- hard to relax when the smell of mould is in your nostrils. The bathroom in the spa had an open hole in the wall and an open pipe was pouring water into it. Worms were in the hole. Didn't make me feel great about being half naked on one of their massage tables. The massage was also very subpar in the land of incredible massages!

The final straw was when I took a goodbye pee and my eye caught a very thin, straight and jet black pubic hair in the bidet next to the toilet. Definitely not mine or my husband's.

Do not stay here. The only good reviews I've seen about Blue Point are from people who just used the pool but didn't lodge there (they shouldn't be allowed to vote on Trip Advisor.) Yea, the pool was nice, but that should be standard for any five star hotel -- which this hotel is not - maybe a two star. Whoever reviewed this hotel and said the food was good, you must be used to eating frozen pizzas. And whoever said the hotel was nice - you've clearly never stayed in a five star hotel.

You do NOT get what you pay for here and in Bali, $250/night gets you a lot.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This place can blind you by its beauty. The first night there were 3 cockroaches in the bathroom! I killed one with nail polish remover (don't judge me) and left it there for them to clean the next day. When we went back into the room it was still there!! My husband called the front desk and they say they were going to spray something. They couldn't get us into another room because they had nothing else available... They sprayed and still didn't clean the dead roach on the floor!! The next day there were a few dead roaches (because of whatever they sprayed) and guess what? they didn't clean that either!! We called them to clean the room probably 3 times each day! This place was beautifully done, but they haven't pay much attention to cleaning carefully. The sinks and the tiles in the bathroom have mold in it. The walls outside are also dirty in many places. Unfortunately the pool overlooking the ocean can make some people not pay attention to all this because it is gorgeous to see the sunset there, but at the end of the day when you are going to sleep, it is not pleasant to think about roaches!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Point Bay Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Point Bay Villas & Spa

Address: Jalan Labuansait, Pecatu, Bali 80364, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Pecatu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 35 Specialty lodging in Pecatu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Point Bay Villas & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Blue Point Bay Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Point Bay Villas And Spa
Blue Point Bay Villas Hotel Uluwatu
Blue Point Bay Villas & Spa Bali/Pecatu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Point Bay Villas & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.