We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite resort stay EVER!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bulgari Resort Bali

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bulgari Resort Bali to your Saves list
Bulgari Resort Bali
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Goa Lempeh, Banjar Dinas Kangin, Pecatu, Bali 80364, Indonesia (Formerly Bulgari Hotels & Resorts Bali)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Pecatu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Our favorite resort stay EVER!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

I'm writing this review because it's actually been 2 1/2 years since we stayed at the Bulgari Bali, and we are STILL talking about it. Every resort we have stayed at (Bora Bora, Maldives, etc.) we have compared to our night at the Bulgari. Absolutely spectacular in EVERY way!

My husband and I traveled to Bali to celebrate my 30th birthday. We stayed at a timeshare resort that was at no charge to us, but traveled around to the Ritz, Four Seasons, and finally the Bulgari for dining options, as we wanted to explore the luxury accommodations we were passing up. After seeing the Bulgari and the *breathtaking* views of the Indian Ocean, my husband snuck off and booked us a night for our last night of our vacation as a surprise to me. What a surprise!!! We stayed in a cliffside villa, and it was SO WORTH IT. WOW, WOW, WOW! Our room was still the nicest we've ever stayed in, and the infinity pool overlooking a 300 ft cliff to the waves crashing below - INDESCRIBABLE! The dining was spectacular....the restaurants....the in-room dining...and the butlers were so amazing. Yes, we had 2 butlers waiting on us hand and foot. We have never felt so luxurious in our entire lives. We still keep planning our trip back to stay at least a week, but since we have 2 kids...we're still waiting. It will definitely be a resort we will return to, no matter how long it takes. This is our ultimate in pampered accommodations, bar none.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    71
    29
    17
    20
See reviews for
48
199
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KUWAIT
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

It was my honeymoon over there in the Bulgari resort so from where should i start , first of all the Security at the resort is very high , luxurious and extravagant in every way , Personal Butler with a golf car which can take you from anywhere in the resort to our villa , loved the restaurant italian one over there in the resort also the bar with the beautiful amazing view facing the ocean , also the swimming pool beautiful relaxing , and also you can go down to the beach and take some beautiful photos over there amazing one , about the villa the pool kind of small and also there is a warning about monkeys don't leave food outside they can eat it . also you cant see much other guests because i believe so its too private wich everything by the golf car so its good to for a hoenymoon .

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

Went to the Bulgari for our friends wedding reception. Beautiful setting (Apertivo at the Bar, followed by seven course feast at Sangkar, then drinks), spotless service. Villas (we took a peak at our friend's villa) were sophisticated and elegant. The property exceeded itself in ensuring that everyone had a great time when our friends waved off to their happily ever after.

Everything in the property was jaw-dropping, from the views, cliff, service and food, along with the most expensive stuff you can find in a hotel gift shop (a 182,000 USD Watch perhaps? hehe)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

Spent a mini-vacation at the Bulgari and it was GREAT!!!!

Sent my wife there for an afternoon of spa treatments whilst I finished some business and then I met her for spectacular sunset drinks. She absolutely raved about the spa itself and the quality of the treatments.

We then settled into the room (which has an incredible bathroom, and an amazing B&O sound system, both in the bedroom and bathroom, love it) It's a great and relaxing room that I would have happily spent many more night in.

Dinner in the restaurant was a fantastic experience (Asparagus soup with Caviar, yum) and both of the chefs and the restaurant manager were extremely accommodating and helpful.

Lunch or In-room dining option has to be the Wagyu Burger. I consider myself a burger connoisseur and this one is perhaps the best I've had.

The views are breathtaking and there is a hill tram to take you down close to the beach where you can enjoy light drinks and light food. We happily forgot about the rest of the world whilst sitting here. It really is magical.

I am frequently in and out of Bali and I look forward to many more of these mini-trips at the Bulgari.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

although i did not stay at the bulgari resort, i visited the hotel to propose to my girlfriend.....what can i say about bulgari - a truly amazing one-of-a-kind setting with beautiful cliffs overlooking nothing but water till australia.....the elegance and the service common throughout bali was really emphasized at the resort

we also had the opportunity to try some of their decilious canapes available from the bar - i remember the fish tikka pieces on lemongrass skewersin particular....very original to say the least...we followed this up by dining at the sangkar restaurant, which was also superb with a wide variety of dished

finally we were also shown around the villas themselves, which were stunning and yet cosy at the same time....felt like an ideal location for a honeymoon vacation....apparently you can see both sunrise and sunset from your villa due to the position of the hotel at the southern tip of bali and vs. the equator...

the staff were extremely helpful before, during and after our special evening, even sending us some photos so that we could remember it all

all in all a very luxurious, glamorous location and one well worth a visit

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

Security at the resort is very high, as soon as we got to the gates, our car was checked by 2 guards and our luggage by watch dogs! We thought this was too much. Other than that, we thought the resort was incredibly beautiful, luxurious and extravagant in every way.

Ocean Villa
Our villa faced the sea, however the Spa opposite to our villa blocked a portion of the view (make sure your villa is unobstructed). The villa is furnished extravagantly with white and black being the dominant colors. The bed is the most comfortable bed you'll ever sleep on; the sheets and pillows were of the highest quality too. The bathroom is very modern and there is an oversized bath-tub in the centre. There are indoor and outdoor showers with Bvlgari toiletries. There is a complimentary beach bag for you and your spouse including a straw hat and a kite. The garden in the villa is well landscaped and contains a lovely seating and dining area. The private pool is nice but small and the water was a little too cold to swim in. We didnt feel that our villa was private as people passing the hill behind the spa can look into our pool and tanning beds. However, it was still amazing to sit and tan all day long with an incredible view of the sea a few meters ahead. And the great thing was that we didnt see a single bug, which was amazing as Bali is a tropical island.

Service
The service was good and the staff were friendly, knowing that we were from the middle east, they provided two middle eastern music CD's in the room specially for us. Although it is mentioned that there is a host to every villa, we didnt hear or see much of our host. We had to make our own restaurant reservations, arrange the buggy and call front desk to inquire about activities and places to visit. Thus we didnt feel the service was personal.

Food
The food was amazing, really tasty! The breakfast was great and we also had the in-villa dining a couple of times which was fresh, and really tasty. I tried the Balinese food so cant comment on the Italian or others.

Spa
The Bvlgari spa is the most beautiful spa I've ever seen from an architectural point of view. I just had a hair cut there, which turned out well but took too long.

All in all, we had a wonderful stay but thought that the rooms were grossly overpriced, USD1000 for the lowest category room was definitely steep. Also, the overly posh atmosphere had us on edge sometimes and so we werent completely relaxed. I would only go again of they reduced their rates by half or had really good offers although I still do recommend this hotel for a couple of days but not more.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

We just returned from a two-night stay and had a wonderful time. We stayed in villa number 21 which I would highly recommend, as it is situated next to the "Bulgari villa" which is their version of the presidential villa. This makes the villa more peaceful than the others. Now I should say up front that the service in Bali in general is excellent, and at this resort this is certainly the case.
Others have mentioned the Four Seasons Jimbaran in comparision to this resort, and I would like to add my thoughts here. Please realise that in Bali there are several different styles of resorts that are located in several different locations - you can have beach (Jimbaran, Nusa Dua, etc.), forest (Ubud), and you can choose to stay on a cliff (Uluwatu). So comparing Bulgari to Four Seasons Jimbaran really makes no sense. The setting is totally different. Seasoned travellers to Bali will know what I'm talking about.
We really enjoyed the view from villa number 21. I would not go there and get anything less than a "cliff view" villa, as if you do you will see roofs of other villas. The cliff view villas have just that - a cliff view, unobstructed. So you have been warned in advance.
The villas themselves are gorgeous. They are Balinese in design with the extravagance of the Bulgari brand. Now, they do not have wood carvings and statues scattered throughout (if this is how you define "Balinese", but being Asian I think I do have a competent appreciation of this culture). There is a small courtyard surrounding the bathroom, full of plants and tasteful outdoor lighting. The resort makes liberal use of the colour black, the bathub is a blond marble tub with black marble surround that is set in the center, as this is pulled off beautifully. It is actually a perfect fusion of Balinese and contemporary. The outdoor lighting is absolutely brilliant in design - a modern take on Balinese tradition.
The facilities are also lovely in design. The pool and outdoor areas are very well done.
The meals were good but quite expensive at times - but just go there expecting this and you won't be surprised. The Italian restaurant was the most expensive, but who goes to Bali to eat Italian? I think most of the people eating there were not actually staying at the resort, but rather came from elsewhere to get a glimpse of the place.
One of the best "secrets" of this resort is actually the beach grill, we had our lunch there
both afternoons and this was the highlight of the stay! The grill is located at the base of the cliff, so you have to take a funicular (slanted elevator) down to it. It is steps from the beach. The view is gorgeous - a panorama of the ocean and absolutely worth the time and price. We had their "daily special" for US $29, which included a meat (lamb or fresh fish), starch, and freshly-made salad. They have a very limited menu and do serve drinks as well. Remember that this is located HALFWAY DOWN A CLIFF, and they prepare the food freshly there on the grill. This means they have to hand-carry everything there. So please take things in perspective. About the beach - you cannot swim as it is full of large rocks, but you can walk about and just enjoy the views, sounds, and multi-coloured sea shells. The staff on the beach are very doting and will get your chair ready, will bring water and face sprays, etc. as well. You can also order from a drinks menu. Soft drinks and fruit drinks were $5 and alcoholic drinks were $12 - very reasonable considering the location!
The staff were very friendly and always available. Service is excellent and they are very doting. Once you rang them, services were delivered promptly. The buggy service was offered frequently but we declined it, prefering to walk about the grounds to see the flowers and resident monkeys.
The only complaint we could come up with was perhaps the villa is a tad dark at night, and could perhaps use an additional lamp or two? Otherwise, we can complain about nothing.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bulgari Resort Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bulgari Resort Bali

Address: Jalan Goa Lempeh, Banjar Dinas Kangin, Pecatu, Bali 80364, Indonesia (Formerly Bulgari Hotels & Resorts Bali)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Pecatu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pecatu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pecatu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pecatu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pecatu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bulgari Resort Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bulgari Resort Bali is located in one of the most exclusive destinations in the world, a veritable emblem of the tropical exoticism of the Orient, combining the breathtaking beauty of unspoiled nature of Bali beach resorts with a sophisticated contemporary design born from the encounter between traditional Balinese forms and high Italian style. The quality of the services along with the views of the Indian Ocean offered by its magnificent position 150 meters over the sea are the perfect introduction to the second luxury hotels from Bulgari Hotels & Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Bulgari Resort Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bulgari Hotels & Resorts Bali Hotel Uluwatu
Bulgari Hotels And Resorts Bali
Bulgari Bali Hotel
Bulgari Hotel Bali
Bulgari Bali Resort
Bvlgari Resort Bali
Bulgari Resort Bali Pecatu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bulgari Resort Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.