We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The right choice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Valley Resort Bali

Save Saved
You added Hidden Valley Resort Bali to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hidden Valley Resort Bali
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Jl. Nabor No. 29, Pecatu, Pecatu, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 36 Pecatu B&B and Inns
Belgium
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“The right choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed two nights after a long flight and we really recommend this hotel. The hotel is brand new and has got everything you need to recover from your jetlag and it is the perfect base to explore the Bukit Peninsula. It is located in the middle of the Peninsula, a few hundred meters on the main road to Uluwatu past the main entrance of the Pecatu Indah resort. Their drive is indeed 700m from the main road (cfr. "hidden" valley resort!), but this is absolutely not a problem because the taxi's are cheap and the best way to explore the region and visit all the beautiful nearby beaches is by scooter. The hotel even foresees a free shuttle to the beaches and there are scooters at your disposal!
The staff is incredibily friendly and all of them are very professional. They will do everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. They are great!
The massages and pedicure in the Spa were very good and the prices were reasonable (we had 50% discount, special action in August).
The breakfast buffet was nice, with a lot of choice. Eggs, bacon, vegetables, fruit, mie goreng, toast, ... The à la carte breakfast was allright too, maybe they should enlargen the portion with some fruit or extra toast. The hotel uses the vegetables from its own organic garden that you can visit, just incredible! We liked the barbecue, which we thought was a buffet, but everybody got a platter with mainly seafood and grilled organic vegetables, but we are more fond of eating at Jimbaran beach.
The rooms are beautiful and cosy, with everything you need: good quality towels and blankets. Shower curtain in the room is missing. The executive room has got a semi-outdoor jacuzzi and bathroom! Swimmingpools are nice, with very relaxing chairs.
Excellent place to visit the bukitpeninsula, a surfers paradise with very charming beaches!

Room Tip: Avoid room 108, it is next to the noisy water pump. All the other rooms are well located and very ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
14
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great staff - excellent service; clean rooms, modern decor and furnishing that incorporates Indonesian culture throughout; great layout (rooms and grounds) and beautiful gardens; very comfortable beds; 2 pools plus 1 for children; free breakfast (good breakfast) and okay lunch, dinner, and drinks but can improve. Free WiFi but complicated way to access this and had to continuously log on. It is a great place and very quiet. That being said, it is difficult to find from the main road as the sign is too small so be sure you know how to get there before hand. We stayed there shortly after it opened so we could not rate the spa or shuttle as they were not up and running at that time. I am sure they worked on the WiFi issues too by now. Overall it was a GREAT experience and we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I find this hotel not easy to rate as there are considerable up- but also downsides.

Overall the hotel provides very good value for the reasonable prices they offer. So here are the pros:
- very friendly staff with good English
- welcome drink in nice open lobby
- nice grounds, 2 pools (not huge, but ok)
- very nicely decorated clean rooms
- free billiard and darts in the recreation room (which actually has a bit of a youth hostel atmosphere)

here the cons:
- it is 700 meters off the main road (which itself is not terribly inviting). and that's not along your average lighted broad street, but rather down a narrow road without lights in the dark, which (in addition to the occassional stray dog) make it unlikely you can walk it in the evening (remember that it gets dark in Bali at 6 pm)
- one needs transport to everywhere (beaches too far to walk) and the free shuttle's availability is spotty. during our 3 day stay one of the drivers was on holiday, so only one driver was available and he only works from 3 pm to 11 pm. that's of course not much use if you want to leave in the morning to the beaches. so you have to rent scooters or a driver. hotel will call Blue bird taxi, which is nice since they have fair (metered) prices
- the food in the hotel is really really not worth the price. it's not disgusting or anything, no, it's just plain old not tasty and makes you feel you wasted your money. bring some hard biscuits or eat outside. there are many good restaurants in Bali (though we couldn't find any near the hotel. there is one resto/bar on the main road, but we didn't have time to try it. and since it's on the main road having dinner is tough with reference to the previous point) NB: hotel breakfast is an exception, since that's fine. there is no buffet, only a la carte and they have two options (with some room for variance) which I imagine can get a bit boring if you are staying two weeks. (unlike one other reviewer, we luckily had no problems in ordering extra toast :)
- massage place is open from 9 to 5 without chance for booking later. no use if you are out swimming/surfing/exploring during the day and want a nice massage when you get back to the hotel

Overall we would probably not stay here again, although the value you get for your buck is good. There are so many hotels in Bali (even just in Uluwatu, Pecatu), we will look for a better located one with hopefully tastier food.

Room Tip: take a room on the 2nd floor for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is fantastic! We didn't have any problem! They received us with some drinks, the room is super clean and new furniture, the service is excellent( very friendly people) , there is spa very good massage, the food in the restaurant is really good!! They have free transport to some beaches! Its a little bit far from the centre but we loved the location because the centre have terrible traffic and full of people. Here is calm and good for enjoy with couples or family. We simple love it!!! I recommend!!

The best thing was the staff! So so friendly!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Our family stayed at this resort for 3 days and loved it. We were a little concerned as we had read that it was only new with only 2 reviews on Trip Adviser but were pleasantly surprised as it was beautifully presented, with lovely staff, comfortable rooms, great breakfasts included and a free shuttle bus to take you to all the local sights.
It is not a large resort but still has 3 pools and a salon and spa. One of my family had a 1 hour massage for 150K and loved it.
All the rooms have sweeping views from Ulawatu back towards the main island of Bali, so it was a pleasure to relax in the rooms and take in the view.
The resort is centrally located in Uluwatu but about 4 km inland from the coast. We had a family wedding at the magnificent Semara Luxury Villas so we wanted to stay close to here, so it was only a 10 min taxi ride to there or about 15 min to Uluwatu temple.

Room Tip: Go for upstairs as the views are better, although even ground floor rooms have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We got great value for money staying here. The hotel is brand new so the facilities are in great shape. With that comes some teething issues.

1. The brochure for the resort is deceiving in its location. It's not as close to Padang Padang as it depects. In fact it's a drive to any beach. If you are able to drive a scooter then this isn't an issue, but you're gonna have to pay RP. 25000 per trip in a Blue Bali taxi to get there. The trip is actually shorter, but the taxi charge that as a minimum. Also there aren't any shops close by, the hotel is situated about 300/400m off the main road (hence the name).

2. Due to fluctuating numbers, some days the breakfast is a la carte, and some days a buffet. There is no flexibility on the a la carte, to the extent where an extra slice of toast was out of the question.

3. I don't recommend eating here outside of the inclusive breakfast. Again, probably due to teething issues, but the menu is overpriced and the food quality doesn't warrant this. Charging people Rp48000 for a Bintang is ridiculous.

Overall, hiring scooters saved this stay from being a disaster and it turned out really well. If you're happy to tan by the pool all day then it's great to stay at, but didn't really suite us.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Good, closed off the road and outside noise place. In connection with this hotel is hard to find. Ideal for families and couples. In the near availability of the best beaches on the island of Bali. The hotel is new and has a spacious European-style. Two large swimming pools. Very good breakfasts. If you are planning a vacation on the Bukit Peninsula, I highly recommend this place.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hidden Valley Resort Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Resort Bali

Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Resort Bali Pecatu
Address: Jl. Nabor No. 29, Pecatu, Pecatu, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Pecatu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Pecatu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Valley Resort Bali 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hidden Valley Resort Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Valley Resort Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.