We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A glitch in reservation but overall is good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brothers Bungalows Balangan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Brothers Bungalows Balangan to your Saves list
Brothers Bungalows Balangan
3.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Jalan Balangan Beach, Pecatu, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Pecatu
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A glitch in reservation but overall is good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I made an online reservation for Brothers Bungalow for 1 room with AC for 2 nights, about 1.5 months before we arrived and it was confirmed. We arrived there quite late at 10:30 am to find out that the room with AC was not available! I asked to speak with the manager who wasn't able to do anything because all the AC rooms were booked. He gave us a non-AC room with 50% disc for that night and moved us to an AC room the following day.

The place itself is beautiful and close to Dreamland beach. It's quiet and because the property is small, it's not crowded and that's what we like. The hotel is far away from everything so that's one thing to keep in mind if you want to stay here. The food is OK, so you may want to consider buying food from somewhere else. Oh, and the wifi connection was bad. I thought to put it out there. :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    23
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

The hotel is far away from almost Everything, you must take a taxi to everything...the beach wasn´t so good because we couldn´t nearly walk in the sand it..we sank down..! The restaurants on the beach was in a very bad shape!
The bungalow was nice at first, until we notis that the window was broken (couldn´t Close it) and the lamp near the bed was also broken!
The staff couldn´t give us any information - where the beach was, where to take a swim and they didn´t have a map so we could figure out that by ourself! The pool didn´t have a stairway down, so if you are older it´s not possible to swim there!
So only one night was enaugh for us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Great place. The gardens are pretty. There only 8 bungalows so quiet and intimate little group. The rooms are clean and kept clean. Outside bathroom is basic and the "shower" only has cold water and comes out of a piece of bamboo like a hose . Who cares it's hot anyway. The mattress on the bed is awesome king size so we had great comfortable sleeping. All the rooms have a veranda to sit on and the pool is between the 2 rows of bungalows. There aircon but we didn't use it or need it. A breeze through the door at night was enough. The resteraunt is small and cosy with a relaxed friendly vibe. Staff are great Breakky included is pancakes with various fruits. Fruit juices and Bali coffee. Perfect to start the day. Other breakky's are on offer but then you have to pay. The only thing I would suggest is perhaps a small fridge in the room to keep the duty free wine and bintangs in but then they were happy to let me use the fridge in the resteraunt and we bought their bintangs. Easy.
Our bungalow was on the road side of the complex so noise was an issue but eventually even the locals go to bed! The roosters start fairly early but motorbikes and roosters are Bali sounds. The main tourists here are surfers so no party noise. No doof doof music. Just everyone beaching it and surfers going beach to beach looking for the best waves. There is a driver you can hire to go out beach trolling or shopping. The usual negotiation for the price and your off. Komang is very polite and patient. Happy to go wherever. This place is exactly what I expected. No disappointments. If you chose to stay Attlee low key chill out bungalows you won't be disappointed. The weather for mid august was awesome. Surf was pumping beach was 5 minutes down the track. Just push the cows out the way . It's like Bali used to be in the early 80's when we were last in this area.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms opposite the road if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Nice things: Charming garden, good location, safe with key (number locked did not work due to lack of batteries), small swimming pool.
Not nice things: Paid for 9 nights in Deluxe Bungalow but we changed to Standard bungalow after 1 night because of the noise of the road behind the room, and a neighbouring hotel's generator plus the bathroom door could not be locked so any thief could easily jump other the open air bathroom and enter the bedroom. Oh and ants! No kettle, no fridge (this I would expect in 'Deluxe' at that price)
I asked for a refund for the difference of price between standard and deluxe bungalow for 8 days, ha ha ha - try to get money back.... Managers excuse was they would have to ask the booking agency (Agoda) I doubt they ever asked. Anyway as we needed a late evening check out, I asked for it to be free as a compensation (if they could not refund the 80 Euros price difference), one manager agreed to 9pm, the next day another manager said no it must be 12 noon. After a lot of discussion they eventually agreed to 5pm.
Standard Bungalows are numbered 1 - 6, Deluxe 8 - 10. Bungalow 5 has two large beds, good for families (quietest room if you don't mind the rooster cockadoodle-do at all hours day and night)
There is only cold water in all rooms, no fridges, no kettles.
General cleanliness is not very good, and that seems just usual as the beaches are also littered. ON the surface everything looks okay but look in the corners and you see trash and lack of maintenance.
Restaurant serves simple range but tasty and not very expensive, nice polite staff.
Adjacent shop has good currency exchange rate.
Location, Balangan beach is just a few minutes walk away. The waves are high which is why it is popular with surfers. But the rest of the beach is narrow at high tide and the sun lounger hawkers take up all available space on the sand. So nowhere to lay down on your own place. A better beach is Dreamland Beach is a few km south, it has a small entrance fee of 5,000IDR and and parking another 5,000IDR.
Motorbike rental available at 60,000IDR a day

Room Tip: Do not pay extra for Deluxe, the Standard Bungalows are actually better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

As a hotelier, I seriously believe that I am quiet easy to please as I totally understand the service industry and how hard it can be to please everyone taste. The place is very cute with a manicure garden, a central pool which seems to be only 1m deep and nice bamboo and cajun bungalow. So the first impression is pretty good considering the rate.
But now the nightmare started:
1.Attitude of the staff, fake smiles, no help from anyone to carry the luggage.
2.Poor maintenance of the bungalow, the glass of the bathroom door was broken due to the fact that the door was rattling the floor. Not only the broken glass was not replaced but the door which was very hard to close not fixed.
3.Quality of the sleep, every morning when the staff start their shift they start to shout at each other making lot of noise with no respect for the tranquility of their guests. The gardener was even moving rubbish bins and collecting leaves underneath our bungalow window at 7am. Nice way to wake up.
4.Theft: on our last day my wife make up bag disappeared. We only realized when we arrived in our next hotel. I called the hotel and kindly asked if they have found it to which I received a reply the next day saying that they did not find anything. We did not want to accuse anyone of theft and benefit of the doubt wanted to give him a change to return it. Well it is clear than it was stolen by one of the staff member.
5.Liar: I worked in 5 star hotel and deliberately choose 2 or 3 stars hotels on holiday in order not to be thinking about work at all times but also as I enjoy simple things. One of them is the outdoor shower however I would have expected hot water. It was never mentioned on the website nor on the booking confirmation.
We ended up canceling our last 4 nights to move to Seminyak.
I recommend to the owner who built a very nice cute property to put a manager in charge and train the team in the basic of the hospitality industry.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed there for a week in May, because it was cheap and it is close to the beach. I expected something a bit primitive, because of the 2 stars. BUT! We were pleasantly surprised :) The garden is absolutely lovely! the staff is always nice and friendly, and the food was delicious! I was constantly worried that I will eat something that will make me sick and we had troubles finding a nice restaurant near by, but the food in brothers bungalow is very nice and save me from starving :D The room was nice it was just very hot because we choose a bungalow with fan. There some mosquitoes in the garden but we did not have any problem inside the room, it was bugs free :)

The only problem with this place is that is distant, and if you want to hang out in Seminyak, Sanur or elsewhere you will need to take a taxi for at least 40 min which would be around 150'000 rupiah. The location is near beaches that are perfect for surfing, in a quite rural area.

Room Tip: bungalow with AIR conditioner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

The first impression was very nice, they have good looking garden and a nice pool. The room looks good although the bathroom is very simple. But the staff is not really friendly and it's definitely not worth paying that much money.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brothers Bungalows Balangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brothers Bungalows Balangan

Address: Jalan Balangan Beach, Pecatu, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Pecatu
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Pecatu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brothers Bungalows Balangan 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brothers Bungalows is located in Pecatu, south of Bali. Where surfers can enjoy the surf beach. Our nearest beach can be reached on foot in just 1-3 minutes to the beach Balangan and surfing beach Dreamland is a hidden paradise. And there are many other beaches located at Pecatu.You are probably organising your holiday to Bali. Where do you want to go? If you love to go to a tourist area, restaurant,motor bike, transport,surfing, free wifi, Brothers Bungalows is the best place for you. If on the other hand, you love authentic Bali, you like to meet the friendly people, get a touch of their relaxed, swim and surfing visit the padang-padang beach, dreamland beach, blue point beach then Brothers Bungalows is your place!FREE WIFILAUNDRY SERVICESTRANSPORTATIONRENT CARS & MOTOR BIKESURF BOARD & BODY BOARDSPA & MASSAGES ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Brothers Bungalows Balangan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brothers Bungalows Balangan Bali/Pecatu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brothers Bungalows Balangan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.