We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big room but that's about it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mamo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mamo Hotel to your Saves list
Mamo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Jalan Labuhan Sait, Pantai Suluban Uluwatu, Pecatu, Bali 80364, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 38 Pecatu B&B and Inns
Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Big room but that's about it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We were quite impressed with the facade n entrance of hotel. The pool looks inviting but the room was tired and bad maintained. Quite unlike what is shown in pictures. Toilet was dark and dirty looking. Bad stained. The best part was the pool. Very nice for a mid day soak. Breakfast was too basic. Tools were hard and lots of flies around to left of hotel is key point beach. Right side leads to padang padang beach

Room Tip: Manage your expectations
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    18
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
5
13
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed at the Mamo Hotel for a week in September 2013. After a long trip to get to Uluwatu, I was extremely disappointed that my deluxe/superior room (not worth the upgrade) had barely any running water. We had only a dribble of water to take a shower. We informed the manager who suggested that we change to a neighboring room. The neighboring room's shower worked a little better but we found a puddle of water next to the bed suggesting that the roof leaked into this room. We then just used this room to shower until it became occupied.

Management then fixed the slow dribble of water in our original room to a medium dribble of water. During the rest of our stay I ended up showering by swimming in the pool and using the pool shower. I did find another hotel with a pool nearby but they were full. I tried to find other accommodations in the area but the hotel's wifi hardly worked so I did not move hotels due to this.

The room and private balcony did not face the ocean as advertised. Also, the restaurant was swarmed with flies because it is located next to a cattle field. I tried to ignore the flies that landed on our food while being cooked and transported to our table. You could see them swarming the kitchen through the window.

The other travelers who reviewed this hotel must have stayed on a lower floor and stayed at the hotel for a short time. I would not recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the lower floor. Choose a basic room do not upgrade to the superior/deluxe room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yekaterinburg, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed here in September, spacious rooms, very friendly staff, small swimming pool
Breakfast is good, more or less the same you u have on bali
Nice location to explore uluwatu, you can go to different beaches every day
Check out single fin bar, it's very close
Party on Sunday night

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for one night to go to the Sunday party at Single Fin. Great location, 2 min walk. The rooms are nice. Bathroom was ridiculous because the incline on the floor is wrong, so the whole room gets flooded when you shower. And I mean flooded, to the point where the water almost poured out into our room. Breakfast is the driest I've has, the glass of juice you get is so small it's literally just a sip... Speedy Internet connection, great pool, only three sun beds. Staff speaks poor English.

For the purpose I came there it was still perfect, in spite of some major flaws. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The mamo has a new restaurant just across the road this is where you go for breakfast ,the breakfast has improved since last year,and we found it plentiful.the staff at reception are a credit to the mamo,friendly and helpfull as always,walking distance to the uluwatu surf...yep their was a smelly drain in the bathroom but we had a few toilet balls on the drain lid that fixed it,think there was a bit of trouble with the water mains as this was being worked on down at padang padang.one night was disturbed by a mardi gras few doors down 2am, a bit inconsiderate guys!! a lovely clean friendly hotel thanks Mamo

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed at the Mamo hotel for two weeks in Uluwatu. Very clean hotel, good price, the room options are great value. Both rooms I stayed in had great views and were very spacious. The included breakfast with many options and the hotel has a great location, just minutes away from the Uluwatu break and restaurants and bars. The staff were friendly and helpful and spoke English well. Would definitely stay at Mamo again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

The number one positive of this hotel is the great location, just a short walk from the main break and great singlefin bar. The hotel itself is very basic. It's fine for just crashing at night in a clean serviced room. There is a problem with the sewerage, which stank out the whole bathroom, & u had to keep the door closed at all times or it escaped into the room. Staff are friendly enough. Breakfast is ok, fills a hole! It's pretty overpriced for what u get especially when u compare to hotels in Kuta/Tuban, but then I think most of Ulus is like that, coz the wave is just sick. I prob wouldn't stay again, I might take a gamble on somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mamo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamo Hotel

Address: Jalan Labuhan Sait, Pantai Suluban Uluwatu, Pecatu, Bali 80364, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Pecatu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Pecatu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mamo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mamo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamo Hotel Bali/Pecatu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.