We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for so-so food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Mango Tree Cafe

The Mango Tree Cafe
Jl Labuhan Sait | Padang Padang, Pecatu, Bali, Indonesia
+62 819-3652-0997
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 36 Restaurants in Pecatu
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: Mexican, Cajun & Creole, Tapas, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Chilled, relaxed atmosphere in the downstairs garden terrace and upstairs ocean view lounge. The best coffee and all day breakfast on the Bukit. Lunches of fresh salads, generous burgers and sandwiches. Dinner is fresh bbq seafood and steaks, curries and a new tapas menu. Dessert is a selection of cakes including the world's best cheesecake. Wi Fi is free and the service is friendly and casual. Just 200 meters up from the beach at Padang Padang.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Overpriced for so-so food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I've had much better food for cheaper at other cafes and restaurants in Bali and Gili. $10 USD for warm fruit juice and the bland gristle they call curry? Come on. I guess people come here for the wi-fi or lounging on couches upstairs. The only other customers here were buried in their laptops.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    31
    15
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Delicious Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Beautiful food! Highly recommend! Fresh and tasty meals. We had Sticky Spare Ribs and Mahi Fajitas! Top it off with the baked cheesecake! YUM!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“didnt live up to the hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

i read the reviews here and thought it would be good to go out to padang padang beach and go for lunch here before hand. i heard the brekky was good, but we decided to go for lunch. we sat upstairs. 4 of us ordered the chicken burgers each with a variation on the order (which is normally doesnt work in bali), 1 a beef burger, 1 prawn and avo salad and i ordered the fajitas. 2 burgers came out and the rest of the food didnt come out for another 10 mins. However, the fajitas were really nice as was the prawn and avo salad, when it came out. The lady got all the orders right apart from one, which was pretty good, but the chicken burgers tasted a bit funny and lots of gristle in them. they also had run out of cokes as well, which i found a bit unusal, but there were plenty of other drinks available.
i found it a little expensive for what you got, compared to other places around the area. was okay, might go back to try the breakfast, but would try other places first.
i found the service to be good and friendly

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good quality, poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Despite the good quality of all we tasted starting from juices and sandwiches and the cool location the guys weren't friendly at all, they let us feel like we were out of place. It was the first time we didn't leave any tips.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful, healthy food in Pedang Pedang.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Service is great, fast wifi, juices are yummy and the salads are so yummy. I get worried eating salads in Bali, but have eaten loads of salads here and never had a problem. Big Serves, nice and clean. I love it here!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mango Tree Cafe also viewed

Pecatu, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Pecatu, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 
Pecatu, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Pecatu, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to The Mango Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mango Tree Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.