We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 30th Birthday Celebration Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Bali Uluwatu Resort & Spa Bali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Bali Uluwatu Resort & Spa Bali to your Saves list
Anantara Bali Uluwatu Resort & Spa Bali
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl Pemutih - Labuan Sait | Impossible Beach, Uluwatu, Pecatu, Bali 80364, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
STAY LONGER PROMOTION
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Pecatu
singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My 30th Birthday Celebration Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I have stayed in many luxury hotel before in many parts of Asia. Anantara Uluwatu Spa & Resort is beautifully constructed in the cliff with unobstructed view. The resort itself is nicely done.

Our Oceanfront view suite has magnificent view of the South China Sea! The suite has spacious living room and toilet big enough for 2 for any standard. Best part of it was probably the outdoor jacuzzi tub with unblock ocean view!

The service is better than what my gf and I would have expected since reading not so good reviews here.

Gf book a private romantic dinner by the infinity pool overlook the ocean for my birthday.

All in all, the service level is of acceptable standard (However I felt that the English standard of the staffs is not quite there - wanted a bucket filled with ices to keep the Moët i have brought but they filled in up in a container thinking I would use it for consumption), resort is nice, the view is awesome!

What is lacking in the property is being poorly maintained. And it's a new property. I used to be in facilities management before. Hence the up keep of the facilities in the premises is rather poorly maintained. Otherwise, it's certainly one of the better ones I have came across thus far.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan W, General Manager at Anantara Bali Uluwatu Resort & Spa Bali, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Vincent,

Hello from Anantara Uluwatu! We thank you for sharing your experiences and are happy to learn that you both had enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your description of our location and its stunning sunset views and do hope that you will come back to enjoy those once again.

It is great you enjoyed our beautiful rooms with its outdoor jacuzzi and glad that you booked a romantic dinner, one of our specialties!

We have taken note of your comments on the maintenance where we are constantly improving.

Hope to see you again and very best regards in the meantime,

Stephan & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    75
    38
    22
    13
See reviews for
59
177
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is the third time for we couple to visit Bali. Uluwatu is definitely the most beautiful place in Bali. Anantara Uluwatu is just located on the cliff side which gives this hotel a gorgeous ocean view. You can relax yourself and enjoy the vacation atmosphere there. The service is good. Their staff is helpful and well-trained. You can communicate with them in English easily. One more, the SPA is so perfect. I highly recommend everybody live in this hotel should give it a try. However, there is one thing that disappointed me. That is, the hotel is less of privacy. The room type we lived is ocean view pool suite. Initially, we expected a pool which is not only "private" but also "privacy:. But unfortunately, everybody can look into your pool easily. You cannot swim in your own pool naked otherwise everybody can see your body easily. Not only our room, but also most rooms of this hotel is not privacy at all. If you are looking forward to an "absolutely privacy stay", you will be very disappointed like me.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan W, General Manager at Anantara Bali Uluwatu Resort & Spa Bali, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Brighty Juan,

Hello from Anantara Uluwatu Bali and thank you for sharing your good experience at our resort!

Thanks for your praise of our location, the relaxed ambiance and the special mentioning of our Anantara Spa! Sorry this time you were disappointed about the 'privacy' aspect of your room, indeed some rooms at the very pool front have lesser privacy than those on the higher floor, we shall take note of your request for your next stay.

We do hope to welcome you back soon and meantime best wishes from all of us,

Kind regards,
Stephan & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Uluwatu is a stunning place to be. The concept of a terraced, cliff side, boutique resort overlooking the dramatic ocean scape is a no brainer!

Unfortunately its the execution of this concept that lets this property down.

The entrance. It is isolated, sure if your game, you could walk out,but to what? As you wind through some lovely little farms, you then arrive at what looks like the expansive steps leading up a Mayan temple. It is very imposing and poorly done. There is hideous blue glass at the top and on our arrival, no one to be seen, no staff to welcome you and no help with bags. ( im sure this has been looked at and changed though).

The lobby has some stunning marble floors which perfectly capture the reflection of the far off ocean.

Staff at check in were fantastic, the lobby was a mix of bad taste and strange oddly purchased ( maybe in a rush) furniture.

Above the lobby are the bulk of the guest rooms, out front sprawls the villas.

Again more stairs to the villas. The resort, due to its cliff front perch, is covered in stairs, if you are not one who thinks practicing for an Everest summit is the ideal relaxing beach holiday, think carefully. People with children should be very very careful. We didn't see any, but this place is NOT a children's place. Lets be honest, this place is very secluded and feels like a couples retreat. Aside from the cliff face drop offs and vertical precipice stairs and the overall lack of attention to detail ( think wobbly cliff edge bannisters) make this a place for able bodied adults.

The rooms ( we had a lovely ocean view villa) are modern, different and well appointed. Lots of usable, well thought out spaces. Huge deck ( which like all the faux wood over the resort is already buckling, with huge gaps between joints) with great big sliding doors and a massive bathtub. This is awesome, it is a brilliant place to spend time doing absolutely nothing. I like the rooms.

The saving factor is the amazing swimming pool. Absolutely stunning!

Eating is limited and exorbitantly expensive. Food quality was there, but not matching the prices. Remember, it is not convenient to walk out and eat.

This place has the potential. It felt as though it was built in a rush and with reluctant funds or with upper management who just wanted to get it open and start making money. It really needs someone to come in and go over everything with an eye for detail and bring it up to the standard it could be and to match the prices they are asking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan W, General Manager at Anantara Bali Uluwatu Resort & Spa Bali, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Wingaba,

greetings from Anantara Uluwatu and thank you for sharing your comments, indeed we are a new team now and we have embarked on a journey to uplift our resort, with its huge potential as you acknowledge, in order to make it really special, all your constructive comments are duly noted and will be taken care of.

Thank you for your favorable description of our location and its views and our staff. Indeed, we are eager to make our guests holidays special and do hope to be able to welcome you back and showcase and demonstrate to you and other guests our true intention to make our resort a very special place,

With kind regards,
Stephan & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this resort for one week in early September. We were a little concerned about this resort given some negative reviews however had no reason to be as the resort and the staff really exceeded out expectations. We stayed in an ocean front pool suite which was heaven! Although not completely private it really didn't matter as the feel of the resort was peaceful and we had no problem with being able to see the main pool and the pool restaurant from our room. The rooms were massive and gorgeous. We could not fault the service we received, the general manager and assistant manager personally greeted us and all staff were happy to help with anything we asked for! Food service was a little slow at the pool restaurant but we were in holidays so really could care! Great hotel- we heard no construction noise and had a perfect holiday. Thanks to everyone at the Anantara from Karen & Michael

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan W, General Manager at Anantara Bali Uluwatu Resort & Spa Bali, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Karen & Michael,

Hello from Anantara Uluwatu and thank you very much for sharing your kind comments on your recent stay with us in September, we are happy indeed that you had a great time!

Thanks for highlighting the room and our staff and the undisturbed ambiance of the resort. We really look forward to welcoming you once again to Uluwatu!

Till then and with best regards,
Stephan & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We had an ocean front suite. The room was spacious and beautifully decorated. The view was fantastic, and we could view the beautiful sunset of uluwantu right in our room. The resort is located at a secluded area of uluwantu but close to uluwantu temple and Pandan Beach. Many beautiful memories of the place. Will definitely come back to recharge and enjoy the sunset.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan W, General Manager at Anantara Bali Uluwatu Resort & Spa Bali, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Lawrence,
Hello from Anantara Uluwatu Resort and thank you very much for sharing your great experience at our Resort. We are very happy that you had a great time and enjoyed our service and those great sunsets! Do come back for more, your favorite room will be ready again, all yours!
Kind regards,
Stephan & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at the breath taking Anantara Uluwatu Resort. We spent our honeymoon here in August 2012 and our 1-year anniversary September 2013. The staff was thoughtful enough to put us in the same glorious room which made our second visit extra special!

The staff was extremely hospitable and catered to every one of our last needs. I am gluten, ovo & lacto free which makes traveling difficult. However, Chef Kai was wonderful and made sure all my dinners were made with extra careful preparation and perfection.

The views are absolutely breath taking and the infinity pool is now my favorite pool out of all the five star resorts we've stayed in. My only complaint was when we were kept up way passed our bedtime due to a late night wedding party down at the Pool bar, but manager Mark made up for our lack of sleep with balinese massages at the wonderful spa. The spa was so blissful that is made me want to design our next house with some of the same features. I received one of the best massages of my life from the lovely Ani.

I would recommend this hotel to couples looking for some relaxation, beautiful views and wonderful service. We will be back for sure! Thank you Anantara

Room Tip: Any room with a view will be delightful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan W, General Manager at Anantara Bali Uluwatu Resort & Spa Bali, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear ErickaAnntionette,
Hello from sunny Anantara Uluwatu and thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience! We are indeed very glad that you came back, and of course the same room was all yours, with its great sunset views. Thanks also for mentioning our service, the team and Pak Marc and Ibu Ani.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back any time soon and your sunset room will be ready once again!
Kind regards,
Stephan & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Anantara Uluwatu is a fabulous Resort and Spa, just a short 10-15 minute drive from the airport at Denpasar and set in the most amazing cliff top location.

We booked a very private suite with a spa bath and our own swimming pool the suite was magnificent, elegantly decorated as are all the hotel amenities – labradorite stone throughout the lobby – unsurpassed quality.

The food is amazing, great selection and excellent quality.
The staff are friendly and the service excellent.

We made the right choice going with Anantara this is one of our all time favourite places for rest and relaxation, one of the worlds finest resorts and locations with outstanding quality, service and luxury. This was a wonderful 10 day holiday for us a perfect choice and yes in order to give all the rooms a great view of Impossible Beach there are a lot of steps but we did not find this a problem.

We must say that we almost did not book as there were several negative comments on tripadvisor – however we called the general manager to discuss these and were reassured that we would not be disappointed – and he was right.

Room Tip: The Ocean front rooms are well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan W, General Manager at Anantara Bali Uluwatu Resort & Spa Bali, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Matahari52!
Hello from Anatara Uluwatu and thank you very much for sharing your comments and experiences. We are very happy to learn that you had a good time and really do hope that you will visit us again soon. Yes this very private special room of yours is waiting for you. Till soon!
Best regards,
Stephan & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anantara Bali Uluwatu Resort & Spa Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Bali Uluwatu Resort & Spa Bali

Address: Jl Pemutih - Labuan Sait | Impossible Beach, Uluwatu, Pecatu, Bali 80364, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Pecatu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pecatu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pecatu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pecatu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Bali Uluwatu Resort & Spa Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
May your journey of inspired discovery begin...Set on the secluded shores of Bali's southern coast, Anantara Bali Uluwatu Resort & Spa is a haven of modern design and rugged natural beauty that offers a unique way to experience the Island of the Gods. Luxurious Bali villas each with private pools, carved into a hillside cascading into the sea distinguish us from other Bali resorts. Spa treatments set on the edge of a cliff. Situated on the aptly named Impossible Beach, with its wild waves, limestone cliffs, and secret caves, this Bali luxury resort is an escapist's dream. Anantara's signature services and facilities accompany you on this discovery of one of Bali's most breathtaking secrets. Take in the views from the floor-to-ceiling glass windows of your own private seaview penthouse. Escape into the pampering world of Anantara Spa. Start your day with a morning yoga class as you salute the rising sun. Feast on Mediterranean inspired cuisine as you watch another of Bali's legendary sunsets. Set on 1.7 Hectares of unspoiled coastline, you are sure to find your own private corner of this enchanting hideaway to call your own.Rooms and Amenities: 74 seaview suites, private pool villas and duplex penthouses Library Fitness centre Kids Club Cliff's-edge infinity swimming pool Anantara Spa Meeting room & facilities Indoor Mini TheatreDining and Entertainment In-room dining service Splash Poolside Mediterranean restaurant 360 Rooftop all-day dining restaurant 360 Rooftop lounge bar SONO Rooftop Teppanyaki BarActivities Guided yoga classes Regular shuttles to nearby beach, Nusa Dua and Kuta shopping & dining areas Complimentary bicycle rental Sunset temple tours with cultural performances Surfing Elephant trekking and other culture and nature excursions Diving and other water sports: windsurfing, jet skiing, banana boats, etc. Indonesian and Balinese cooking courses Balinese dance performance & lessons Golf resort nearby Please note that Anantara Bali Uluwatu Resort & Spa is currently not a member of the Global Hotel Alliance and does not participate in the GHA Discovery program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Bali Uluwatu Resort & Spa Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Bali Uluwatu Resort & Spa Bali Pecatu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Bali Uluwatu Resort & Spa Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.