We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet place near Uluwatu, ideal for surfers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lullaby Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pecatu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lullaby Bungalows
Save
You added Lullaby Bungalows to your Saves list
Jalan Melasti Labuhan Sait, Pecatu, Bali 80364, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 39 Pecatu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Quiet place near Uluwatu, ideal for surfers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked one of Lullaby’s four bungalows after reading the amazing reviews on Tripadvisor. The aim was to have a quiet few days of rest and it was the perfect place for that, as both the grounds and surrounding area are very quiet. The large rooms are also very good value for money and the price includes a huge breakfast that will keep you going for the best part of the day.

The beaches – and whole area – are very surf oriented, making it the perfect place for anyone looking to get in some surfing while away. The beaches (Padang Padang & Uluwatu) are much more scenic that those around the Kuta/Legian/Seminyak stretch, and stunning in the case of Uluwatu beach, which has a host of surf bars, rental shops and restaurants hanging off the cliffs. But this also meant they are smaller so seemed crowded – at least during peak season (we were there over the Christmas holiday) - so not as good for those looking to sunbathe/kick a ball around/swim. Renting a moped is pretty much essential, as Uluwatu beach and many good restaurants (Ulu Thai in particular served excellent food, as did “El Kabron”, a Spanish restaurant) are not within walking distance, and roads are not illuminated at night.

I would generally agree with most of the reviews so far on this site, but there were a few areas that could be improved upon. While the owner, is very easy to talk to and has many good suggestions for activities, places to go, she was not there for most of our stay. The local staff were friendly and helpful, but seemed quite shy and communication was fairly minimal (largely due to language barriers). As such a little additional material such as a basic printed map of the surrounding area and roads would have been useful for those without a clear idea of what the area offered.

Another minor niggle was the internet access, which was a little patchy (didn’t extend to the bungalow) and also not free. Though not expensive, the added charges and requirement for login details just seemed unnecessary and overly clunky. Particularly since people nowadays often have multiply devices to connect. On balance, however, these were minor issues.

Room Tip: If you want internet access during your stay, it would be worth asking for the bungalow nearest the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    15
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
71
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights after spending 7 nights on Gili Air island. We were so impressed by the beauty and atmosphere of Gili Air we were concerned we might not find it as enjoyable at Lullaby Bungalows... How wrong we were!
The grounds were stunning (very well maintained) and the bungalows were the same. They were nicely secluded and very spacious. Our bungalow was clean on arrival and stayed that way with the staff attending to it daily. The pool was great, an oasis away from the plagues of tourists on Padang Padang beach.

I've noticed on other reviews the day staff haven't got a good report regarding their English. I had no such experience! They answered every question we asked and were always helpful. At anytime of the day or night this was the case.

And yes we confirm that Germaine is a lovely human being, with a very generous heart.

We could not recommend this place more!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed at Lullaby for two nights when we arrived in Bali. We had been travelling for over 40 hours when we arrived, and we could not have been more pleased. Germaine, the owner, went out of her way to make us feel welcome. She gave us good advise on the nice places to go in the area, but also good advices on where to go next. The place is simply stunning. The bungalows are very nice and comfortable, the pool and garden are superb. The staff was very friendly and helpful too. Their pancakes are amazing!! It was the perfect place to start our vacations, and we were heartbroken to leave. Germaine described this place as a little paradise and we could not agree more. They totally deserve their good Tripadvisor reviews! The best place we've stayed in Bali.
Thank you Germaine! Ariane and Charles

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

With its gorgeous grounds, inviting pool & 4 comfortable bungalows, this place is fantastic for a beautiful relaxing break. It is the perfect place to chill out by the pool reading a book, have a massage, wander to the beach or walk to one of the local restaurants for a refreshing cocktail. Buddha Soul was our favourite restaurant, it’s about 1 minutes walking distance.
Lullaby is the perfect romantic place for a couple but it would also be excellent for a large family or group of friends, as with only 4 bungalows, you could book out the place, for one big party.
There is about 5 restaurants close by, but if you do not want to leave Lullaby they also cater for meals. Breakfast was included; I loved the banana cinnamon pancakes & fresh watermelon juice. All the food in Bali is inexpensive & fresh. Fruit & vegetable have that home grown flavour.
Germaine, Wayan, & their staff are very helpful they organized taxi drivers to the Fire Dance at the monkey Temple ($15 AUS return, the driver waits for you & Jimbaran for a fresh seafood meal ($20 AUS return, driver again waited).
Wayan took us fishing, we had lots of fun, he taught me & my partner the art of looking for & chasing boiling (this is where the little fish are on the surface of the ocean, creating a boiling effect, with big fish for catching below. Also from his boat, we had the advantage of seeing some of the most beautiful scenery Bali has to offer.
Lullaby hires out motor scooters, I have never tried to ride one but on my next visit, I have put this on my bucket list. We found everything that was needed was in walking distance, there are a few hills & steps to the beach, I’m in my 50’s & a smoker but found pacing myself also taking some cold water, the hills were not an issue.
Panang beach is a great place to visit, it is very relaxing, not many hawkers like the major Bali beaches. Just a couple that are trying to sell their wares but if you politely say no, they will not keep at you & if you are like me & enjoy shopping you can find a bargain or two. Yes for the men they do sell Bintang at the beach!
I would like to thank all the people who do put their input on trip advisor, as without you we would have never found this amazing place with such genuine & helpful owners.

Room Tip: All bungalows are equally as good as each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed In Lullaby Bungalows for 4 nights in June 2012, after staying here i wouldnt stay anywhere else in Bali. Had been on a trip including K.L and Malaysia and this has to be the best accomadation of the whole trip. Friendly staff, felt part of the family, breakfast was insanely good and i miss the coffee so bad!

5 minutes walk from Padang Beach which is beautiful, awesome surf.
Check out the local reggae bar, Germaine will no doubt recommend it, also the thai restaurant up the road, ulu thai...best thai food ive eaten...and ive been to thailand!!

Outside showers are amazing, cant fault anything about this place, worth every penny.

Cant wait until i return.

Room Tip: Taxi's at night are a good option because of the street dogs, can be a little intimidating if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baiona, Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The owner is really friendly and the place is beautiful, well kept, and incredibly romantic.

One of my best place to stay in Bali.

The only downer I could see would be the expensive extras: 5$ for wifi or 1.5$ for water

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Lullaby Bungalows is like a secret little paradise! The place is so peaceful and beautiful. After our visit to Ubud we came back to Lullaby and it just felt like coming home again!

The bungalows are simpel but beautifully decorated in Balinese style. Very clean also. The beds make for a perfect sleep after touring the island or a day of surfing. And the bathrooms... well, I just miss taking showers under the showers right now, as they have no roof. Loved it!

The garden and pool are also gorgeous and very well taken care of. Because it's so calm (not boring! just peaceful :) it felt like you had the whole place to your self.

The restaurant serves perfect breakfast with enough choice. I especially recommend the watermelon juice which is ready for you when you check in. A very nice refreshment after a long flight :) All dishes we tried are delicious. There are many nice restaurants near LB but eating at the bungalows itself is also a good option.

The staff is amazing. Any request are always answered with a big smile! And the owners Deppy and Germaine are lovely people, very relaxed, always prepared to answer your questions and help where they can, giving tips for diner, sightseeing or whatever you need.

Lullaby Bungalows is the perfect stay for your visit in Bali. I will definitely go back there one day!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lullaby Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lullaby Bungalows

Address: Jalan Melasti Labuhan Sait, Pecatu, Bali 80364, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Pecatu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Pecatu
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Lullaby Bungalows Hotel Bali
Lullaby Bungalows Bali/Pecatu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lullaby Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.