We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unhygienic and too pricey for what it is” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Alamanda Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pecatu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alamanda Villas
Save
You added Alamanda Villas to your Saves list
Jl Pantai Bingin | Bingin, Pecatu, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Pecatu
Portrush, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very unhygienic and too pricey for what it is”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

I don't usually leave reviews and am only doing so in the hope others won't stay here. We paid $50 a night and prepaid for two weeks. We moved out after two nights and forfeited our stay as we weren't going to get any refund or relocated. There was a group of us (7) here and we all felt the same. To be fair, the rooms were doable. Sheets were dirty and not changed in the two mornings we put up with the place. The main problem was the bathroom. My husband got a poorly tummy and when he was outside in the toilet (getting soaked in the rain) he was getting eaten alive. I realise there are insects even in the nicest of places, and trust me I have experienced that, but this seemed so much worse. The bath was full of ants. They bite your feet when you sit down on the toilet. I dropped the toilet roll and picked it up within two seconds and it was covered in insects. The toilet wasn't cleaned for the two mornings we were there. I could have tolerated it, maybe, but it is not a holiday place, it's a pace to test endurance. We are somewhere so much better for not that inch more per night. And the customer service from Bali retreats was poor. We all complained. Yet they haven't offered any of us any sort of refund and we all prepaid for two weeks. Very poor.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Alamanda is a pleasant little compound above the cliffs of Bingin Beach. I did a bit of research and this place for $50 AUD is very good. I love this beach. Alamanda really is very close to the beach. Up the steep steps, past the warungs, over the garbage... turn left and it's just there on the right. It is a small compund and the villas are large. The pool is small and clean and it's all a bit of an oasis, really. A local woman gave me anawesome massage by the pool. It was very peaceful. The local families who 'run' the place don't speak much; they don't intereact much at all. They lie on the mats and watch the communal tv but will assist with questions as best they can.

Room Tip: All good as far as I could see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

At the price-point, this place delivers exactly what you would expect - no less, and no more. Our room was mostly clean, airy (though a bit dark - bring a head torch if you want to read in bed at night) and the air-conditioning and hot water were in working order. The outdoor bathroom design is a great feature, showering with the birds and butterflies is very much a Bali experience. The villas are set in a nice garden, a bit back from the chaos of the clifftop and more peaceful. We did notice that the people working there were not as helpful as we've experienced in other parts of Bali, so you do need to chase down your breakfast, etc, but it wasn't a major drama and they are friendly enough if you make an effort to speak to them. And speaking of breakfast, definitely go for the banana pancakes.

PS The picture of the infinity pool shown here was definitely NOT taken at Alamanda :) Go and have a drink at The Calyx if you want to see an amazing infinity pool in Bingin

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights, just to escape, and it is the perfect location for that. Very quiet and out of the way, but just a short drive to many local beaches or even the resorts if you are so inclined. The staff was great and very helpful. Motorbikes are available as is breakfast, served in the courtyard. A beautiful beach is just a short walk down stone stairs away. I stayed over New Years, so there was some noise from the nearest resort which played techno music until 0600, but every other night was silent and perfect. Great for both a family or couple and priced right for the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I arrived at Bingin Beach with no accommodation booked and happened upon Alamanda Villas. I was surprised to read another review stating that the staff was unhelpful - my experience has been the opposite and in fact they let me have a late check out (until 7 pm) at no extra cost. The place is extremely clean, and the grounds well groomed. I had a massage in the pavilion by the pool at sunset - highly recommended. The food is great too. All round, a wonderful find and lovely oasis, just a minute's walk from the path that leads down to the beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I really, really wanted to like this place ... We arrived laden with heavy backpacks and surfboards which the staff watched us struggle to our our rooms with. This was our first encounter with unhelpful Balinese who normally turn themselves inside out to help you.

The linen, although washed, had stains as did the pillows which was very off-putting.

Our room (No 3) had no glass windows, only a couple of shutters, so was extremely dark.

Breakfast is served late, after the staff arrive at about 8..

On the positive side, we met some nice travellers while staying here (who didnt seem to have any probs with the accomm). Also, the pool was nice and the gardens kept immaculately. I can highly recommend the banana pancakes for breakfast.

If looking for a bite to eat within walking distance, Julie's Warung down the cliff is great. Fabulous views and fresh food, both western & Asian. El Kabron, a 10 min walk away, is great for drinks whilst watching the sun set.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

I was really in two minds whether to write this review because I don't want Alamanda to become overcrowded or to expensive; that probably says a lot.
We booked Alamanda through Bali Retreats, a Gold Coast based company, who made it all very easy. (I would use the company again without hesitation)
There are 7 bungalows in total, only 2 of which are for families - which we were - 2 families of 2 adults and 2 kids each. We got bungalows 6 and 7. Both were large enough for all 4 of us although our kids are younger (the oldest of the 4 kids was 8 years old). I probably wouldn't use the family bungalows with teenagers.
Our bungalow (number 6) had a queen bed for us plus a single bed and a mattress on the floor for the kids. The single bed had it's own mosquito net which we stretched over the mattress. it was slightly bigger than the other bungalow.
The bathroom was enclosed. There were pebbles on the floor of the shower as mentioned in the previous review, but I loved it (less chance of picking up any fungal things i figured)
Bungalow 7 also had a queen bed too but only a mattress on the floor for the kids and no extra mozzie net. It had the cutest open air bathroom.
Both bungalows had 2 air cons which I never quite mastered. Soap and towels were supplied.
We all got a bit cold at night, even with the air cons off as each bed is only supplied a very thin sheet. Common sense should've made us ask for a second sheet.
There were no safes in the room but our bungalow had a lockable cupboard so we all just used that.
Breakfast was included. It was a bit slow to come out (we ordered at 8am when they opened and we didn't eat unit 8.45/9ish but it was really yummy, and between the 8 of us, we tried pretty much everything on the menu. After a couple of days we started ordering bfast at night which helped a bit. If we had been travelling without kids the lateness woudln't have mattered so much but boys who wake up at 6.30am/7am are really hungry come 8.45-9am.
We had dinner there one night and lunch too - the food was quite good.
The pool was regular backyard size but as we seemed to be the only ones using it that was fine. Chlorination off the pool has no science behind it - we saw someone just chucking in handfuls at the end of the day. Consequently 2 of the boys got superficial burns on their fingertips from touching the bottom o the pool or steps. All 4 boys got boardie rashes on the thighs and behind their knees which we attribute to sensitivity to the chlorine. (we spen 9 days in Tuban after Bingin and no issues with rashes there)
The gardens are lovely and well maintained. The staff, although quiet, were lovely people.
Only a short 5 minute walk to the top of the steps down the cliff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alamanda Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamanda Villas

Address: Jl Pantai Bingin | Bingin, Pecatu, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Pecatu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Pecatu
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Alamanda Villas Bali/Pecatu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamanda Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.