We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alila Villas Uluwatu

Save Saved
You added Alila Villas Uluwatu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Alila Villas Uluwatu
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl Belimbing Sari Banjar Tambiyak Desa Pecatu, Pecatu, Bali 80364, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Pecatu
Seminyak, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Pictures can be worth a thousand words but having had the opportunity to spend some time at this resort I can only say that this was one of the most beautiful experiences I have ever had. If you like minimalistic surroundings then this is the place for you. With impeccable service and great food I will always recommend this place. They have a great team and I think a lot of this must also come from their great manager Marco. A big big thank you to this Alila Team.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    395
    45
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
71
305
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I hope there are more than 5 starts that I could rate for this property. We had our wedding on 25 May and spent 3 nights here. It has been 2 weeks+ passed and my husband, my families, my friends are still looking at the photos we took in Alila with the flashback of our sweet memories there. We were totally pampered by the staff there. Our butler Eddy, he is really a sweet and nice guy taken care of everything. I really want to express my gratitude to him during our stay in the 3 bedroom villa. Especially when he helped us to find back my friend's iphone. (My careless friend left her iphone on the beach which is 650 steps down the resort....and Alila actually sent his staff to find it back)
Ari the event manager is also very professional and super organised. I am really happy with all the arrangements made. Without a passionate staff like her, the wedding wouldn't go as perfect as it did.

Regarding our stay at the One Bedroom Villa, perhaps the only thing could have improved was the sound insulation. We could hear the sound of the water during our sleep. I understand that the water system might not be possible to be switched off. Apart from that everything was absolutely great! We enjoyed the private pool a lot! and of course the starry sky at night as well! was really amazing..

I really love the architecture of the whole property. My top favourite view is the picture frame at the lobby which frame the infinity pool, the view that will make you melt...I am also really appreciate the drop-off point to be at the same level of the lobby, which create a really welcoming and homey experience.

The design of the villa is already excellent, their hospitality is beyond that and push it to the other level. Please keep this up to the property in your group. We will come back for sure! This is definitely our best experience so far!

Room Tip: No comment on this. our room was nearly a perfect one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Alilas Villas really sets you in the mood for a relaxing trip. But here is my review thorough review:

Rooms-

PROS: Nicely appointed, spacious, and super relaxing.

CONS: The one bedroom villas are right next to each other separated by a wall. If your neighbor was noisy whilst being in his private pool right outside the villa (as in my case) then it can really dampen the experience.

Tip: The set up of the hotel is set up in a way where the main lobby is where everything is ( spa, restaurant, gym, etc) then all the rooms are in the three rows, one being the closest and the third row being the farthest. What does that mean? Well, if you were on the the third row (room starting with number 3) it will be a bit of a hike to go down to the main lobby (dont count on the buggy service, its usually late). So if you dont feel like walking down all the time, get a room on the first row. The only caveat is third rows will generally have better views of the ocean. Make up your mind!


Food:

The food in both restaurants was below par at best. However, this is not something that is limited to the hotel only, the food in Bali generally needs an upgrade.

Location:

It is a nice location on the ocean. However, nothing is around you. The busy town (seminyak) is a 25 minute drive from the hotel.

Amenities:

I have not tried the spa since it was closed for maintenance and they said that they are using a 3 bedroom villa as a temporary location for the spa (bummer). The gym was smallish, I was working out alone however. If there were two other people in the gym, it would be quite crowded. Also, the hotel does not have or arrange any activities aside from morning Yoga. This is something they should probably start arranging.

Service:

This is where the human element makes up for any shortcomings. Excellent service. Every villa has a dedicated butler, ours was Renee, and she was marvelous and very attentive. She would not say no for an answer, always strives to please. Love the service.

Albeit some shortcomings, this is surely a hotel I would return to.

Room Tip: If you want great views get a room at the third row. If you want a room closer to the main lobby whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

ok, so this is almost a year ago that we stayed at ALILA; and i realise this may be a bit late to make a review, BUT, it's been a year and we are still talking about Alila and how it was THE MOST amazing place we have stayed - (and we stay at nice place a lot!).

It's expensive. but you get what you pay for and even more.

the rooms are just gorgeous, spacious with its own pool.

the breakfasts are small portions but elegant and tasty.

lunch at the most beautiful infinity pool is just STUNNING

Dinner at the Indonesian restaurant is just AMAZING. people gave us names of top best restaurants we had to try in Bali but the restaurant at Alila was just SO delicious, we never had dinner elsewhere. I would give anything to have that fish and gorgeous rice with the beautiful flavours again!

If you're tossing up with some place else and this place - GO WITH ALILA.

you will NOT be disappointed. at all.

Room Tip: Get the rooms that are higher - the view is beautiful. Corner rooms are good too as there are no tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We spent the last 3 nights of our honeymoon at Alila which was amazing. The resort area & pool offer stunning views. Our 1 bedroom pool villa was amazing, we were blown away upon entering! You could easily not leave your villa for days! The staff are lovely and always there to help with whatever you need. We were lucky enough to get late checkout free until our evening flight which was a great end to our honeymoon!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Our stay at Alila Villas Uluwatu was by far our best hotel experience ever.
Great architecture, exquisite location, wonderful staff and delicious food.
A perfect 10.
If you love a remote spot with rough beaches then this is your place to go to. We loved it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Private pool, amazing food and a simply stunning hotel. Every corner gives you a wow factor with another cool view. Could have quite easily never come home, would go there again or recommend in a heartbeat!

Make sure you go to the restaurant as it's some of the nicest food you'll have on the island

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alila Villas Uluwatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alila Villas Uluwatu

Address: Jl Belimbing Sari Banjar Tambiyak Desa Pecatu, Pecatu, Bali 80364, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Pecatu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pecatu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pecatu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alila Villas Uluwatu 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alila Villas Uluwatu is the first all-pool villa luxury resort in the Alila Signature collection. Designed by award-winning architectural firm WOHA, each of 84 villas showcase contemporary Balinese-inspired design. Poised on an elevated plateau that meets with limestone cliffs sweeping down to the cerulean Indian Ocean, the view from Alila Villas Uluwatu showcases nothing less than nature’s perfection. Each villa offers private pool and cabana with 24 hour host (butler) service. Alila Villas Uluwatu designed in harmony with fully respecting the natural environment, continuing the Alila tradition of a total destination experience that is serene, sensual, and surprisingly different. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, AsiaRooms, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Alila Villas Uluwatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Villas Uluwatu Hotel Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu Bali/Pecatu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alila Villas Uluwatu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.