We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing. AH MAZE ING.. Amazing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alila Villas Uluwatu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Alila Villas Uluwatu to your Saves list
Alila Villas Uluwatu
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl Belimbing Sari Banjar Tambiyak Desa Pecatu, Pecatu, Bali 80364, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Pecatu
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Amazing. AH MAZE ING.. Amazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This have been by far one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. I can't even express in words how beautiful it is, you simply have to just go to believe it. See it in person. The staff is genuinely friendly and always happy and smiling. Oh. And beyond helpful. I stayed two nights here in Uluwatu and two nights in Seminyak's Legian. Although Alila was beautiful on it's own, I believe where it's located, high up in the mountains, that may cause a lot of passing showers...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    54
    23
    10
    3
See reviews for
85
347
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

There’s a spot on the private cliff sides of Bali, Indonesia that is possibly the most beautiful place on Earth. It overlooks the crashing blue waves of the Indian Ocean and is surrounded by the opulent greenery of unadulterated Mother Nature. The sky, so perfectly blue, is adorned with crisp, clean clouds that are constantly morphing into oblong elephants and giraffes. It is a place so breathtaking you dare not close your eyes, because you’re afraid it might all disappear on you. This must be heaven, I would say to myself. Nope, this is Alila Villas Uluwatu.

I stayed at Alilia Villa Uluwatu for one night in 2013. And I still dream about it to this day.

The room, food, service and atmosphere were absolutely unparalleled to any other. If you're looking for a place to celebrate an anniversary or honeymoon, Alila Villas Uluwatu is hard to beat. You can literally open your living room doors and see your private pool and cabana before you. And no matter where you look, the views are spectacular.

I can't wait to go back one day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Usually I upload my reviews to Tripadvisor quickly. This time I held back a couple of months, to see if the gloss would wear off. No such chance. This place is outstanding in every department. You will be pampered and treated like royalty, whilst enjoying the privacy to do whatever it is you like to do behind closed door. Staff are attentive, but it never feels forced. The grounds are a delight.

The main disappointment was asking for a seafood recommendation outside the hotel, and subsequently being farmed out to a joyless tourist trap on the beach, where scraggly crustaceans were foisted upon us.

Why leave? It's perfect there. Everything works, everything is in the right place. You need never ask for more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed 5 nights in this luxurious resort where all units are one bedroom villas, and some 3 to 4 rooms villas.

Upon arrival, we were stunt by the beautiful setting, with a peaceful infinity pool starting from the lobby. The staff greeted us with welcoming cool towels and drinks, before taking us to the villa.

We later witnessed a wedding celebration at the hotel, and enjoyed the view of the setting sun from the iconic hanging cabana... just splendid.

The Warung Indonesian restaurant serves excellent Indonesian food, and we strongly recommend the Pork and prawn satay.

The access to the private beach is a must try. It takes 600 steps through a steep decline to reach the quiet beach at low tides, but it is definitely worth it. Make sure you are decently fit, as the climb back up can be quite a challenge.

It is not the typical "run of the mill" 5 star resort. The attentive yet discreet service from all the staff and the serene ambience, plus the luxurious comfort the villa offers, made our stay an unforgettable experience.

Will love to come back.

Special mention to Nikki and Rurul for their attentive and impeccable service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Alila was our favorite hotel of the 4 luxury hotel we stayed at while in Bali. The rooms are so unique and every detail was so appreciated. They have "his" and "hers" products that were superb. The views, beds, restaurants, and service were all top notch. I loved that the hotel is environmentally conscious - the pool is salt water and products are all natural.

Pro's: Comfortable beds, amazing views, excellent restaurant (must have the homemade Ice Cream), great yoga, perfect service

Con's: There isn't a local town to walk too - didn't really matter b/c we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawker, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Went there for a wedding reception for a weekend. I have to say, the place is romantic for getaways. The sound of waves at night, the riding on the beach, the pool side parties.

The service was excellect. Only thing is the location is quite far from the airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I went for a weeks stay for our anniversary. It was absolutely gorgeous the sunsets, the food, the pool, the friendly staff, it all made the experience quite unique. We would both recommend Alila villa Uluwatu as a great romantic escape for any couples wanting to reignite the flames.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alila Villas Uluwatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alila Villas Uluwatu

Address: Jl Belimbing Sari Banjar Tambiyak Desa Pecatu, Pecatu, Bali 80364, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Pecatu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pecatu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pecatu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alila Villas Uluwatu 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alila Villas Uluwatu is the first all-pool villa luxury resort in the Alila Signature collection. Designed by award-winning architectural firm WOHA, each of 84 villas showcase contemporary Balinese-inspired design. Poised on an elevated plateau that meets with limestone cliffs sweeping down to the cerulean Indian Ocean, the view from Alila Villas Uluwatu showcases nothing less than nature’s perfection. Each villa offers private pool and cabana with 24 hour host (butler) service. Alila Villas Uluwatu designed in harmony with fully respecting the natural environment, continuing the Alila tradition of a total destination experience that is serene, sensual, and surprisingly different. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Alila Villas Uluwatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Villas Uluwatu Hotel Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu Bali/Pecatu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alila Villas Uluwatu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.