We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing compares” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alila Villas Uluwatu

Save Saved
You added Alila Villas Uluwatu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alila Villas Uluwatu
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl Belimbing Sari Banjar Tambiyak Desa Pecatu, Pecatu, Bali 80364, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Pecatu
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nothing compares”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

It has been over two years since we have been to the Alila, but I finally got myself onto trip advisor as my husband and I travel a lot. I have just finished travelling around Italy and stayed in some pretty special hotels but nothing touches our experience at the Alila. Everything was truly amazing!!!! From the staff to the rooms, the restaurants, the spa, the pool and the area surrounding.......Heaven!!!!!!! Plan to go back next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing. All are simply perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    398
    45
    18
    9
    3
See reviews for
71
307
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We only stayed for two nights but had a really memorable stay.

My husband and I have stayed in fantastic hotels all over the world and Alila is up there with the very best. The hotel is simply stunning especially at night. It is very understated and classy. The rooms are very big and lovely with every possible comfort. This hotel exceeds the pictures and has an incredible wow factor. The design detail is exceptional.

We were very lucky to have a wonderful personal "butler" called Ary who tended to our every need with a smile. I had a bad cough when I arrived, caught on the plane from Java and he continually made sure I was looked after and (several times) made me the most delicious ginger/lemongrass/honey tea which was just so good. Also, we not charged for this which is even more appreciated!

It was our wedding anniversary and Ary had arranged for a huge box of petits-fours plus strawberries dipped in chocolate etc.... a lovely touch. One evening the towels were beautifully laid out in the form of swans with a rose, and a rose bath prepared .... ahhh !!

We ate at their Warung restaurant and it was delicious. Great ambiance too on the first night as there was a live singer. We thought the prices were also very reasonable for such a great place. On our second night we left this beautiful oasis to go to see the sunset at the (world-famous) Rock Bar about half an hour away by taxi. It was quite tacky (and even the VIPs had to queue to get in!!) and we wished we had stayed at the Alila which was far superior.

Breakfasts were fabulous too with stunning views! Just amazing!

The Alila is worth every penny and is highly recommended! In Java we stayed at the Amanjiwo and although beautiful, at approx $500 more a night than the Alila, it was not as good.

So thank you to Ary and all the staff at the Alila who made our stay so memorable!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Everything about this resort is just top-notch. The property, the villa, the facilities, the landscape, the food, the service and even the amenities are totally out of this world. I can’t find anything to criticize except for the price (booze is exceptionally expensive, even for HK standards). But hey, you get what you pay.

My girlfriend and I came to Alila Uluwatu to celebrate her 30th birthday. We chose this resort for its immaculate décor, secluded location, as well as recommendations from friends who’ve stayed there before. And we dare proclaim that everything about this resort has exceeded our expectations.

Around a month prior to arrival you’re invited to fill in a questionnaire sent via email asking about your preferences of, say, choice of pillow, spa service, butler service, diet, etc. This will determine what you’ll be enjoying during your stay. After you land into Denpasar Airport and have cleared immigration and customs you’re immediately greeted by an Alila staff who takes you to your limo (if you’ve booked one). It’s an approximate 45-min ride from the airport to the resort with moderate traffic. The minute you step out of the limo, you’re immediately blown away by the picturesque scene of the Indian Ocean from the lobby. The staff will guide to a lounging area for the extremely simple and efficient check-in procedure (they only ask for your passport and credit card). Afterwards, you are then whisked off to your villa in a buggy driven by your personal butler who tells you everything you need to know about the resort. We stayed at row 4 of the property, because we were advised of the better view of the Indian Ocean (highly recommended).

The villa is absolutely stunning, in terms of décor and layout. You have your own private pool (small but adequate) and cabana (extremely spacious). The bed is extremely comfortable with soft linens and your pre-selected pillows. The bathroom is extremely spacious with a his and hers washing basin and amenities (probably L’Occitane). If you’re adventurous you have to try their outdoor shower. The only peeping toms are the local monkeys and birds. There are 2 doors that allow easy access to the pool and cabana. One with direct access to the bathroom so that you avoid wetting the floor in the main room. The other door is in the main room. The bath tub offers adequate space for 2 adults. When we arrived ours was already filled with warm water, flower petals and bubbles (points added here). The “pee and pooh” area is located at the far end of the bathroom and equipped with a magazine rack for those who like to read while doing their thing.

The food is simply decadent. For breakfast you have a generous selection of breads, pastries, fruits, meats, cheeses, juices, etc to choose from. Everyday something new is served. We skipped lunch because we normally eat like a king for breakfast. For dinner, we went for both the western restaurant and Indonesian restaurant. Both were fantastic in their own ways. For Indo cuisine, they start you off with condiments and a generous selection of sauces you can dip into. You mustn’t miss the satays, meat so succulent and best of all heated on a mini coal stove so that they’re always served warm. The pork rib was cooked to perfection and literally melts in your mouth. If you desire more local flavors to fill the stomach go for the mie goreng or nasi goreng. You won’t be disappointed. Our 2nd dinner was staged at the cabana in our villa because I wanted something private for my girlfriend’s big day. I asked our butler GeDe (pronounced as Good Day) to decorate the room with balloons (extra costs incurred). He even suggested enhancing the romanticism with flower petals and candles (on the house). And boy did he and his trusty side-kick do an impeccable job in spicing up the ambience. For dinner, we started with a crab claw dish and salad, which were both excellent in terms of taste and presentation. The yellowtail fish was a bit dry but still not too bad. We concluded the dinner with a small half pound cake I ordered a month in advance. GeDe even threw in 2 apple crumbles on the house, because he thought we were not filled (so kind of him).

If you crave excitement this is definitely not the place. But this resort offers other extra-curricular activities like yoga and spa to pamper your mind and soul. I’m not much of a spa fanatic, but my girlfriend was very relaxed after her 90-min treatment, while I spent some time at the gym. Apart from swimming in your own villa or at the main pool (this is where you get the best view of the Indian Ocean), you mustn’t miss the resort’s own private beach, but be prepared to walk 600 flight of stairs down and another 600 up again. The best time is to go during the low tide, as you see more of the beach like corals and sea creatures. The first time we went was at around 4pm, and the second time at 7am (tide at its lowest). The beach was very private though not big, and locals could be seen walking on the corals.

Alila’s service is one of the best we’ve ever experienced. They must have very strict training regimes for all their staff. GeDe did a fantastic job in taking care of us whenever he was needed. Every time we’d bump into him he’d greet us with a big warm smile. All the other staff were also very friendly.

We stayed at this resort for 4 days and were reluctant to leave. The minute we hopped onto our limo, we were already missing everyone and everything at Alila, especially GeDe who was such an angel to us. But the top-notch service doesn’t end here, and is extended to your departure at the airport. As you leave the limo another Alila staff assists you through the entire check-in process before bidding you farewell at the immigration counter.

Alila, you have done an excellent job in spoiling us from top to bottom. We hope to return very soon.

Tips:
If you’re traveling during the peak season (during the dry season of Sep to Apr), be prepared to endure long queues at the immigration. We waited for 1.5 hrs just to clear immigration and customs, and were robbed of USD 5 just to retrieve our suitcases from those greedy airport porters. Using the expedited passport and visa service (around UDS 35-38) is highly recommended because the immigration process should take only 5 mins. But this is not needed when you depart Bali.

Though tipping is not mandatory, but have sympathy for these guys because they make a very modest living of around USD 150 per month. A reasonable tip of around 10,000 to 20,000 IDR would suffice.

Best time to go is during the dry season – less mosquitoes, cooler weather and nice breeze.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We've travelled to Alila twice in a year. Once in June 2012 and a second time in March 2013. On both occasions we stayed over 5 nights. This place is amazing and it is the benchmark for which we now judge all resorts. I wish we never came here as I feel ruined for life! Be it the amazing food, the award wining restrained architecture, the in-room service or the amazing spa treatments I cannot think of a single thing to fault it...well maybe an inclinator from the beach - it comes with a health warning and I know why! But seriously I could not recommend it highly enough. We're always dreaming of our next trip to Alila.

Room Tip: Having stayed twice all rooms are great. It really doesn't matter which level you are on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Let me begin by saying my partner and I only came here for the Warung restaurant for dinner but we were given the thankful opportunity to walk around and witness one of the most beautiful resorts I've ever seen. The presentation and design of the entire complex was stunning with a soothing balance between luxury and nature. You'll find little friends around every corner (frogs and geckos) and water features to make you feel as if you're in heaven.Unfortunately we did not get to spend a night at the resort to truly experience the comfort and bliss but even the dinner had wonderful presentation, great taste and excellent service. Highly recommended for those who are willing to splurge a little!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Sarawak
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This place is totally out of this world! My wife and I chose Alila Villas Uluwatu for our honeymoon and this is the best decision ever made. For the money that was paid, we were treated like celebrities where truly our every whim and needs were taken care of. The villa was spotless and well prepared for our arrival, the public areas were very peaceful, serene and zen, and the food was excellent! The spa is another must do when you spend time at this destination. The views are to die for, especially from the public cabana. Pricey it was, but for my wife & I, it was the best money spent as we were fully rejuvenated after our stay there. We were very heavy hearted when it was time for us to leave, a feeling we have never felt before staying in other hotels/resorts. Give it a shot and I promise you an eye opening experience!

Room Tip: Ask for the top level (as the villas are laid out in steps), room numbers beginning with 4xx.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Alila Villas Uluwatu is one of the most beautiful designed hotels by many standards. Modern and timeless.Tastefully done in every details. The sense of space and privacy that it creates in each villa, the facilities in the premises, and the personal service distinguished itself from other ultra luxury hotels. One needs to be there to fully appreciate what this property has to offer, and the thought and design put into this property that is so in tune with the surrounding.

My wife and I spent three nights at the hotel which was truly a pleasure. The food and services at both restaurants were of high standard, not to mention the mesmerising ocean view on show. We also enjoyed the yoga session and spa facility/massages, adding to the well-being experience. We felt totally relaxed. One can be forgiven for not venturing out of the hotel for the entire stay in Bali.

Room Tip: Villas at the top of the hill provides better ocean view and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alila Villas Uluwatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alila Villas Uluwatu

Address: Jl Belimbing Sari Banjar Tambiyak Desa Pecatu, Pecatu, Bali 80364, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Pecatu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pecatu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pecatu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alila Villas Uluwatu 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alila Villas Uluwatu is the first all-pool villa luxury resort in the Alila Signature collection. Designed by award-winning architectural firm WOHA, each of 84 villas showcase contemporary Balinese-inspired design. Poised on an elevated plateau that meets with limestone cliffs sweeping down to the cerulean Indian Ocean, the view from Alila Villas Uluwatu showcases nothing less than nature’s perfection. Each villa offers private pool and cabana with 24 hour host (butler) service. Alila Villas Uluwatu designed in harmony with fully respecting the natural environment, continuing the Alila tradition of a total destination experience that is serene, sensual, and surprisingly different. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, AsiaRooms, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Alila Villas Uluwatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Villas Uluwatu Hotel Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu Bali/Pecatu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alila Villas Uluwatu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.