We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alila Villas Uluwatu

Save Saved
You added Alila Villas Uluwatu to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alila Villas Uluwatu
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl Belimbing Sari Banjar Tambiyak Desa Pecatu, Pecatu, Bali 80364, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Pecatu
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Fantastic villas. Wonderful staff. Nice spa although spa rooms a little disappointing and thought spa would make better use of oceanfront location. Superior quality food at both restaurants. It is a little isolated and trip to Jimbaran beach a big disappointment and restaurant recommended by hotel poor quality and cleanliness.
Worth a long weekend or longer if you have the cash.

Room Tip: Request a villa higher up the hill for better views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    52
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
76
324
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Second time back and just as good as ever.
Julie our butler and Amanda and her crew in the restaurant make you feel so welcome and special, truly beautiful people.
Having come from the Soori resort we took time to adjust (about a minute) as we had been used to the sound of the constant waves, however Uluwatu is altogether quieter and with a wider range of menu suits our 2 centre strategy.
Nothing is too much to ask, the chief put on a special degustation menu in one of the cabanas for our last night which has set the bar very high for our next trip back.

Room Tip: Stop looking and book is my simple tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Had an amazing Honeymoon at The Alila Villa. Location is beautiful, views are amazing, customer service just superb. Would highly reccomend this place to anyone going to Bali. The place is beautifully designed, the rooms are so private, the cabanas around the lobby are wonderfull

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I am about to return for my 4th stay at Alila Uluwatu. I am fortunate to have stayed at some of the top resorts in the world, and Alila Uluwatu is unquestionably the best. Uber chic design, intimate and private suites, glorious food ,and just when you are thinking about what you might want, one of the adorable (and discreet) staff anticipates and appears with the perfect solution. The treatments are incredible and must be experienced (particularly if you love reflexology). 5 nights here and it feels like you have been away for 3 weeks. Concentrated luxury and relaxation. Alila Uluwatu is my definition of luxury. Counting the sleeps now til my April trip....

Room Tip: The one bedrooms are gorgeous with an intelligent design (and of course private pool...) but the 3 b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Set on the edge of a cliff overlooking the Indian Ocean to the South Alila Resort is the ideal getaway for couples. There are over 80 villas that have their own swimming pool and complete privacy. I think all villas have an ocean view as ours had. Our room had open access to the outside with walls that are sliding glass doors and screens front and back so you feel as though you are outdoors even though you are indoors if that makes sense. It can be closed up securely at night for security.
We had butler service twice a day and his and the rest of the staffs service was exemplary. There is an outside and inside shower in each room as well as outside showers and toilets at the main resort surrounded by water, stunning!
In room dining was available. Meals arrived hot and only a 25 min wait.
The main resort is bound by a large pool which the swimmers could look out over the ocean from. About 6 cabanas with cushions and mattress could be used for shelter and privacy if required.
There are 2 quality restaurants, gym, library, shop and health spa for extra pampering.
All paths and areas are surrounded by running water gardens with red dragonflies cruising them.
Built in white stone and dark wood it is a striking place kept pristine by the many attentive friendly and diligent staff.
A beautiful place thoroughly recommended by my Wife and I on our 40th wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on our honeymoon. All reviews are accurate. The hotel is so well designed, it has a calm soul and you use the space effortlessly- everything is where it should be. The amenities and products- amazing- you just do not want to leave the room or hotel and that makes it worth the money. We were hesitant in staying as we didn't think any hotel could possibly be worth the rate- but we would pay it again- worth every dollar. I won't say more about the good as everything below is spot on- I will only mention a few minor details as constructive feedback.

We stayed at a previous hotel, where as soon as I corrected my name on check-in, my correct married name was used and we were constantly greeted- we were hardly ever if at all greeted by our name here, and on the phone it was always by my maiden name no matter how many times I corrected or asked them to amend- this perhaps reflects where their service can be improved by making the guests feel more personable. Being newly married it was a bit of a novelty with my new name and it made me frustrated for them to get it constantly wrong and made me feel picky for correcting- so I gave up. On check in- they stated that they're service "comes from the heart" I didn't really feel that- front desk area staff feel a bit snobbish. If anywhere only from the restaurant staff- who were always impeccable & warm. However it is a really 'quiet' feeling space, so you don't notice this lack of service as the design of the space really promotes a sense of independence.

The food order on many times was incorrect, and the communication could be better- I am in a foreign country and do not expect their english to be perfect, but perhaps more experienced staff on the room service would be better. When getting the order wrong- eg. Because we didn't want to drink the local Arak, we asked for Mojito with Absolute, they brought us a mojito with Arak and Aboslut on the side. We had to specifically ask for the incorrect order to be taken off the bill. This was after we had called through the mistake immediately. I would expect at the Alila that on complaint, an apology would be made and they would assure that it would be taken off the bill. This really wasn't the case.

We purchased a prepaid package- 3 course meal, 90 min massage- for a price that really wasn't much less than what was on the menu. The set menu meal in Cire was disappointing- the main course was a roast chicken with peas and vegetables- nothing wrong with it, just a bit of a home cooked Sunday Roast,, the dessert was a slice of average cake- not the caliber of meal we expected. Our a la carte experience was so much better for the same price- and that food was great- not perfect, but great. The included spa; when we arrived we were told it only included 60min. We couldn't be bothered to argue. That's what this place does to you- the other 99% is so perfect and gets you so relaxed, with the free morning yoga, there's nothing really that can bother you!

On most nights returning from the restaurant, the staff are congregated in the driveway area chatting and what looks like socializing. Most times we had to return to the lobby area or wave to get their attention to drive the buggy up to our room when it is raining- they really should be more attentive- maybe greet us or even a little acknowledgement as we walk through. Generally the staff are great but I really think this front area staff let the team down- never really felt too much typical genuine Balinese friendliness, warmth or care from the staff there at the front desk- as mentioned- a bit snobbish. The porters, staff who attend to the rooms and the restaurant staff are so warm and lovely and go above beyond.

On our last day, we ordered breakfast to arrive at 5:15 am as we were due to catch a boat out- it didn't arrive till 5:35- this makes a big difference as instead of 45mins to leisurely enjoy breakfast we had to rush it in 25 mins. No apology. We were told that they needed a copy of our itinerary and it would be returned to us after the first day. This didn't happen, we had to chase it down twice- then they took 10 mins to locate it when we were checking out. When we had a boat to catch. Again, no real genuine apology.

As I mentioned, this place sucks you in with its beauty and perfection- it's the design of the space that makes you so forgiving. We are already planning a return trip on our anniversary.

Loved it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you're into total relaxation with absolutely nothing to do, this is the place you want to be. The rooms are amazing, the service is unsurpassed and the food is delicious! The only problem is if you prefer a bit more activity, not sure this is the right place for you. It might be more the problem with Uluwatu than this resort specifically.Your options are basically sit by the main pool or your own personal pool. The yoga in the AM is complimentary and a great way to start the day. There is a beach, but you have to descend 600 stairs through the jungle (where we saw monkeys) in order to get there, and it's not really a swimming beach. And if you ask to go do some activities, they send you to this horrendous beach tourist area where they charge $30 USD for 15 minutes on a jet ski and they their best to rip you off. I give it an Excellent review because the place really is remarkable (we even had our own butler...that we didn't really know what to do with, since there wasn't much to do), but I might recommend staying in Jimbaran if you're looking for more culture and activity. Leaving the property was not an easy task.

Room Tip: The higher the better - your view of the Indian Ocean will be nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alila Villas Uluwatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alila Villas Uluwatu

Address: Jl Belimbing Sari Banjar Tambiyak Desa Pecatu, Pecatu, Bali 80364, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Pecatu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pecatu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pecatu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alila Villas Uluwatu 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alila Villas Uluwatu is the first all-pool villa luxury resort in the Alila Signature collection. Designed by award-winning architectural firm WOHA, each of 84 villas showcase contemporary Balinese-inspired design. Poised on an elevated plateau that meets with limestone cliffs sweeping down to the cerulean Indian Ocean, the view from Alila Villas Uluwatu showcases nothing less than nature’s perfection. Each villa offers private pool and cabana with 24 hour host (butler) service. Alila Villas Uluwatu designed in harmony with fully respecting the natural environment, continuing the Alila tradition of a total destination experience that is serene, sensual, and surprisingly different. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, AsiaRooms, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Alila Villas Uluwatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Villas Uluwatu Hotel Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu Bali/Pecatu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alila Villas Uluwatu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.