We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alila Villas Uluwatu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added Alila Villas Uluwatu to your Saves list
Alila Villas Uluwatu
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl Belimbing Sari Banjar Tambiyak Desa Pecatu, Pecatu, Bali 80364, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Pecatu
WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I spent 6 days at Alila with my wife in Nov 12. The entire place is amazing, the villas are spacious and luxurious, the location superb, the main resort spectacular.

My favourite part of the day was unquestionably breakfast - where you should just blow any diet and oder the lot. Every item on the menu was excellent (well maybe some of the health tonics were hard going when compared to the rest). This alone is worth a visit.

The Cire restuarant meals and service were first class.

We loved the place!

Room Tip: I would think they are all good.!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    54
    23
    10
    3
See reviews for
85
347
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

A long weekend i a luxurious villa overlooking the ocean perched atop a cliff is pretty hard to beat. Especially when it is backed up with outstanding service and mouth watering meals.

Rooms - we stayed in two different rooms. A single bedroom villa and then a three bedroom villa further up the hill. Certainly the three bedroom is epic, insanely good views and oodles of space. The single bedroom however has bags of romantic charm and for a romantic get away the one bedroom is the better choice. The property sits almost within the hill, architecturally at least, as though it is part of the environment. Beds were wonderfully comfortable, Bale's made for great naps. Private pools large..and the list goes on. The rooms are fantastic, have no doubt.

Atmosphere - smooth and sophisticated. Between the architecture, staff uniforms, and warm smiles the Alila Uluwatu experience is graceful, relaxed and consumate. Its approach to creating a holiday environment clearly started long before they built the property. Winding walkways take you through ponds, gardens, yoga spots and streams - its all very, very good.

Pool Area and Gyms - the pool is pretty amazing, not quite as incredible as the photos yet amazing. The gym is functional and as long as you have no plans for massive work outs you should be able to do everything you need in light format.

Spa Centre - gorgeous. We tried out a few thing between us and all in al the spa centre is terrific. Excellent rooms and wonderfully peaceful.

Eating - Night one: Indonesian, Night two: tasting menu, Night three: western. Hmm let me see was it the nasi campur, the pork belly, the bottles of champagne, the perfect seafood carpaccio, the mango tapioca desert, the oysters, the pasta pomodoro, the satay lilit, or the chocolate truffles. Ok it was a hedonists delight. I recommend requesting a tasting menu and giving chef a day or two's notice - just do it with wine paring and go on the journey.

Service - impeccable. Agus, out butler was there to ensure everything ran smoothly. Service in a place like this needs to nail it and they did. I was greeted by my first name or surname almost everywhere and for those few days my wife and I felt like royalty - in a cool casual way! Example: it was late, we got carried away listening to the live music and nailed far to much wine. Its easy to drink champagne when you are standing in cabana that hangs out over the cliff. Agus picked us up before we even realised we needed assistance, escorted us back to our room in a cart. Whenever we needed to be somewhere, say a 2 hour massage, he would arrive in time to ensure we would be transported to said destination. My mother visited for a few hours, he took her on a tour of the property. Proper service here, all the way through. His parting words (the guy has got to go into sales) "Mr Michael I think next the you should stay longer, this place is good for you"..cheeky bugger.

Value - prepare to remortgage your house. And at the same time where a great big fat smile. Nothing is cheap here and nothing is poor quality. Its all good, exceedingly good, the kind of good that has you thinking about how the hell you make it happen again good. Yes I think it is worth price, its value is "reassuringly expensive"

Best - everything
Worst - ??? have you not read this review
Go Again - Currently selling my house

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

In order not to sound like a broken record, we'd like to share out experiences during the check-in and check-out of our stay. The bulk of our of stay was as mentioned by many others, excellent.

We travelled with a 1 year old tot, for a period of 4 nights. On the first step out of our cabs to the resort, we got swept away by the views and the architecture.

As the little one was sleeping, the baby and the missus was ushered to the room immediately, whilst daddy was kept occupied with the check-in process. The said process on my part mainly involves sitting on the Indian Ocean facing sofa, with a glass of chilled water in hand, chilled towel, and a bottle of facial mist spray. And oh, I was required to only pass our passports and credit card to the staff who walked away to do the admin matters. After a moment to take in the views, my check-in was supposedly done, and I was chauffeured on a golf buggy to my villa.

I found out that the villa had the little one in mind, having been supplied with the requisite sterilizer, baby cot, play mat, some diapers (!!?), changing mat, jr sized bedroom slippers (??!), jr sized bathing robe (??!)...

In short, I had a very good first impression.

The subsequent few days were thoroughly enjoyable for the us and the little one. Our butler helped with some chores, and provided us with whatever we required.

We had a note worthy final day. Kudos to Sean Brennan, the GM of the villas.

As our flight was pretty late, around 9.30pm, an early check-out would pose quite a few problems to our little one, as he would require his twice a day naps.

Despite being told by the front desk that the villas was fully booked on the day we were supposed to check-out, a quick call to Sean solved all our problems.

Our little one had his requisite naps, and the parents continued to lounged the day away at the pool, day bed, cabana. We checked out at 6.30pm that said day, with a thoroughly rested baby.

In summary, it was a very pleasant and memorable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

It was our first trip to Bali and totally loved our stay in Alila Villas, Uluwatu. A quite, secluded resort about slightly less an hour drive from Ngurah Hai Airport. Excellent hospitality from Ms Nicki, the resort manager and her crew. The view of the ocean was so beautiful. If you stay here, you dont need to drive down to Jimbaran for a sunset dinner! I think its even better here and more privacy. Will surely stay here again if we come to Bali!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tainan, Taiwan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Too much warm on the way of villa. The room air condition was not cool enough and difficult to adjust. No razor, toothbrush, fork and knife in the room and have to request. The breakfast was too expensive and not so good. And the price was not included with the room price. We also have to pay 21%tax with service. This was far from the price told by the reception.

Room Tip: Expensive price for the breakfast and it not worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Couldn't ask for much more than this. Amazing location, extremely beautiful, wonderful service. Ask if Ayun is available to be your butler - her professional and friendly service made this an absolutely first class experience.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights on our honeymoon after staying at the Elysian for 5 nights. Staff were not that friendly & gave little information. No price list provided for the mini bar at all so we didn't use it for fear of the prices. Asked hotel staff for motorbike rental & were charged 125000 rp per day plus service tax when we were getting rental for 35000rp in seminyak per day. Food was ok but not exceptional for the price you are paying. All in all if you want the experience just go and have dinner there & use the pool rather than staying there as you will get better value for money & better service staying elsewhere. Apart from the view the Elysian was worlds ahead of Alila for food & service & a lot cheaper. Wouldn't stay there again...

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alila Villas Uluwatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alila Villas Uluwatu

Address: Jl Belimbing Sari Banjar Tambiyak Desa Pecatu, Pecatu, Bali 80364, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Pecatu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pecatu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pecatu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alila Villas Uluwatu 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alila Villas Uluwatu is the first all-pool villa luxury resort in the Alila Signature collection. Designed by award-winning architectural firm WOHA, each of 84 villas showcase contemporary Balinese-inspired design. Poised on an elevated plateau that meets with limestone cliffs sweeping down to the cerulean Indian Ocean, the view from Alila Villas Uluwatu showcases nothing less than nature’s perfection. Each villa offers private pool and cabana with 24 hour host (butler) service. Alila Villas Uluwatu designed in harmony with fully respecting the natural environment, continuing the Alila tradition of a total destination experience that is serene, sensual, and surprisingly different. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Alila Villas Uluwatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Villas Uluwatu Hotel Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu Bali/Pecatu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alila Villas Uluwatu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.