We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing resort for couples wanting to spend quality time together” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alila Villas Uluwatu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Alila Villas Uluwatu to your Saves list
Alila Villas Uluwatu
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl Belimbing Sari Banjar Tambiyak Desa Pecatu, Pecatu, Bali 80364, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Pecatu
Sydney
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing resort for couples wanting to spend quality time together”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Was an amazing way to spend a couple of days alone together in our private Villa. The view from reception over looking the pool is breath taking! We had cocktails in a cabana overlooking the Indian ocean the first night and watched the sunset, then decided to retreat back to out villa where we ordered room service. The food was yummy and the staff friendly.
We spent the next day down at the pool whilst our villa was being serviced and there was hardly anyone by the pool, which was great, as the resort was fully booked out.
Highly recommended for couples wanting to spend quality time together.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    54
    23
    10
    3
See reviews for
85
347
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

My hubby and I spent six amazing nights at the Alila Villas in Uluwatu, Bali.
We stayed in the most amazing Villa with our own private pool, outdoor lounge style cabana and with views of the ocean. The room was open and had a huge king size bed, dinning table and lounge area overlooking the outdoors. There was a wonderful outdoor bathroom and indoor as well. We had the services of a lovely butler who waited on us hand and foot. I would get back to my room in the evening to find a bath set with rose petals floating in the tub. The most amazing thing about this resort is the zen feel you have and the fantastic spa. Every morning we woke up and headed to an amazing yoga class that was really stretching.
We then headed to the restaurant for a wonderful breakfast where they encourage you to try a number of little meals. The main restaurant serving breakfast is by the ocean pool and obviously looking out to the ocean. After breakfast we would either head out or back to our room for some sunbathing. Room service was great and meals can be taken in the villas or at the restaurants in the resort. There is also a fantastic Spa in the resort that has the most wonderful treatments we both enjoyed a few. In addition the resort promotes their own range of Alila spa products that are amazing. My favourites are the fig cremes and the lemon grass soaps. In every villa guests are invited to enjoy (complimentary) all the spa products. Shampoos, soaps, after sun creams, insect lotiom, lip blams and lavendar night sprays all made from organically grown products from the region are laid out for you to test and use. We absolutely loved this and there was both a men's and women's range.
It was a perfect destination for couples who want to chill and enjoy some downtown. It is 30 mins from the main airport and at the most southern part of the island so not far from Jimbaran Bay. I have to be honest and say I was not too tempted to leave my gorgeous villa.
My only disappointment was that some people brought their kids however I have to say it was just a few and they were well behaved. I was looking for some adult only time and space away from kid centric resorts.

Room Tip: There are villas that have two beds and the three bedroom villa is fantastic if you a travelling as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

It's been some time since we stayed here but the memory of our time here is still fresh in our minds. The villa was luxurious and equipped with all the modern ammenities you'll ever need. We loved that we could jump from the day bed straight into the private pool. Cire, the restaurant, was so good that we ended up eating most of our meals there (sometimes in our own private cabana overlooking the sea).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed at the resort for two nights as part of our honeymoon, and absolutely loved it. The design and attention to detail are incredible, and the staff are welcoming and efficient.

While it's tempting to stay at your villa and use the gorgeous private pool, the main infinity pool is too good to resist.

Cocktails in the Sunset Cabana hanging over the edge of the cliff and above the Indian Ocean were another highlight. We preferred the Indonesian food at The Warung restaurant over the western food, although the breakfast tasting menus at Cire (which change daily!) were delicious and unusual.

We're not big spa people, but had a couple of treatments and found them relaxing and very enjoyable.

We had a very late flight back to Australia on our last day, but the managers were happy for us to spend the day using the resort facilities and arrange a late transfer.

We stayed at Uluwatu as part of the "Twin Sensations Package" and also spent time at Alila Villas Soori. Both resorts are amazing, but Uluwatu just edged out Soori as our favourite. We'd stay forever if we could!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

The architects WOHA Architects of Singapore, did a marvelous job, and the property totally deserves the many awards that it has garnered. Just walking about the grounds and enjoying the simple yet effective design features of the place is a pleasure. I definitely would like to return again. The infinity pool is breath-takingly beautiful!

We had a villa for 2 nights, the effective design of the each villa allowed for complete privacy. But we were there in the low season, it might not have been as tranquil had it been packed.

Although the tropical setting meant that one would encounter the usual parade of critters & insects, in terms of cleanliness, it was quite immaculate.

The service fell a wee bit short of excellent, though the English-speaking ability of the staff is generally good enough, they sometime failed to understand our requests immediately, but were
always patient & eager to see to our needs. The genuine warmth in the smiles and greetings, to me, was what made my stay so very pleasant.

The only flaw during my stay was that prior to arrival, we were invited to choose online our preferred pillow type, but these were not on the beds. Not a big matter, but a flaw in the otherwise excellent service nonetheless.

The day-trips provided by the resort seemed really interesting in write-up in the hotel-book in the room, but we were not made aware that a 3-day advance booking was necessary, so we were not able to avail ourselves to any of them. They seemed different to the usual ones provided by many other tour-operators that abound on the island. They would send a ebrochure upon booking (together with one on the missing pillow choice), so give advance notice if you like to go on one.

Food was all right though nothing to shout about. And generally I found the Balinese restaurant to do a better eat than the western one. Alcohol was very expensive though, a San Pellegrino, a cocktail and a glass of wine cost the same as our entire substantial four-dish meal.

Spa treatments were surprisingly reasonably priced for such a nice resort, perhaps due to intense competition from the many spas on the island?

A note of warning:

The private beach was picturesque, but as AVU is situated on a steep cliff, it takes 600+ steps to reach the beach. For someone with a bad knee like me, it was a challenge getting down & I was @£$-ing all the way up. For the physically challenged, a trip to the public beaches would be advised, or keep to that magnificent pool.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

From the moment you arrive you are taken on a most extraordinary journey of peace and tranquility. The location is breathtaking and very minimalistic, the pool villas are just fantastic and are very private and secluded. Your every wish is taken care of by the extremely discrete and smiley staff, nothing is ever too much trouble. Highly recommended for a real chill out holiday or break. Be assured , I will be back

Room Tip: All rooms I believe are similar but I expect the villas located higher up the mountain will receive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

I attended a wedding here in July. The first 20 minutes after arrival, the whole wedding party walked around in awe of the scenary and the hotel. The hotel, or rather collection of low level 'open air' buildings fits in the surroundings so well. Its all so understated, but luxurious.
The outer building where the ceremony was held was stunning, with direct views on the cliffs and ocean. The wooden beams do make taking photos a bit tricky, as they show shadows on people, but I am really finding fault here where there is none. The hors d'hoevres were fabulous, but the Indonesian rice table after the ceremony was even better. The room where the meal was served was decorated so beautifully, it was stunning. The whole place breathes a sense of mystery and quiet luxury.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alila Villas Uluwatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alila Villas Uluwatu

Address: Jl Belimbing Sari Banjar Tambiyak Desa Pecatu, Pecatu, Bali 80364, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Pecatu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pecatu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pecatu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alila Villas Uluwatu 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alila Villas Uluwatu is the first all-pool villa luxury resort in the Alila Signature collection. Designed by award-winning architectural firm WOHA, each of 84 villas showcase contemporary Balinese-inspired design. Poised on an elevated plateau that meets with limestone cliffs sweeping down to the cerulean Indian Ocean, the view from Alila Villas Uluwatu showcases nothing less than nature’s perfection. Each villa offers private pool and cabana with 24 hour host (butler) service. Alila Villas Uluwatu designed in harmony with fully respecting the natural environment, continuing the Alila tradition of a total destination experience that is serene, sensual, and surprisingly different. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Alila Villas Uluwatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Villas Uluwatu Hotel Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu Bali/Pecatu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alila Villas Uluwatu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.